We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious parking, good food and traditional hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Renai Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Renai Cochin
Ranked #94 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spacious parking, good food and traditional hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have stayed there several times since 15 years. Earlier name was Hotel Renaissance.
Very efficient staff, clean rooms. Suits are fairly big with two separate toilets. Breakfast buffet provides excellent choices of both local, continental/American to suit all guests. The front portico and reception area where you enter the hotel is relatively small, but the hotel as a whole is fairly big. Though one of the oldest hotels in the city, I have noticed not many taxi drivers familiar with the place. My only bitter experience was two years ago when I went for an Ayurvedic massage attached to hotel. It was rude, traumatic, "memorable" one by a sadist guy. Apart from this, this luxury hotel offers the best services at a relatively low price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jothydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
40
20
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

There was hardly any one around when we walked in to prepare for the company meet. A spacious car park with an attendant standing by, not particularly excited about guiding us in or telling us where to park. A simple lobby with no theme or statement. A shy receptionist who told us that the meeting room was on the first floor. When we walked in, the hall was deserted. After a while a man in a jacket and tie, probably the duty manager, came in and said, a little apologetically,

"The staff will come in within 15 minutes Sir. Since the function is to start only at 10, and it is only 9 now . . .", he smiled.

We went about setting up our stuff, and sure enough, within 15 minutes, one banquet person came in and very quietly, quickly, almost unnoticeably, went about arranging all that we needed as per the brief given to them earlier.

The participants began to trickle and then flood in, and the programme started. All through, the tea and snacks, the lunch, were all served exactly on time, amply, and tastefully. There was no outstanding demonstration of 'professional hospitality', just simple, unobtrusive, efficiency.

When the meet ended some hours later, there were no banquet people coming in to see us off effusively, asking us to fill feedback forms, or expecting tips. They had done their work, were available when needed, and when it was all over, the left us to leave the hall at our convenience.

Simple, straightforward, dignified competence.

To top it all, the entire offering was surprisingly cost effective.

Renai goes on my list of favourites, and I am keen to use their services again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorporateTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Last year (2012) december i statyed in Renai cochin with family. Its a great expereince. Food was really good. Location is nice and nice parking too. Rates are on the upper end. Items provided in the mini bar is not quality ones.

Room Tip: Excelent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aravindvikraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cannot say about the Hotel as a whole but their lunch buffet was awesome. Normal buffets in Kochi disappoint Vegetarians (we had 2 in our group) but the buffet had enough veg dishes too . Desert section was a great mouth watering treat for all us sweet tooths. The service and ambiance was exquisite.

The only black dots I could see was the buffet room was a little small and not enough vegetarian desserts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreyAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here only for a night but my experiences were quite to the contrary that I have read on the site.

The check-in was quite the opposite of smooth as the front desk staff did not have any information of my reservation. It was 8 pm and an inopportune time to contact my client's service desk which had made the reservation. After 4-5 calls between the travel agent, my colleague, me and the hotel, it surfaced that a reservation request was already placed 2 days back. What riled me was that the hotel personnel did not take any 'apparent' pro-active steps to smoothen the process.

The room allocated to me felt humid and I could get comfortable only after half an hour or so. The gym is supposed to be open till 10 pm but they close it if no one comes by 9:30 pm - this information dawned upon me only when I got ready to go to the gym.

Food - the restaurant ambience was below average for a hotel of that stature. The taste was at best average.

Overall - not so great experience. Rating average just giving them benefit of doubt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijit_bhavsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I came to the Rennai for the first time curious about what is in store for me.
Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised!
Over the many weeks I was there I felt reassured about the hotel and the hospitality.

An in-depth analysis:
1. Check in and Check out: Was smooth each time. However, there was an issue with the bill once. Providing a bit of slack at Check Out would be wise
2. Rooms: Found the rooms very neat and well appointed in all visits. However, on one instance there was a musky smell in the room which the hotel took care off soon.
3. Service and Facilities:
a. Service is of high quality and prompt.
b. There is a very good gym towards the rear of the hotel. This is a great option in Cochin where you can't travel to a gym if your hotel doesnt have one.
c. Used the travel desk once and got pretty good advice.
4. Food
a. I found the traditional Kerala food at the Rennai to be of excellent quality
b. Continental and North Indian cuisine are both decent
c. Tried all the restaurants over many weeks. Quality was consistent.
d. However, on some days, the breakfast buffet can be pretty bland
5. Location
a. If you have to visit offices inside the city and on the byepass area, then the Rennai is right in the middle way
b. There are supermarkets, temples and a multitude of stores in close vicinity.
c. However, the beach and other such natural attractions are a short distance away

The Rennai is a good option because it offers a high quality experience and at a value price point. The Rennai is my new default hotel in Cochin.

Room Tip: Tips: 1. If you choose a room on the northern side you can have a birds eye view of a busy junctio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunKrishnaPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overall good rooms and good food. have some good facilities like well maintained pool and a gym. My room lacked proper mobile charging points and the bathroom was a little too small otherwise it was a pleasant stay. Rooms are neat and clean and was well kept. Good connectivity. One point of improvement could be to provide 24hrs checkout facility which could be good for business travellers.

Room Tip: Take rooms away from the lift if you like quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harisreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Markz Inn - Luxury Business Hotel
1.3 mi away
Gokulam Park
Gokulam Park
#1 of 1 in Kaloor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Rooms
Hotel Highway Garden & Vista Roo...
#177 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Master Comfort Inn
Master Comfort Inn
#188 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yuvarani Residency
Yuvarani Residency
#84 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel PGS Vedanta
Hotel PGS Vedanta
#43 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Renai Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Renai Cochin

Property: The Renai Cochin
Address: PB No 2310 | Palarivattom, Kochi (Cochin) 682025, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Renai Cochin 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renai Cochin (formerly The Renaissance Cochin), a landmark 4-star rated exclusive boutique hotel in the heart of Cochin. We take pride in offering personalized attention with an eye for detail at all times, regardless of whether you're scouting for a potential associate to help promote your business here at Cochin or looking to give your family an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Renai Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Renai Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Renaissance Hotel Cochin
Renaissance Kochi
Kochi Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Kochi
The Renai Cochin Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing