We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel on Cochin”
Review of Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Hotel
Ranked #26 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel on Cochin”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Returned to Casino Hotel on our trip in India and took a fried with us who had never been before and she was well inpressed. The staff are alway pleasant and helpful. Sea food restraunt was as good as ever. Need to improve the choice of breakfast food for european guests. Rooms were tidy but need a second bedside table. Enjoyed our stay and will return

Room Tip: Its a long qay from the new airport (90) mins in rush hour but very close for the train station (15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagles52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    239
    91
    33
    15
See reviews for
147
177
37
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trivandrum, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My first brush was with Spice Village in Kumily at the outskirts of the Periyar Wildlife sanctuary. To economise, we stayed at the charming B&B place next door called the Wildernest, a charming little place with just 10 rooms. The place was not too busy and we managed to catch up with the handsome owner (I forget his name) who after hearing our descriptions of our day jobs (I was doing a project on Kerala Panchayats and was actually there on work, to meet the Jagratha Samiti - Women's vigilance group) introduced us to the Spice Village folks. We got a royal guided tour of Spice village, a look at their kitchen garden - they grew most of what was cooked in the kitchen, their experiments with waste water recycling, their paper bags making unit, etc...There was also a museum of sorts with some well chronicled B/W photos of the region, and the princely antecedents...And after that for the next couple of days our lunch and dinner would inevitably happen there.

Last year I decided to be less stingy and was celebrating breaking free from USAID, and spent a weekend at Casino Hotel - the first hotel of the CGH group. After we strolled in Kochi, Jew town and all, stopped by Brunton Boatyard for lunch. The added incentive was that my cousin was interning in the kitchen. The pukka tam-brahm boy rustled up a lovely meal of chicken pasta, fish and chips and beef steak! And while Liby and I downed the beer, a complimentary glass of hibiscus juice turned up magically at the table for Karuna.

The BB building itself exudes old world charm and has an eclectic collection of antiques...Among the holiday hosts I have encountered CGH definitely sits on top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVJP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great experience! Very tastefully done - the lobby, rest of the hotel, rooms and even the dining room. Rooms are very comfortable and are really big. View from rooms is great too. Very very polite and friendly staff. There is nothing negative other than the locations may not be the greatest but then there is nothing to see in Kochi so it may not matter that much. Furniture is a bit dated but there is nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvinder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December, it was booked by our travel agent. The hotel is okay, rooms are bit dated and the location is not suitable at all for family holiday, as Wellington island is not a tourist location as it is a commercial port and nothing is near. It is almost 30 mins away by car to the city and ther is nothing within the hotels vicinity. No shops or restaurants... even Pizza delivery will not come out as it is too far. So you do end u spending a lot of money on taxis...

The staff are excellent, very friendly and the service is impeccable, they looked after our every requirement and tried to make our stay as special as possible which we really enjoyed. The food in the restaurant is very good and the chef was willing to cook up things for us that was not on the menu.

It is not a hotel i would recommend for family holiday makers. It is a perfect hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December Christmas new year holidays. we found the hotel very good value for money and excellent service. The restaurants were very good and food was good. Did not find any activities for children other than a pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumaravm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
171 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked into this hotel by our tour operator. On the face of it, the hotel looks good and the staff are friendly. Rooms were clean, spacious and with hot water on demand.

However cracks soon started to appear...the restaurant was a terrible experience. The staff couldn't care less and it was a mission just to get our order in. The food was pricey, tasteless and portions were tiny.

Avoid getting a room on the first floor if you decide to stay here. Their 'night club' is located on this floor and is not separated from the rooms. We were here on a Sat night and at 3am had a drunkard shouting nis head off in our corridor!

Would not recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We only stayed two nights at the hotel, we arrived early and our room was made available. The room was very average and dated. The room appeared to be relatively clean.

The hotel offers two restaurants, bar, swimming pool and wifi. Wifi only appears to work in reception. The seafood restaurant only serves seafood and seemed very empty whilst we there, perhaps they could widen the menu. The main restaurant we tried to use on the first evening but were informed that they were far to busy to accommodate us, however they appeared to have several empty tables?!? We did use it the following evening and it appeared expensive and we had the feeling that we were in the way...

The bar was also expensive and the room was very dark and a little unwelcoming.

I am not sure this hotel can be stated as 4 star, perhaps 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#20 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
811 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.2 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,948 reviews
2.1 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Hotel

Property: Casino Hotel
Address: | Willingdon island, Kochi (Cochin) 682 003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Decor Styled hotel captures the essence of Cochin, which is at once cosmopolitan and traditional and enables you to travel gracefully between these two worlds - right from that moment when you are greeted into the hotel with a warm welcome. From then on you experience the richness of simple, natural, yet elegant interiors of the hotel that carries tradition and modernity with elan. You'll experience this duality of space and time even in our restaurants and in the exotic fare - ethnic, Indian and continental - that is dished out, which is perhaps why, an experience at Casino Hotel is so exotic, yet so familiar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Casino Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Casino Hotel Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing