We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Christmas gala dinner”
Review of Koder House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koder House
Ranked #65 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at the sister hotel, Victory Dawn which was fantastic. However, the mandatory gala dinner at Koder House on Christmas Eve was a big disappointment. They over promised and under delivered. The service was appalling, although there frequently seemed to be plenty of staff and managers hanging around. It also wasn't clear what menu we were ordering from. The food, when it did eventually arrive, was perfectly nice.

This could be a stunning restaurant but suffers from lack of management.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Turkishtruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Koder House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 174 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

Situated in a tranquil area with views of the chinese fishing nets and a stone through from the beach. A must do whilst in Kochi.
Food was the best that we ate on our 6 days trip any where in kerala

Room Tip: room with a view ofcourse
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights upon arriving in India for the first time and we loved it! The room was enormous and the staff was very friendly. The location was good, close to the old fort and to the beach to see the Chinese fishing nets. The restaurant was excellent too - I had a curry that made my eyes water and my nose run!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApplePieBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I recently visited Kerala in December. I stayed in Koder House. It is a true Heritage category hotel. It is a three storey heritage hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi. It belongs to the earlier Cochin Jewish family (built in 1988). It is around 35-40 Km away from the Kochi Airport. I really enjoyed staying there. The accommodation was so good with true Indian heritage style. The bedrooms are huge with beautiful Indian wooden furniture and the bathrooms are so clean and attractive. The staffs were also very helpful and efficient. Kodar House has a unique history and is one of the best hotels in Fort Cochin. We had a breakfast with various variety of food especially Malabar fish/chicken. I must say that Kerala Malabar fish was so good. The stay was unforgettable. If anyone gets a chance to visit Kerala, must stay there and take an experience of true Indian Heritage.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shekharn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

What a shame. The hotel is a lovely old building with a great history but the staff are completely detached and uninterested. We felt very let down. Also this is a VERY noisy hotel and we were kept up all night with shouting outside one night. Food was adequate but again, the restaurant feels neglected and shabby. Someone needs to take charge and make this hotel all that it can be!

Room Tip: Don't stay downstairs because of noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I really enjoyed staying here. The location is perfect situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Cochin.
The accommodation is of a good standard in true Indian heritage style. The bedrooms are huge with beautiful Indian wooden furniture and good standard bathrooms

The staff are very helpful and make you feel very welcome. They were more than happy to help arrange excursions and give advice when needed

The Koder house has a great history and is considered to be one of the best hotels in Fort Cochin. For the price paid I would recommend this hotel over the much higher price Old Harbour and Malabar House

The breakfast is of a good quality and made to order as opposed to a buffet style

If you want a relaxing and unique atmosphere without any of the hassle and challenges of a big chain hotel then this location is perfect

I really hope to return here again one day

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Grand rooms, great atmosphere, courteous staff!! We went in the monsoon which is supposed to be off season and got a great deal for 2 nights. Loved each moment of our stay. Located right opposit the fishing nets has a great view of the sea. Well maintained heritage property, great kerala cuisine. They have a limited number of room(only 6) and each room occupies entire floor, so privacy is not an issue. Must visit.

Room Tip: each and every room is great!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank UtkarshGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#46 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#60 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#185 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#79 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#33 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koder House

Address: Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#28 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $90 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koder House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koder House. Koder House is a three-story heritage boutique hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi, Kerala, India. Until recently, it belonged to the most illustrious Cochin Jewish family, the Koders. This House had been a host to Presidents, Prime Ministers, Viceroys, Ambassadors, Nobel Laureates, Hollywood Directors and prominent dignitaries. This dwelling also finds a prominent place on Intach's list of heritage sites, and a visit to Fort Kochi is considered to be incomplete without a visit to this historic monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Koder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koder House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Koder Hotel Kochi
Koder House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing