We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to be for Business Needs”
Review of The Renai Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Renai Cochin
Ranked #94 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Good Place to be for Business Meets and Business Stay.
Comfortable and Responsive to the needs of the Business Traveller and Excellent Dining Amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank get2jayesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

A good keralite treat at renaissance is sure to pull you back to it again. My stay was of business nature and we also held a seminar in their class function halls. Overall it was a memorable stay. One thing that annoyed me was its distance from the airport. Its close proximity to different tourist as well as business centres in the city is an advantage to its location.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mohan_Prabhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

After reading the reviews on Renaissance, it was very clear that the only disadvantage this hotel faced was that it was located at a fair distance from the main places of interest like MG Road, Marine Drive etc. But I decided to go ahead with my booking. And I am very happy that I did so.

The Manager Mr Bijoi was a friendly person who gave us a good discount on the rack rate and included complimentary breakfast also. We were received very warmly on our check in and I found the hotel and rooms had a very dignified and posh ambience.

But the superior (basic) room was just al little cramped for space, especially after arrival of the extra bed for our daughter. The rooms were well maintained with all facilities (including a mini fridge and safety locker) staff were very courteous and neatly dressed and housekeeping was very prompt.

The swimming pool was in tune with the high standards set by the hotel. The bathroom had a jacuzzi shower which resulted in luxurious baths being enjoyed by us

.The food items were all exorbitantly priced and apart from the complimentary breakfast, we discovered a nice little restaurant called Kettuvaalam on Kadavambra road Kallur serving traditional Kerala food for lunch and dinner at normal prices. Kerala meals with fish or chicken curry, nei meen fry and ginger chicken rounded off with payasam for dessert.

Though it is 4 km away, there are plenty of autos available to go anywhere you want..The Cochin automen are very reasonable and charge only 10 Rs per km unlike the automen in Chennai.For the vegetarians there is Hotel Abirami, which is at a walkable distance.

All in all we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at The Renaissance, and we will definitely stay there again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChennaiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Our first night stay at during week trip. Very helpful staff. Clean rooms with nice TV. Buffet dinner had local and internations foods and tons of choice for a great price. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

The Rennaisance, Cochin, does what it says on the tin. A solid Indian 4* business hotel with good value facilities including 3 restaurants, a bar and a pool.

It's not Taj or Oberoi luxury but there is a good bed with cotton sheets, a flatscreen satelliteTV, plenty of luggage space, a well stocked bathroom including complementary toiletries and a bathrobe. The business centre has secure and private internet access for 70 Rs. per hour. Food and drinks in the restaurants and bar are reasonably priced, and the pool area is pleasant and secluded.

The hotel is on the busy MG road in Ernakulam so is not ideally placed for exploring Fort Kochi. It is handily place for shopping and the airport though.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KymnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

..........in the lap of luxury but it is a pretty decent hotel which offers value for money. A 40 minute drive from the airport and you step into a rather small but well decorated lobby. The check in was almost instant. The bell boy took my luggage into the room and was I relaxing in less than a minute. This is first hotel in the last five years of my travel where I was not asked to pay any advance before check-in.
The decor of the room was basic but good enough for me. It had a 26 inch Lg LCD TV ,a safe locker and a 60 liter fridge. The climate control seemed pretty good. The bathroom was kindoff small; no bathtub or jacuzzi.

There are three restaurants in the hotel. The one on the ground floor attached to the lobby is called The Pavilion. It serves breakfast and buffet lunch and dinner. The breakfast was not the best spread I had in my recent travels. The lunch and dinner had good choice of deserts and salads but the main course wasn't too impressive
The second restaurant called the Ras leela is at the back of the hotel by the garden. it serves dinner only. I could not try it as it was not air conditioned.
( it was quiet hot and humid during my visit. )
The third restaurant was at the fifth floor called the Black Perl. It served Chinese food. Decent enough but it lacked the Chinese touch. The menu list is pretty limited and you would be out of options on the third day.
The spa and a gym are a total shame. I asked for a head massage, all he could do was pull my hair for 30 minutes and say time is up. The gym is not worth a second look. Avoid both of them.
The location of the hotel is not quite central. The main market is far enough and autos are rather scarce to find. Another problem I faced was not many of them knew English too well. I would suggest taking the hotel taxi. For 150 rs an hour its the best deal you could get.
All in all a pretty good hotel. It was an enjoyable three day stay. On request I got a 4 o'clock checkout.
Would I stay here on my next visit ? Well out of curiosity I would give Hotel Harbor View, The Grand and Gokulam park inn a try.

Happy journey

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Farook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

We stayed there for 3 nights, it was a comfortable stay. I have no complaints at any front. The room had LCD TV which was a first for this price range. Rooms are compact but comfortable. Excellent service. They offered us free breakfast even though it was not part of our package.
You might also want to consider 'The Grand' or 'Taj Residency, Ernakulam' as they are right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Markz Inn - Luxury Business Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Rooms
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Roo...
#186 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel PGS Vedanta
Hotel PGS Vedanta
#40 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Renai Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renai Cochin

Address: PB No 2310 | Palarivattom, Kochi (Cochin) 682025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $52 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Renai Cochin 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renai Cochin (formerly The Renaissance Cochin), a landmark 4-star rated exclusive boutique hotel in the heart of Cochin. We take pride in offering personalized attention with an eye for detail at all times, regardless of whether you're scouting for a potential associate to help promote your business here at Cochin or looking to give your family an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Renai Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Renai Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Renaissance Hotel Cochin
Renaissance Kochi
Kochi Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Kochi
The Renai Cochin Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing