We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old property with a good location advantage”
Review of The Renai Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Renai Cochin
Ranked #89 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed March 26, 2014

On the onset itself, I would like to make it clear that even though Renai Cochin is listed as 4star in many booking sites but its a 3star at the best.

Entering the lobby itself you feel that it has an old design. The check-in was smooth and room was alloted on the 4th floor. Room was good enough but not spacious though the big disappointment was that we were allotted two separate beds instead of master bed. With no availability of room with single bed, we were told that the beds would be joined and it was promptly done by the room service guy. Good point was the central AC was working very good inside the room.

Breakfast buffet was a total surprise, its vast spread and varieties did bowl us over. Overall I would give a recommendation thanks to its location. Its a old hotel which still has a good reputation, I hope the management modernizes it soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suleeshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 189 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Renai Kochi is one of the good business hotel in Kochi. Its conveniently located in the city. Rooms are big but need a bit of renovation. Restaurant is good and has lot of variety in the menu. The swimming pool, kids play area and the fitness center are situated behind the main building. Its managed by a professional fitness center but the hotel guests can access it freely. The staff is really friendly and helpful. There is ample parking space (open parking)
Overall a good business hotel in Kochi

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdvisor_AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel Renai is a well-known property in Kochi, towards the northern side of the city. It is a kind of landmark, having been around for over 30 years. While it was top-of-the-line when it was launched, it's age is beginning to creep up on it these days.

I stayed at Renai for a night in February 2014. The check-in itself was quick and efficient. The room was kind of small, and the toilet even smaller. The room had two beds and given the size of the room, both had to be small. Despite the size, the room was well appointed, and so was the toilet. The signs of age, however, were there many, although none were too in-your-face.

The breakfast spread was quite good, and the service was good throughout. In summary, a reasonably good place for the price, but the place needs a bit of modernization before long.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SierraBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff were accommodating and the bell Boy and doorman were friendly. This is typical in India but shouldn't be taken for granted. The room was very nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. It is a good value for this type of hotel. I didn't take part in the breakfast, but it looked like a nice spread

Room Tip: Good for short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathewz228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I loved the stay in this hotel. The location is good. The rooms are also pretty good. The food is very good especially the appams and Chinese. the best part is it has a great GYM which i totally loved. I stayed there during the rainy season and the view from the room was awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayaMS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I just opted for this hotel seeing 4 stars and expecting bigger better room, to our annoyance room wasnt big and bathroom in particular was hardly there, you may somehow manage to stand in a corner and put few drops of water on your head. Rest all is ok, food is just slightly above average not at all sumptuous. Also here and there, the hotel needs maintenance which they are overlooking. Anyways I still rate it 3 star instead of 4, and value for money only if you get good online deal..............

Room Tip: hardly any options with room, only if you may choose some club suite etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulysses_tags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is placed in the midst of Palarivattom, and accessible to all the nearby locations easily. As a business hotel, the rooms are served well with decent interiors, well-groomed staff and fairly good food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rupikanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 mi away
Markz Inn - Luxury Business Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Rooms
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Roo...
#187 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel PGS Vedanta
Hotel PGS Vedanta
#42 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Renai Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renai Cochin

Address: PB No 2310 | Palarivattom, Kochi (Cochin) 682025, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $51 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Renai Cochin 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renai Cochin (formerly The Renaissance Cochin), a landmark 4-star rated exclusive boutique hotel in the heart of Cochin. We take pride in offering personalized attention with an eye for detail at all times, regardless of whether you're scouting for a potential associate to help promote your business here at Cochin or looking to give your family an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Renai Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Renai Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Renaissance Hotel Cochin
Renaissance Kochi
Kochi Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Kochi
The Renai Cochin Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing