We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are too small, service is bad & rooms need maintenance”
Review of Hotel Abad Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abad Plaza
Ranked #34 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beds are too small, service is bad & rooms need maintenance”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just not good for a family vacation, food on the buffet was not appetizing & roti/papad was hard & soft resp. Which is just the opposite

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuragtrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    212
    89
    25
    14
See reviews for
144
83
38
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Firstly, I did a lot of research before moving into this hotel and thanks to Tripadvisor I don't regret the decision. Hotel Abad Plaza is a very good hotel and loaction is also fine. My stay was only for 1 day since I was on my honeymoon to Lakshadweep and had to spend 1 day in Cochin. I had booked a deluxe room in this hotel via cleartrip and I was upgraded to Superior room when we checked in. This could be because it was off season in February.

The room was really very nice and clean and the washrooms were also clean. The services of the hotel (like laundary,room service) were also very good and quick.

I was just disappointed with the food. The taste of the food was not at all good. We just ate because we were hungry and we had to. The breakfast was complementary and had a great variety from bread, cereals to idli and wada. But the taste has a lots of scope for improvement.

Apart from the food I feel this Hotel is a great value for all the money you spend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqua2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

While I would not say that this place is "awful", it is really not good, and I am truly perplexed by the number of outstanding reviews. To preface, I will say 2 good things about the hotel, where I stayed for 4 nights. First, the location - in the heart of Ernakulam - is excellent. Second, the shower had good hot water pressure. Now for the bad:
1. The stench of mold/mildew hits you in the face as soon as you walk into the lobby. The smell is overwhelming, and the thought of it just turns my stomach. The smell isnt quite as bad in the hallways or in the rooms, but is still evident. In addition, the hallways also smell of cigarette smoke.
2. We had booked a king room, but were only given 2 twin beds.
3. The room overall was quite shabby. The bathroom had cracked and stained tiles, one of the lamps had a torn shade, one of the accessible electrical outlets was falling out of the wall, and there was even a hole in the plaster with wires sticking out, where presumably an outlet once used to be.
4. The hotel only provides 2 bath towels. No hand towels, no wash cloths.
5. While the sheets looked clean, between the 2 white sheets was a wool blanket which I highly doubt is washed regularly.
6. We suspected that the sheets and towels were not replaced each day, even when towels were not re-hung on the racks. It's my experience that most hotels, both American and foreign, will replace towels unless the towels are re-hung on the racks.
7. Housekeeping arrives to clean the rooms at the oddest times. On at least 2 separate days, housekeeping did not come to clean the room until after 3 or 4 pm. On one of those days, we spent the afternoon in the hotel room. After stopping by once (at which time we told housekeeping to come back later), housekeeping returned at least 4 times between 3 and 6 pm, often times not even bothering to knock on the door before coming in.
8. The quality of the breakfast buffet was dubious. I noticed that many of the butter packets appeared to have been previously opened but were left in the bowl, and the milk set aside for cereal was warm.
9. The restaurant where breakfast is served is likewise shabby. The table cloths had food and/or grease stains on them, which is highly unappetizing.
10. The restaurant where breakfast is served seems to have a number workers milling about, but for some reason it was rather difficult to find someone to provide service. We would need to chase someone down; no one ever stopped by the table to ask if we needed anything. Also, very strangely, the restaurant does not serve bottled water! In a country where no one drinks the tap water straight up and in a hotel serving non-locals, why would you not make bottled water available?!
We had chosen to stay at this hotel based 100% on the reviews on this site; if I had known then what I know now, I absolutely would not have stayed here. While there was nothing outright terrible about the place, it was so shabby and poorly maintained that it made me question the most critical aspects of a hotel stay, which for me are clean beds, towels, and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without carpeting. Other family members stayed in rooms with carpeting, which only m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Abad hotel is situated in MG road which is the city center.If you catch a rickshaw you can go around shopping anywhere in the city. The hotel is a bit difficult to locate, but the receptionists are really good in giving direction, so call when you are en route, since there are a whole lot of Abad hotels in the city itself.
It has spacious rooms and we had a room with a good view(not a problem anywhere in Kerala). Superior rooms have large beds , but the deluxe one's not so much. You get complimentary water and tea, coffee etc.Bathrooms have good hot water, but does not have bath tubs. The partition is also not enough to keep the toilet area dry.
Staff are courteous and helpful.
The part I didnt like is the food. They have one restaurant for buffet and one for ala carte. The buffet lunch is average, but the dinner is really awful.
The buffet breakfast has quite a number of items, but service is really slow.
The tea coffee is made with powdered milk or something similiar.

Room Tip: For a nominal amt you can get a room upgrade..chk with Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preetiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We booked the Abad Plaza just for one night, to give us a chance to recover between the flight from the UK and the long drive to Thekkady - but on reflection we'd have been happy to have stayed longer. The room was comfortable and quiet and had AC, the staff were friendly and helpful and let us check in several hours early so we could get some sleep. The restaurant was clean, quiet, and had excellent food (we had the buffet in the room overlooking MG Road, and watching the antics of the traffic provided much amusement during the meal). We can also recommend the spa massages as an excellent way to recover from long journeys !

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the MG road, as the traffic runs all day and all night - we had a back room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location within Ernakulam town (dusty commercial district) with easy access to railway stations and eating joints. The tourist hub of Fort Kochi is not very convenient to get to from this hotel. Staff service and food was great. I didn't like that the two rooms that I looked at had stained bath tubs & carpets and old furniture and mosquitos in the room. Internet is $8 per day (not included in the room charge) with wifi access but really slow and connection is spotty. If you reserve with booking.com, note that they don't include the 17.5% tax per day. Overall, it's one of better known budget hotels if you absolutely need to be in the center of the commercial district.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Abad Hotel is one of the most famous hotels in Kochi belonging to Abad group having hotels all over Kerala. The hotel is very clean and well maintained though it has become old. Rooms have been recently renovated and is very good. The best advantage of this hotel is that it is on M.G. Road, which is the arterial road of Kochi and is near to all business centers and shops. Airport is around one hour drive, though some times it may take longer with rush hour traffic on narrow roads. The restaurants in Abad are famous for their food, however, I left that over the years, the quality has slightly somewhat come down. The management will do well to take care of this aspect. When I went for the buffet dinner at Kadaloram restaurant at around 10 pm, many of food items were over or only very litter was left and the staff was not refilling them. the buffet breakfast at Regency was better and had good variety. Overall the hotel is very good and convenient and it should try to get the food quality back to its good old days. Please note that the hotel do not have a bar and the swimming pool was under renovation.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors as they have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maheshshivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#47 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abad Metro
Hotel Abad Metro
#81 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Avenue Regent
The Avenue Regent
#6 of 30 in Ernakulam
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dunes Cochin
The Dunes Cochin
#77 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#67 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abad Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Plaza

Property: Hotel Abad Plaza
Address: M.G. Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#18 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abad Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abad Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Plaza Hotel
Hotel Abad Plaza Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing