We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Cochin”
Review of Yuvarani Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yuvarani Residency
Ranked #82 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was a good hotel in Cochin, not on the middle of the really hectic town, but still amongst loads of shops restaurants etc. The hotel is quaint with a small lobby and very interesting bar with laser lights and ultra violet. We had a perfectly chilled beer there though which was relief after so many hotels that have no bar or licence in Sth India. The room was perfectly adequate, tv is tiny and bathroom is old but it met our needs for a mid budget hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and the restaurant that was recommended next door which I think was Sapphire had some of the best food we ate in India. Well worth eating there rather than the hotel . I would stay there again.

Room Tip: No rooms have a grab view, but all have some view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5-4-2016ta_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is in the middle of Cochi and near the shops but entrance is tucked away down the side of the hotel and can be difficult to find. We had a good room (204) and comfortable double bed. The restaurant is large, serves a very varied menu of veg and non-veg food with a good choice of different cuisines. Although quite expensive compared with some hotel restaurants, the food quality was generally very good - the grilled fillet of fish was excellent and the Chicken fillet with cheese and mushroom sauce likewise. After a few weeks of eating just south Indian food, it was good to have the ability to eat a 3 course meal with good choices for each course!

Room Tip: You can negotiate prices for a reasonable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Its on the busy MG Road, located around 35 kms from the airport. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit small and the AC and fan were placed at an awkward location far from the bed. Though the AC was not in a good condition (no option to change temperature, fan speed or air direction), the room cooled down in a while - possibly it might take a lot longer in the peak summer season. The cleanliness of the room was about okay. Breakfast buffet is decent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PramitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

After staying at several hotels in Kerala, of mixed standards it was a pleasure to stay at the Yuvarani - especially for the wonderful hot showers! The beds were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was good and food was nicely served. We didn't have breakfast as we were off to the airport very early. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Location is good -near the railway station and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

i stayed at this hotel from dec24 ,2011 to dec 31 ,2011. Very big rooms,all workers were honest for me except laundryman who lost my banian and gave me apron of a cook!!.(excuse me, I returned it back). Service is good. Food is not palitable. Eat only prawns and karemeen fry. Donot order chicken items, they are horrible to eat.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drshekappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

It was booked by the tour agent from Australia. Very Disappointing.
Very friendly staff.
Hotel was dirty, restaurant was awful. Breakfast bar was filthy.

I have asked the staff to change the bed linen twice. Mould in the bathroom.Grabby walls. AC did not have a button to increase the fan speed. I have to stick a pen to turn the AC fan speed up.
Not ideal for people traveling from Overseas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Easan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We visited Cochin and Munnar while we stayed here for two nights back in January 2009. People at the front desk were helpful. Since it is close to the railway station, commuting was not a problem at all. Also there were good restaurants near by serving South Indian cuisine. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay_Shankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel S.M. Regency
Hotel S.M. Regency
#105 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avenue Regent
The Avenue Regent
#6 of 30 in Ernakulam
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Travancore Court
Hotel Travancore Court
#10 of 30 in Ernakulam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#9 of 30 in Ernakulam
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dunes Cochin
The Dunes Cochin
#58 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuvarani Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuvarani Residency

Address: MG Rd, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $39 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yuvarani Residency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Yuvarani Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuvarani Residency Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Yuvarani Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing