We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Courtyard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Park Avenue(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Brisbane Lodge(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Crystalica Residency(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Elite Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Harbour Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Koder House(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Arches(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neemrana's Tower House(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rasa Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neemrana's Le Colonial(Kochi (Cochin))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
138
141
39
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
141
39
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique furniturefour poster bedflights of stairsfort cochinlovely courtyardwooden floorsprincess streetheritage hotelmosquito netold world charmthe chinese fishing netsfantastic locationsmall hoteltravel deskcolonial styleloved this hotellarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 341 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is an older building, so if you are expecting polished marble floors then look elsewhere. If you are after a bit of character however you are at the right place!

The room we booked was spacious, had air conditioning etc and we were generally very pleased with it. Everything within Cochin was within ease of walking distance which was nice as it provided a nice base to explore from.

Food wise the restaurant wasn't amazing, but certainly adequate! Breakfast was very good and made to order. The restaurant was a little quiet however, but if that concerns you then there are plenty of places to eat down the road.

The staff generally were polite and helpful, and would have no hesitation staying here again. Noted the previous comments re: mosquitoes; that will be very time dependant as when we stayed I can't say we even saw one let alone had to cover up etc.

Whilst in Cochin we did use the swimming pool a couple of doors down from the hotel for a small fee, which was nice in the heat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I had booked this hotel as we weren't able to find bookings at the the erstwhile Grande Residencia.

When we arrived there, the "duty manager" was a lil kid.i felt he should have been in school... well he definitely didnt look over 18. We were sent up to the room on the first floor. The room was as expected.. had an old world charm, and we knew what to expect as we had stayed at the Grande Residencia earlier, which is an identical hotel. (which now has been taken over by a new management Dune Eco, and going by the pictures, they have managed to ruin that lovely place with their so called modern looking bedrooms) .. I digress...

Anyways we needed some peace n quiet, but the little bakery n coffee shop right under out room, kept blasting 90s dance music all day, and that was a bother. When we complained about the noise, as the floors and walls are made of old wood, they said they couldn't do anything about stopping the music. they lowered it a bit, but because of the sub woofer, the thump was evident all the time.

The toilet seat cover would never rest back.. it would fall on to your back every time. When i called the middle-aged hotel manager, and showed him, he dint seem to think it was any inconvenience.. he said "thats such a small thing.. "i was furious.. i said " if a toilet seat resting permanently on your guest's back when they use the room toilets is not a big deal for you, you shouldn't be in this line of work. I asked to speak to the owner of the hotel, they promptly stonewalled me saying the owner was away travelling and cant be disturbed. ,

We decided to walk a bit in the evening and explore the place, and we had a surprise waiting for us on return.. the staff had closed the hotel main entrance from inside and. We waited banding the door and ringing the door bell for over 30 minutes.. no sign of anyone being inside.

We spoke to the locals nearby, and they put their hands up. finally the little kid "duty manager"opened the door and apologized, saying he was having his dinner, and did not hear anything all the while.


Next night we ordered a simple rice and kerala style fish curry,and it was so disgusting, the fish was clearly bad n smelly, but the middle aged gentleman who seemed to be restaurant manger said it seemed perfect to him. I am a malayalee, and have enjoyed a variety of fish all my life, and this clown tells me that my senses are misleading me about the fish curry being bad. My Norwegian partner tasted it as well, and she agreed it was bad fish.

Oh and lastly.. if you are a couple, who like to get busy once in a while.. using their beds is a bad idea.. cos they creak and make so much noise that you can wake up the whole neighborhood.

I had made a booking for 3 nights, we left after two terrible nights.

I was mislead by the superb reviews on tripadvisor..but was terribly disappointed. This place if off our list for life.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePulpitRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, General Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. When we receive a negative feedback, it helps us to upgrade and improve our services to best serve the guests.
You have stayed with us on April 12-14 in the Suite Room. It was unfortunate that a valued guest like you have been checked in by one of the trainees. Yes, you are right, they are young as they are also studying for the Hotel Management course during the day.
I have spoken to the Manager and he explained that when you complained regarding the toilet seat, he immediately called the plumber and next day the problem was rectified. Though we apologize that his response during your complain was unprofessional.
It has been our policy to inform the guests who go out in the evening to inform us approximately when they intend to return, as we do close the front door after 10:30 pm for safety reasons. The ringing of the bell must have not been heard by the night duty person as he was having his meal. It is not an excuse not to have been more alert on his part and we apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you.
I have spoken to the Chef and the waiters regarding our complain on the Fish curry and rice meal, as we do operate on the policy that any food complain must be immediately attended to and replaced with a fresh item without question. The Manager has been warned regarding his conduct in dealing with your complains.
The Old Courtyard is a very old building with original floor boards and they do tend to creak in case of any excessive activity on them. Attention has been given to the music played in the Gelato as the building also echoes and floor boards will vibrate whenever there is any loud noise/music.
Once again we thank you for the review and take this as an opportunity to rework and retrain our staff so that they will be able to make our guests' stay great and memorable.
Sincerely, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The building is beautiful, however you will be plagued by Mosquitos - so deet up!

The food is below standard - however twice the price of other restaurants in fort kochi.

Get out of the tourist area and don't waste your time or money eating here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, General Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Madam,
We thank you for your review. With the tropical climate and thunderstorm season, it is inevitable that mosquitoes increase especially between 6:00-7:00 pm. Although regular pest control is done within non harmful limits, mosquitoes still come at sunset time.
Regarding the food, your complain about the quality has been intimated to the chef.
All of Fort Cochin is a tourist area and it has been pretty empty until mid Oct. So not only our hotel is empty but even the streets are empty.
We have checked our register and have not found you to have stayed with us. Nevertheless, you opinion matters to us.
Sincerely,
Rose B.K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at a cheap hostel nearby and returned here almost every day to enjoy their delicious Apple Crumble, you have to try it! I consider going to Kochi next time I'm in India, just to go back here. The staff is really friendly and made our experience extra good. Live Indian music was played during dinner time, which was nice and added to the cosy atmosphere. Apart from their great desserts, warm kerala banana, cheese cake and chocolate cake, But the apple crumble is the best, they serve decent pasta dishes. We spent great evenings here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keralatourist_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After hunting multiple cafe`s for a glass of cold coffee, we decided to go with this one. Because of off season, most of them were either closed or did not have cold coffee. I loved the cold coffee and sandwich. The interiors ooze with rustic charm. The service was tad slow but not too bad. We were not hassled by the delay as we had all the time in the world.

If you place a big order, be ready to wait for a while.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews