We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited the Gelato cafe outside the hotel”
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #37 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Visited the Gelato cafe outside the hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After hunting multiple cafe`s for a glass of cold coffee, we decided to go with this one. Because of off season, most of them were either closed or did not have cold coffee. I loved the cold coffee and sandwich. The interiors ooze with rustic charm. The service was tad slow but not too bad. We were not hassled by the delay as we had all the time in the world.

If you place a big order, be ready to wait for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    127
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
54
161
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A beautiful old but small hotel , where we had one of the best rooms on then floor. It might not have. the most modern bathrooms but it is comfortable, quaint and very clean. Right in the centre and a short walk from the park and the sea front where you can choose the fish you want, the hotel has a small restaurant where the food is delicious. Breakfast ,with the fresh juice and tasty fruits and any kind of eggs is served in the court yard. You can enjoy traditional music in the evenings.

Room Tip: The largest double room on the first floor is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manzar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is supposed to be a 'Heritage' hotel.
It is quiet quaint and does have 'old' written across it. Missing many basic features in the rooms. Power sockets are out dated don't seem to work. If running hot water is a factor than this may not be the hotel for you.
We had booked to stay a number of days. But moved to another hotel within the first day itself.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RJRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Old Courtyard was our first port of call in India. A warm reception when we arrived in at 6 in the morning. It was a good central spot to wander around in as the chinese nets were only a short walking distance away. Our host Edgar made some great recommendations for us and was most helpful in making our stay a positive one. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were great. There were three of us and they only do two to a room. My double was twice the size of my friends twin. The double bed had to be the cosiest bed I ever slept in beautiful old world with an excellent bathroom to compliment it. It was great introduction to India and to the wonderful Indian people. Thank you Edgar

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaDublin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is a nice place to stay. It is very comfortable. It is very well priced. I booked it last minute and got a very good deal. The staff was hospitable and friendly. The restaurant has tasty food. The cheescake is famous out there as recommended by the staff ! The rooms were clean and tidy. The bathrooms also very spacious and clean. No problem whatsoever. Recommended for a short visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atishay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We travelled as a group of 6 girls and we were treated as stars at this hotel. The food was very good; there is a good mix of westeren and Indian cuisine and the chef is happy to accomodate any requests. We loved the 3 rooms on the top floor, all individually decorated with antique furniture and a deck outside. The staff were unbelievable; they accommodated all our requests from buying beers and wine, to organising tours and paying taxi drivers, taking us for rides on their motorbikes and even giving us cuttings from the magnificent orchids growing in the courtyard. The hotel is well situated with tuk-tuk drivers waiting outside to take you to any destination, good shopping, chinese fishing nets and good restaurants all in close proximity. We loved the building and the history surrounding it.

Room Tip: The top floor is great but I think that all the rooms are great. We looked at the rooms on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are off to Cochin, look no further than the Old Courtyard! It is marvellous, right from the first meeting with the manager. He greets you as if you are the day's most important guest that he is expecting, with a warm smile. The rest of the staff follow his lead. Everyone seems happy that you are their guest and tries to make your stay there memorable (in the nicest possible way) The hotel is an old building, 17th century, around the courtyard. Meals ( a range of Indian and Western dishes) are served in the courtyard or under the arcade on one side, and in the evening they are accompanied by Indian musicians. The rooms are a delightful mix of old furniture and modern conveniences (air-conditioning, en-suite, etc). Not the cheapest, but certainly not the dearest; very reasonable. A delightful experience. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#31 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#50 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#72 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing