We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A True Indian Heritage Hotel"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koder House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koder House
Ranked #69 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A True Indian Heritage Hotel"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I recently visited Kerala in December. I stayed in Koder House. It is a true Heritage category hotel. It is a three storey heritage hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi. It belongs to the earlier Cochin Jewish family (built in 1988). It is around 35-40 Km away from the Kochi Airport. I really enjoyed staying there. The accommodation was so good with true Indian heritage style. The bedrooms are huge with beautiful Indian wooden furniture and the bathrooms are so clean and attractive. The staffs were also very helpful and efficient. Kodar House has a unique history and is one of the best hotels in Fort Cochin. We had a breakfast with various variety of food especially Malabar fish/chicken. I must say that Kerala Malabar fish was so good. The stay was unforgettable. If anyone gets a chance to visit Kerala, must stay there and take an experience of true Indian Heritage.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shekharn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
84
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

What a shame. The hotel is a lovely old building with a great history but the staff are completely detached and uninterested. We felt very let down. Also this is a VERY noisy hotel and we were kept up all night with shouting outside one night. Food was adequate but again, the restaurant feels neglected and shabby. Someone needs to take charge and make this hotel all that it can be!

Room Tip: Don't stay downstairs because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I really enjoyed staying here. The location is perfect situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Cochin.
The accommodation is of a good standard in true Indian heritage style. The bedrooms are huge with beautiful Indian wooden furniture and good standard bathrooms

The staff are very helpful and make you feel very welcome. They were more than happy to help arrange excursions and give advice when needed

The Koder house has a great history and is considered to be one of the best hotels in Fort Cochin. For the price paid I would recommend this hotel over the much higher price Old Harbour and Malabar House

The breakfast is of a good quality and made to order as opposed to a buffet style

If you want a relaxing and unique atmosphere without any of the hassle and challenges of a big chain hotel then this location is perfect

I really hope to return here again one day

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Grand rooms, great atmosphere, courteous staff!! We went in the monsoon which is supposed to be off season and got a great deal for 2 nights. Loved each moment of our stay. Located right opposit the fishing nets has a great view of the sea. Well maintained heritage property, great kerala cuisine. They have a limited number of room(only 6) and each room occupies entire floor, so privacy is not an issue. Must visit.

Room Tip: each and every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtkarshGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this lovely Boutique Hotel in Cochin.It is historically authentic and yet has a elegant touch. The rooms are spacious, very well furnished and sparkling clean. Their restaurant offers a wide variety of multi-cuisine delights. I must say their Kerala fish curry is unbelievably good. A must try if you are here. The location is perfect, right in the heart of Fort Cochin. Wonderful customer service and very helpful staff. The management (The Rajs) were lovely. We felt like we were part of one big family. Overall, an excellent stay and would definitely come back when we visit Cochin next. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at Koder house with my family for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. We had the two rooms all the way on top and it was like having the whole floor for ourselves. It was off-season so not many people were there anyways and the rates where apparently half the season rate. I found it to be great value for money. My father forgot his pen there and then sent it back to us immediately in registered mail. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The only things we missed were a baby bed and a chocolate cake for dessert. Highly recommend Koder house, especially if you like old-time charm and relaxed, casual comfort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostabanguiyabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Great. Spotless. Old Kerala style rooms and furnishing... modern style bathroom with jacuzzi/bath. Excellent sea food continental style. Wine n beer available... added to the flavor. Would go again and again... if time permits.

Room Tip: 5 or 6 rooms. Old world charm. Good Food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunitfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#50 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#64 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spice Fort Cochin Hotel
Spice Fort Cochin Hotel
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#39 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#28 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koder House

Property: Koder House
Address: Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koder House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koder House. Koder House is a three-story heritage boutique hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi, Kerala, India. Until recently, it belonged to the most illustrious Cochin Jewish family, the Koders. This House had been a host to Presidents, Prime Ministers, Viceroys, Ambassadors, Nobel Laureates, Hollywood Directors and prominent dignitaries. This dwelling also finds a prominent place on Intach's list of heritage sites, and a visit to Fort Kochi is considered to be incomplete without a visit to this historic monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koder House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Koder Hotel Kochi
Koder House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing