We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit bad location, but with nice rooms and good service”
Review of Yuvarani Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yuvarani Residency
Ranked #82 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit bad location, but with nice rooms and good service”
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I booked the hotel from a hotel online page. The check-in was fast and I got advices on what to see in the city. The hotel has their own travel desk and from there you can get a map for free. The room we got was an AC room which was much bigger then a normal hotel room. The AC worked fine and the bath room was in good condition.

The hotel has their own restaurant, which serves average food but with good service.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kebabpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
24
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I went with mmy partner and i did liked the stay at this hotel all the facilities are exceptional and food was very expensive in the hotel's restaraunt and I suggest everyone to visit Saphire restaurant just outside the hotel food was great at very reasonable price and I made just 6 phone calls from hotels room and I was charged 120.00rs {for 10 mins duration for all the 6 calls} which was ridiculous.All in all it was great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANCASTER
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Finally, a business class hotel in India with reasonable rates that compares favourably with its N. American counterparts. I stayed 2 nights at the Yuvarani Residency. Everything in my room was well maintained, and the room was very clean. Satellite television included BBC World. The staff were smart and professional, and the hotel has a good restaurant. It is well located a few blocks from Ernakulam Junction train station. I payed Rs1350 plus tax, and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Professionally run and maintained in a good location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doublefairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2008

If it were possible to give the Yuvarani Residency a lower rating, I would do so.

After I arrived late at night - and after I'd been required to register - I was told that my confirmed reservation would not be honored, and that I would be charged the rack rate for my room. It was too late to find alternative accommodation for the night, so I chose to stay.

The lobby, public areas, and my room, were all uniformly grimy, tattered, and depressing. When I was unable to find the internet connection - advertised on the hotel website 'Internet Connection in Every Room' - I was told that I could dial-up my service provider using the telephone jack! By this standard, any location in the world with a telephone would apparently qualify for this premium service offered by the Yuvarani Residency.

When I checked out the following morning I was charged the full rack rate for the room - with no allowance made for the deposit I had paid with my online reservation.

It may be that, some time in the past, the Yuvarani Residency qualified as an attractive choice for modestly priced accommodation in Cochin. The effect of positive reviews by some well-known guide books seems to have been that the hotel has just given up trying, and is relying on the afterglow from those reviews. That glow is not warranted.

In the category of damning with faint praise, I would have to admit that the air conditioner, while antique, did cool my room.

  • Liked — the air conditioner worked
  • Disliked — dishonest operation
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jafma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

We landed in Cochin after a short train ride from Trivandrum and aftera short walk found the Yuvarani Residency. The staff were very welcoming even though we did look a tad tired with our rucksacks and dusty feet. We we were told the tarrif and then shown the rooms, they were very nice, comfortable and very clean. The room had a TV (which was nice after a week backpacking) and I have to say, the most fantastic shower in the world....If ever I am asked 'which shower is the best in the world?' I would say 'the showers in the bathrooms of the Yuvarani Residency'

If I had to complain about anything, I would have to mention the first night in the restaurant. We dined early that evening and quite a large party joined the restaurant, as soon as they came in they were given priority, which left us hungry between meals and menu's left on our table for the whole course. I waited 30 minutes for a beer. I have to add, that on the 2nd night of our stay, the service was superb, the waiter was excellent and on both nights the food was exquisit.

We also enjoyed the budgies outside the foyer..

The bar was a little scary, a bit too dark for our liking..

Over all, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Jim & Judith Brown

Yorkshire
UK

  • Liked — Friendly & Clean
  • Disliked — Restaurant service on first night (Rubbish)
  • Tips/Secrets — Negotiate the price in the lift back down at leat the luxery tax 10%
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#90 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abad Plaza
Hotel Abad Plaza
#34 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dunes Cochin
The Dunes Cochin
#77 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuvarani Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuvarani Residency

Property: Yuvarani Residency
Address: MG Rd, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yuvarani Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yuvarani Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuvarani Residency Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Yuvarani Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing