We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ballard Bungalow
Ranked #104 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here with my in-laws in December, and we were lucky to find rooms available in this area of Kochi. The value for money cannot be beat! It is a beautiful restored property. The rooms are large and comfortable and although we were a bit worried about noise from nearby traffic - our worries were unfounded. It is within walking distance of many of the sites and the staff were so helpful with anything we needed. The only drawback was the many mosquitoes in the breakfast room in the morning. Wear insect repellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gail o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The restored old dutch property is a gem. We stayed two nights towards the end of the season. The place could do with a further injection of investment and a more thorough dusting. The furniture in the bed rooms is lovely but deserves more attention (in terms of cleaning) than it is given. Staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfasts are adequate and tasty, with fresh fruit juice. The common areas are a bit tired and also need some attention. Location is very close to the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinebraganza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foggy in Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. A magnificent restoration takes you back some 150 years or more. This old dutch colonial house is spacious and clean with 'beds with character' and conjures thoughts and ambience of a bygone age. The staff were very friendly and really helpful.with nothing too much trouble. It is our understanding that it is run like a charity to give young people a chance to learn the hotel trade. It works incredibly well.
Very near to the major attractions with some great restaurants very close by. Would love to stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarticus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We liked this place! The room was large and airy and sparsely but nicely furnished. The people were nice. The location was a bit off the main tourist track (a plus!) but within easily walking distance of the attractions and restaurants. The breakfast was simple and a bit too "English", but the owner was willing to prepare it at any time, even before a terribly early cab to the airport. We started our Kerala journey here and when we returned a week later, it felt like home.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmbbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautifully restored to maintain original features of the Kerala architecture, this bungalow is a beautiful slice of Kochi's history. The rooms are generous and the use of the traditional beds adds to the experience. Everything worked and was tastefully laid out to greet us. Our own private balcony was set under a huge tree and we made the most of our little outpost where we could watch the passing parade as we rested.
Ballard is in easy walking distance to the fishing nets, small markets stalls, and other Fort attractions. There are no meals apart from breakfast which is European style. I am used to having south Kerala breakfasts and was sad these were not on offer but this was not an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms are upstairs but manageable. The street can be a bit noisy with traffic but it settles down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A building which has a 200 year old history that dates back to the Dutch colonial era.The Cochin Ballard is in walking distance (3 minutes) to the Chinese fishing nets, nice restaurants can be found easily in the surroundings of the hotel.

The rooms are large and clean, bathroom is quite nice, too. The hotel is a sort of heritage building.Would prefer to see uncountable times for Comfortable and spacious accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay, right in the middle of Fort Kochi just near the harbour, fishing nets, places to eat, easy, safe walking to all the places to see. The ships' hoots mingle with the call to prayer from the nearby mosque - very atmospheric. Comfortable and spacious accommodation and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#89 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#125 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#58 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#70 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballard Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballard Bungalow

Property: The Ballard Bungalow
Address: Bellar Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ballard Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballard Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
The Ballard Hotel
The Ballard Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing