We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of BTH Sarovaram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BTH Sarovaram
Ranked #72 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed as a family. The location is great. A few minutes walk to the water front. Easily accessible by road. Good parking. Rooms are good, clean and good service. The best is the restaurants. They serve authentic Kerala vegetarian food. The buffet at breakfast and the lunch are sumptuous.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank DrKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 142 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

A nice quiet place to stay in Cochin. It's a little way out of town and the rickshaw drivers are reluctant to take you unless you pay them handsomely. However, Sarovaram has some of the best Keralan food available and you will need to book a table if you wish to eat at the weekend. WiFi is available, but only in reception for a fee. Ensure that you take mosquito repellant though. Our kids spent a couple of hours each evening in the pool which was clean and inviting. As with a lot of hotels in India, cleanliness in the bathrooms could have been better. But overall, we would recommend Sarovaram to family & friends.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet and good value traditional Keralan food, this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtravalator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i am used to stay in this hotel for more than the past 10 years.well maintained rooms and authentic food.this time it was a surprise that they have constructed a swimming pool and new rooms.usually cars were allowed to park infront of the respective rooms.this time that area was locked and we were asked to walk through the pool side to the rooms.i wondered why is it so.there was lot of mosquitoes in room as the back side of the hotel is wet lands.but they provide with mosquito repellent.while ordering for inhouse dining i found it difficult to order with out a menu card.otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Surprisingly, this antic look Hotel is situated on the Highway, yet totally devoid of noise and pollution. easily accessible to Airport, railway station and busy city of Ernakulam! Awesome authentic food. Much superior to many of the five star hotels around in Kerala.

Room Tip: Though all the rooms have a view of the strip of water going around the hotel ask for the ones close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaidyanathanSuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We looked at the picture, we read the blurb, we made the booking ... expecting a post modernist smallish hotel, expecting a lake, expecting a garden ... imagine the disbelief when we pulled into a huge hotel complex right on a major highway, I mean major. It was a long way from anywhere unless you were actually going somewhere - it had absolutely nothing to make you think you were near Kochi. How do hotels get away with the porkies they write? The lake was a half empty huge ugly man made pool of stagnant greenish water which made us glad we were taking anti-malarials, and it didn't get any better. Clearly we hadn't done our homework - after a hard days travel we were dying for a beer, "No sir, no bar, this is a veg hotel" ... this is where we also learnt that "veg" means no eggs for breakfast, either .... obviously we were in the wrong place, for us. It was too late to do anything but take the room - small but adequate - but then the tariff was quite low. The areas that we saw could all do with a proper clean - the lift was grubby,glass and windows smeared and whilst floors and bed linen were ok, a casual look at the vertical surfaces like bathroom doors and walls revealed an obvious lack of attention to detail. Breakfast was indeed a bleak experience, mean and tasteless and only served to hasten our departure. Enough said....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denmother62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTH_BHARATHOTEL, General Manager at BTH Sarovaram, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thanks for the review. Yes the lake was in a bad condition because of the heavy summer days here in Cochin and also we had just opened up the hotel after a huge renovation.

Sorry that you were not provided what you requested for, but we are an authentic and exclusive vegetarian hotel and we never have given any glossy or inflated picture of the hotel anywhere and we are proud to tell that we are exclusive vegetarian, which we do in all our marketing campaigns. In India or for that matter in Kerala, beer is not that freely available as in other countries and its even considered as an alcoholic beverage which are available only in bars for which you need a license and Government operated retail outlets.. We have not mentioned anywhere in our brochure or campaign that we are a bar attached hotel.

People have enjoyed their stay with us because of the calm natural surroundings, even though we are in the midst of the city and extremely close to the major highway, as you have mentioned.

We are once again sorry for not being able to be of service to you, for what you have expected.

Thanking you.

With regards.

Dinesh Kumar Elyath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sarovaram was the best part of our Kerala trip. Rooms are very nice (modern, chic, clean) and food is just amazing. Their complimentary breakfast is of very high quality and taste. Also, they have a restaurant where you can have traditional Sadhya meal (on a plantain leaf). We loved it! The best part is location of the hotel. There are AC buses from airport, which literally stops in-front of the hotel gate. Same AC buses also ply to Fort Cochin. We didn't book any taxi's and used government AC buses. Only sad part was their auryvedic massage center, which was not operational during our stay.

Room Tip: New modern rooms are better than the old heritage ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bal1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stay here on 9th oct.it is situated on prime location. Little bit expencive.but it's d'snt matter,staff is coperated there is some noise due to some new constration we chek in there at 11am & then after we proceed to visit wonderla after that we return here at 8pm,& found this noice. So i ask to stop it.staff take a quick action & stop all cons.work.afterall we spent a peacefull night here& in morning we enjoy in swiming pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghoomakadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTH_BHARATHOTEL, General Manager at BTH Sarovaram, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thanks very much for your kind patronisation of our Hotel.
We are sorry that the work did really trouble you, but we were running against time as we had planned to officially open the property by the 17th of Oct.2012, and all invitations were through as well. With out the guests support and co-operation we would not have managed to do so, which went off well in a very grand manner.
We look forward to your next visit to the new totally peaceful and serene property and relax your holidays in tune with nature.
Thanking you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
Cochin Palace
Cochin Palace
#52 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bharat Hotel
Bharat Hotel
#95 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 30 in Ernakulam
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
807 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Dunes Cochin
The Dunes Cochin
#39 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BTH Sarovaram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BTH Sarovaram

Address: NH 47 Cochin Bypass, Kochi (Cochin) 682304, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $38 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BTH Sarovaram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BTH Sarovaram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BTH Sarovaram Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing