We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint. But can be far better”
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #37 of 208 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
GA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint. But can be far better”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Quaint. That's the word that comes to mind when you walk into this hotel. Hotel us a broad & loose term for most accommodations in this area. These are HomeStays. Rooms are decent. AirCobditioners don't seem to be that effective. Running hot water is a problem through individual water heaters aka Geezers. All this when other better appointed Hotels/HomeStays available at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    127
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
54
162
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Old Courtyard is a very nice, friendly hotel that's got real charm and character. Due to our flight we arrived four hours before check-in time and they let us into our room as soon as it had been cleaned, three hours before we should really have arrived - the staff are really nice and amenable.

We were in Room 3, on the top floor, up two flights of steps which get increasingly steep and rickety as you ascend - not ideal if you have mobility problems but we loved being at the top of the building, with high sloped ceilings and a real sense of space in our room. The A/C and fan both kept us lovely and cool. The curtains are white so it is very bright in the mornings but we didn't mind that too much as it helped ease us out of our jetlag!

The shared-access balcony, which looks down onto the courtyard, provided a nice spot for sundowners (the hotel is unlicensed but they can sort you out with beer if you put in a quiet request!).

The bathroom was spacious and everything was pretty clean except the bathtub, which was stained, although I think with age rather than actual dirt.

We were quite disappointed with the restaurant as it was our first proper meal in Kerala and my fish mollee was the blandest curry I've ever had in my life (granted it was supposed to be mild but I don't think that should be shorthand for utterly flavourless!). My partner's prawn malabari, however, was absolutely delicious. I almost wondered if the chef had just forgotten to season/spice my dish! The setting was nice though and the live music was a fun touch.

The breakfasts were all very pleasant, with western and Indian options available.

Other dining tips: Brunton Boatyard does really delicious food but as it's a five-star hotel prices are higher than most places. Try the First Class Railway Mutton Curry accompanied by an Indian Sauvignon Blanc (surprisingly pleasant!). Oy's is good for a casual lunch - it's quite hippy-ish and chilled out.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Old Courtyard - it's clean, comfortable, has real character and provides a blissful respite from the madness of the town.

Room Tip: Room 3 has lovely high ceilings but is up two flights of steep steps so only choose it if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieJourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

An old colonial building situated in the centre of Fort Cochi making it an ideal location for a brief stay of three or four days. Loads of small restaurants and shops nearby to explore. Take the large room immediately at the top of the first flight of stairs. Light roomey and cool. Not too noisy from the adjacent street with a great comfy bed. Decorated with period furniture its a great relaxing place to stay. Costs more but worth the extra.
Downstairs the courtyard is extremely well kept and great to take a meal. No alcohol however but several bars nearby.
The staff were very accommodating and made our stay comfortable.
The Chinese fishing nets are closeby as are a million street sellers but they do not detract from the stay too much.
Take the short ferry boat trip to Vippen Island and then Chaerai Beach but you will need to hire a tuk tuk 24k. Worth the journey just for the experience.

Room Tip: Largest room they have available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights during our trip round South India. Very centrally located in Fort Cochin with many restaurants close by and 5 mins walk from the Chinese nets. Our room was on the top floor up some very steep stairs but had a lovely shared balcony overlooking the courtyard - we had to change rooms after a few hours as the A/C was faulty but the staff came and helped us move rooms to the room next door which was even better than the original one. Wi-fi wouldn't work in the room but was fine on the balcony so we spent quite a bit of time sitting out there, taking in the character of the place. Very peaceful and no problem with traffic noise - horns are universal in India so we had got used to them!
Breakfast was served in the courtyard or under the archways and was good quality and nicely laid tables - service was a bit slow one morning but very good apart from that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Old Courtyard is a charming colonial property in the heart of Fort/old Cochin. It is ideally located a short stroll from shops and restaurants. As you would expect the hotel is rustic with large, clean, air conditioned rooms that give you a glimpse of what life might have been like in a bygone era. The hotel restaurant is cute opening out into a courtyard (as the name suggests) where you can eat, drink our just soak up the atmosphere. Food is simple but of good quality and they will accommodate the tastes of younger travelers. The staff are however what really sets this property apart. They are very friendly, charming and nothing is too much trouble, they really are a credit to the management. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A lovely old house turned into a hotel without being so spruced up that its character and personality are affected. You really feel as though you are in colonial era Cochin. The staff, headed up by the manager Edgar are unfailingly helpful and friendly, and we felt very well looked after. Its location is perfect and all the sights in Fort Colchin are within an easy walk or auto-rickshaw ride. The rooms are charming, with simple wooden furniture and four poster beds. The restaurant menu is small, but the food is good, and their piece de resistance is the cafe/ice-cream bar which is open to the public.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard were quiet at night, even on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Set on a pretty street in the centre of Fort Cochin, it is within easy strolling distance of the river, ancient Chinese fishing nets, St Francis church and other tourist sites. The hotel is build around an ancient courtyard with whitewashed arches and high staircases. The large rooms have wonderful old wide floorboards, whitewashed walls and antique furniture. All was very clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our only criticiism would be of the plumbing, which was also a little antique and the shower was not best. We would happily choose to stay there again if we were in Cochin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#76 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing