We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cookery lesson and meal”
Review of Gloria Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gloria Homestay
Ranked #31 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home cookery lesson and meal”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a lovely experience. Very warm welcome and friendly family. Thoroughly enjoyed our cookery lesson and what a delicious meal we had especially the prawns and beetroot. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were very lucky to find Gloria Homestay where we stayed for two weeks over Christmas, 2013. Sharlet and her family made us so welcome that we felt we were part of her family. She is a good cook and there was always plenty of her tasty Kerala style food. Her hospitality is generous and she is the centre of a large family who live nearby and frequently visit her. Everyone is given a warm welcome and a drink or something to eat on arrival and there is always a lively atmosphere of good friendship and laughter. The bedrooms are quiet and comfortable with fans and air conditioning. An upper terrace out side the bedrooms provides a quiet sitting area and a place for drying clothes. It was a great pleasure to stay with Sharlet and her family and we have made good friends for life. Fort Kochi & shops are closeby.

Room Tip: Go and meet Sharlet and you will warm to her kind personality and want to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2014

It is the family which reserves you a warmest welcome.The services concerning rooms are of excellent quality.The house is situated in 5mn businesses on foot. Furthermore for the lovers of royal enfield you are in the good house. In brief it is the place which I recommend you.
Emmanuel - La Rochelle - France

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Shared a wonderful evening of cooking & eating with Charlotte & her family. It was a great experience of genuine warmth & hospitality. If you are travelling in Cochin it is an experience not to be missed. I highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a fantastic "cooking lesson and meal" evening with these ladies. Their home is delightful and their hospitality is fantastic. Should I ever return to Kochi in the future, I intend staying at their homestay

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KTMrider525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went to have a cookery lesson with these lovely people. First we met the family who were all very enchanting.
The food demonstration was better than Jamies 30 minute meals. Really the woman is a domestic goddess! When we sat to eat the food we were all in heaven with the flavours bursting in our mouthes. We are still talking about it now! Don't forget to take a pen and paper to jot down the recipies. Make this a must for all foodie lovers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekerbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofforth, North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you are in Cochin do yourself a favour and take a Cookery Evening with these delightful sisters! It is such an entertaining occasion - learning the rudiments of Kerala cookery with special hints regarding spices and oils - oh, such fun! Then what a delight to enjoy fine dishes with the family. This was a very special evening - I can't wait for Gloria's cook book - move over Rick Stein!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJuneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Eighth Bastion Hotel
#5 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#4 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#2 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazar Residency Homestay
Lazar Residency Homestay
#22 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#10 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Homestay

Property: Gloria Homestay
Address: Bastian's House, no 1 / 691, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gloria Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing