We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great food, well meaning service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Hotel
Ranked #27 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, great food, well meaning service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms were comfortable - it was a good surprise to have a bath, and a kettle for coffee. Bathroom was a little tired in terms of decor but clean.
On the recommendation of the Rough Guide we chose to eat in the fish restaurant at a supplement and the food was amazing, light and delicious, although the service was hit and miss - they meant well, just weren't quite sure what to do!
Breakfast was ok.
Pool is pretty and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    231
    89
    32
    15
See reviews for
140
173
35
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel through our trip operator because it was the only mid-budget option during the Dec/Jan holiday season.

The hotel is rather out-dated, but the rooms are clean and large. We stayed on the first floor in a room facing the hospital across the street. (Not exactly a room with a view.)

The main disadvantage of the hotel is the location. You will need a 20 minute taxi ride to get to Fort Kochi and Jew Town (both highlights). Getting back to the hotel can be a challenge, since many drivers don't know where it is located, so be sure to take a map and business card from the lobby!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsFarAsICanTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Returned to Casino Hotel on our trip in India and took a fried with us who had never been before and she was well inpressed. The staff are alway pleasant and helpful. Sea food restraunt was as good as ever. Need to improve the choice of breakfast food for european guests. Rooms were tidy but need a second bedside table. Enjoyed our stay and will return

Room Tip: Its a long qay from the new airport (90) mins in rush hour but very close for the train station (15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagles52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My first brush was with Spice Village in Kumily at the outskirts of the Periyar Wildlife sanctuary. To economise, we stayed at the charming B&B place next door called the Wildernest, a charming little place with just 10 rooms. The place was not too busy and we managed to catch up with the handsome owner (I forget his name) who after hearing our descriptions of our day jobs (I was doing a project on Kerala Panchayats and was actually there on work, to meet the Jagratha Samiti - Women's vigilance group) introduced us to the Spice Village folks. We got a royal guided tour of Spice village, a look at their kitchen garden - they grew most of what was cooked in the kitchen, their experiments with waste water recycling, their paper bags making unit, etc...There was also a museum of sorts with some well chronicled B/W photos of the region, and the princely antecedents...And after that for the next couple of days our lunch and dinner would inevitably happen there.

Last year I decided to be less stingy and was celebrating breaking free from USAID, and spent a weekend at Casino Hotel - the first hotel of the CGH group. After we strolled in Kochi, Jew town and all, stopped by Brunton Boatyard for lunch. The added incentive was that my cousin was interning in the kitchen. The pukka tam-brahm boy rustled up a lovely meal of chicken pasta, fish and chips and beef steak! And while Liby and I downed the beer, a complimentary glass of hibiscus juice turned up magically at the table for Karuna.

The BB building itself exudes old world charm and has an eclectic collection of antiques...Among the holiday hosts I have encountered CGH definitely sits on top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVJP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great experience! Very tastefully done - the lobby, rest of the hotel, rooms and even the dining room. Rooms are very comfortable and are really big. View from rooms is great too. Very very polite and friendly staff. There is nothing negative other than the locations may not be the greatest but then there is nothing to see in Kochi so it may not matter that much. Furniture is a bit dated but there is nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvinder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December, it was booked by our travel agent. The hotel is okay, rooms are bit dated and the location is not suitable at all for family holiday, as Wellington island is not a tourist location as it is a commercial port and nothing is near. It is almost 30 mins away by car to the city and ther is nothing within the hotels vicinity. No shops or restaurants... even Pizza delivery will not come out as it is too far. So you do end u spending a lot of money on taxis...

The staff are excellent, very friendly and the service is impeccable, they looked after our every requirement and tried to make our stay as special as possible which we really enjoyed. The food in the restaurant is very good and the chef was willing to cook up things for us that was not on the menu.

It is not a hotel i would recommend for family holiday makers. It is a perfect hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December Christmas new year holidays. we found the hotel very good value for money and excellent service. The restaurants were very good and food was good. Did not find any activities for children other than a pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumaravm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#22 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Property: Casino Hotel
Address: | Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Decor Styled hotel captures the essence of Cochin, which is at once cosmopolitan and traditional and enables you to travel gracefully between these two worlds - right from that moment when you are greeted into the hotel with a warm welcome. From then on you experience the richness of simple, natural, yet elegant interiors of the hotel that carries tradition and modernity with elan. You'll experience this duality of space and time even in our restaurants and in the exotic fare - ethnic, Indian and continental - that is dished out, which is perhaps why, an experience at Casino Hotel is so exotic, yet so familiar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Casino Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Casino Hotel Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing