We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently surprised”
Review of Hotel Abad Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Abad Metro
Ranked #80 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Hobart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived in Kochi for a night before flying home and were unaware of the national strike that had closed down all transport and shopping etc.
We arrived at the hotel and I didnt have the greatest expectations after reading the reviews but had no problems at all!
Reception staff were extremely helpful with room service, internet and arranging a taxi (no one was working due to the strike so took a lot of calls). Room service was good and our only option so very happy they were working. Rooms were clean and spacious with TV and cable. Large bathrooms and windows. A/C. Newspapers in morning. Overall a standard hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left hand side (when looking at the hotel) don't look onto another building dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anupkumarc2007, Manager at Hotel Abad Metro, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. You can contact me for any further room booking. Looking forward to meet you in person during your next visit

Thanks & Regards

Anup Kumar.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
22
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The stay was fine,with welcome aircon.
The restaurant is decent and they stored my bags between stays for free.
All good, but on te first stay the bathroom had a terrible stench which would not go away. Not the usual India open sewer smell either. Everything else was good though.
The second time I got a different room and it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anupkumarc2007, Manager at Hotel Abad Metro, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the nice feedback, We have rectified the same. Looking forward for your future stay with us.

Thanks & Regards
Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My freind and I had planned to stay in this hotel for about a week as it was centrally located in Ernakalum where I needed to have several meetings. For me the place was below average, my room was quite small, sparsely furnished and frankly not that clean. My view was a filthy alley where most people seemed to dump their rubbish. The first night I was bitten by a bed bug and yes it was a bed bug because I found it and squashed it. One bedbug is enough for me, I moves out the next morning and went to Fort Cochin. This hotel seems to be Favoured by local business people rather that tourists. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anupkumarc2007, Manager at Hotel Abad Metro, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Customer

Thanks for the feed back. I'm the Manager of Abad Metro, I would like to know the date of you stay & the room number. Since we have changed all our mattress recently & all our linen are new. You can also contact me in my cell no 9895336111 & my mail id is anup@abadhotels.com. Looking forward to hear from you.

Thanks & Regards
Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had a booking for 16 th of March . I arrived at the hotel around 8 AM . The guy at the reception is so adamant that - I had to pay for an extra day for 8 AM - 11 AM . (In spite of the fact that i will be checking out by 9 PM on the same night).
I even told him that I need the room only for a couple of hours in the morning so why don't you prepone my booking for the couple of hours and I will release it by 11 AM - then he caught the rule book and started arguing that since my booking starts only at 11 AM today - he won't be able to do that.
If the hotel is fully booked and if they had to hold the room from the previous night - I don't mind paying something more . But later I learned from him that was indeed not the case. This is called day light robbery - charging for 2 full days - for a 12 hour stay. Abad being such a reputed name amidst cochin's hospitality industry - it is slightly difficult for me to comprehend that they would stoop to such low levels from a regular customer . I even tried reasoning with him that 2 weeks before I checked in exactly at the same time and checked out similarly though I booked for a single day.
It really left a bad taste in my mind about Abad . If this is the attitude of reception staff - there is not much point in writing about room quality / service / food etc which is nothing great.
I would like to know from Abad Management - if they are doing this discrimination just because I am an Individual traveller - I am pretty sure they wouldn't even dare to mention this to a travel agent. Also I would like to know whether the upper management is aware of all these cheap tactics being done by the reception staff .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Awesome deal. Location is a two minute walk from the cochin (ernakulum) ksrtc bus stand. Rooms are the cleanest I have stayed in out of dozens of hotels in india. Small simple rooms- perfecion. Bathrooms very clean and have a shower curtain with bathmat. A/C is by central control. No bugs no mosquitoes. Linenens are very clean too.

Everytime I come to cochin I stay here. Excellent value around 1000 rs for a/c if you book through makemytrip.com.

Downsides: check out isn't 24 hours but they usually let you check out passed 12 noon. Wifi is not free. Its charged hourly. Restaurant closes around 10:30 but their sister hotel abad plaza up the street has a 24 hour restaurant in case you arrive late. Every day, you have to book through makemytrip.com to get the lower rate.

I've seen a lot of really bad hotels and I'm very picky- usually only write a review if something is really bad but this hotel is a breathe of fresh air - even if its in the middle of the madness of cochin. Rooms face away from the street so they are very quiet too with good sunlight!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SkyAvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is centrally located.resonable rates.good and clean rooms.food is good too.recinmended for buissness as well as leisure holiday.they dont have the pool but u can use there sister concern hotels pool which is just located few meters away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hemal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
296 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I frequently visit Cochin on work. I invariably check in and leave and come back late in the night for a sleep. I found this hotel to be the best for this requirement:

1. Well maintained and clean room.
2. Newspaper delivered well in time without reminders.
3. Courteous staff who responds immediately on request.
4. Complimentary breafast, low on choice but no complains given the tariff.
5. Cheap and affordable room, with parking facility.

Last but not the least the least the excellent sleep.

Overall a Thumbs up and I am sure to stay back here itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Indradeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#46 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abad Plaza
Hotel Abad Plaza
#33 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luciya Hotel
Luciya Hotel
#169 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#83 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ernakulam
146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel
#129 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abad Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Metro

Property: Hotel Abad Metro
Address: M.G.Road | Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682035, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Abad Metro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Abad Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abad Metro Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing