We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely heritage building in central position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Courtyard
Ranked #40 of 196 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely heritage building in central position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We enjoyed about a week at the Old Courtyard - in a very pleasant room on the second floor with shared verandha over the courtyard - although sitting out got very hot and would benefit from a fan. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, we too were surprised to be asked to pay upfront on arrival - and can’t see the point of this. Having travelled far this is the last thing guests want to be asked - and we’ve never come across it before. We had a couple of pleasant meals in the restaurant situated in a great courtyard setting, which looked lovely when the table candles were lit. We were surprised this restaurant wasn’t more promoted to attract passing trade - we felt some pretty lights hanging in the trees and the alcoves would have attracted people in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHoritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant being located inside the courtyard is not so visible from the outside but offers an oasis in the midst of Fort Cochin busy streets.
The policy of the hotel has always been clear on payment on arrival since we only take a one night stay deposit. Previous experience in our travels has shown this is not unusual at all whether it is Europe or Asia. In Sri Lanka although the booking is paid for completely on arrival the reception asked to swipe our credit card for "future" services to be used. In Europe even a hostel asks for full payment on check in.
In other booking websites where we are featured, the payment policy is full payment 2 weeks prior to arrival. The same goes for travel agents' bookings.
We will keep in mind your suggestion regarding the restaurant to attract more trade.
Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    112
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
46
149
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food - Excellent ! After reviewing the menu and consulting the Chef I was pleasantly surprised with an excellent dish consisting of Grilled Fish , Fresh Salad with Blue Cheese and Fries ( I'm not fond of rice). The Entire dish was most wonderful to eat and the pleasant ambiance along with a courteous staff added every bit of value of time i spent here.

The Kerala Cuisine options are select few but are some of the best dishes you can try around here. Don't miss out in trying out the Appam & Curry .

Service - On time and friendly , the staff is courteous enough to answer any questions about the Hotel and places to visit nearby.

During my stay in Cochin , I've managed to visit this place about 4-5 times and i make it a point to order the coffee. ( French Press ) every time here.

If there's a place i can enjoy a good cup of coffee with a newspaper and in peace then this is it.

I plan to visit again soon.

-Vivek

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekshenoy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was one of the nicest I've stayed in in india. Beautifully decorated, lovely old furniture, good bathroom etc.
Only gripe was the management: We had paid 50% as a deposit for our rooms, and had booked a good few months in advance. When we arrived, we were aggressively told we had to pay the full 100% before we even set foot in our rooms. We'd been on the road for hours, and just wanted to put our luggage in our rooms and sit down. But no. I have honestly never been to a hotel that makes you pay before you check-in if you've put down a deposit...
They also made us change rooms from one night to the next, even though we'd booked with plenty of time for them to sort out who goes where...

Management/staff need a once over...It's one of those places that you just can't help but think the people who run the place don't spend enough time there checking it's running smoothly and training their staff...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bombay_aurealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, General Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. As we only have 8 rooms and bookings for most comes months ahead of time, there might be times when a change is required but we always inform the guests ahead of time if a change is required due to the availability.
It has always been the policy of the hotel to take a deposit of one night stay and the balance payable on arrival. This is also clearly written on your booking confirmation.
The only thing that baffles us whether with this review, is that, if the the reviewer stayed in Feb. 2012, why wait for 9 months to give the feedback?
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant only. Its nice for folks who would like to enjoy continental options in the Fort Cochin area. The Kerela selection is a bit watered down for global tastes, and not authentic at all. Costs an average of Rs 400-500 per head for a main course and a soft drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We where attracted by the beautiful little court which is nicely decorated with flowers when we decided to stay there for a night. Not even the complicated staff prevented us ( you have to pay everything in advance, etc. etc....)
In summary we spent a most awful night...the room looks pretty with the old furniture BUT you have no space to put your cloths, the bed is hard, too short and is instable...with the AC off it is too hot to sleep, with the AC on it is too noisy to sleep....My advise to other travellers: Go in the court, take a couple of pictures but DO NOT sleep here! They charge 4200 for the most basic room...
The breakfest is ok...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyarosa, General Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review on Old Courtyard Hotel. We have assessed the issues that you faced while at the Old Courtyard. The Standard Room checked in, was a double queen size bed with a 5 inch mattress, but not king size bed. The option of a twin bedded room which is more comfortable if one is tall, was also offered but not taken. Being a Standard Room it is smaller than other higher categories. There is a cupboard and a luggage rack in the room as well as clothes hooks in the bathroom. The air condition in the room has just been serviced and does not make a sound, being Daikin.
The policy of the hotel is to take payment on check in if you are a walk in guests. If one books online a deposit of one night stay is required. The deposit of Rs.2000 was taken on your check in and with great hesitation was the balance paid for, only on check out. Other rooms were also shown before you checked in and yet you chose the Standard Room seeing what it has to offer. We have encountered a lot of guests who wants a discounted rate and find fault so as not to pay for the services already used.
Nevertheless, be rest assured that we have looked into the matter and will ensure that guests are aware of the rooms they are booking. That is also why we have pictures of all the rooms in our website. And since you walked in and chose your room, we really do not understand the problem. We do understand that the hotel caters most specifically to guests who like to stay in colonial heritage hotels and is not satisfactory to others who prefer a star hotel.
Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Old Courtyard must be experienced to feel the full effect of the charm it is enveloped in. Its doorway is a time machine. It takes one instantly back to the days when God was in Heaven and everything was right with the world.
The food is outstanding. The rooms are well appointed. The service is professional. The pleasant surprise is that the staff are well trained, something you rarely find in Indian establishments.
This is a one of a kind place and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a toilet that has a wooden floor. All rooms are fantastic and unique in their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurian_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very nice hotel in a lovely setting, a lovely historic hotel, very clean and comfortable and incredibly well-restored.spacious and light.This hotel is a lovely little place, only 8 rooms and a comfortable well situated place to stay. A good bathroom with plenty of hot water. the staffs are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tower House
The Tower House
#52 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#34 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#21 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#30 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#28 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Colonial
Le Colonial
#49 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courtyard

Property: The Old Courtyard
Address: Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#25 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Courtyard Hotel is an authentic old Portuguese styled mansion centrally located in Fort Cochin. It has been renovated into a heritage hotel with 8 rooms suiting the architecture of the building. The rooms are furnished in colonial antique furniture on original wooden floors. All rooms are air conditioned, rooms have attached bathrooms, and we provide free wifi in the common areas but may not reach all rooms, laundry, travel desk and other amenities. Old Courtyard Hotel has a Cafe which offers sandwiches, coffee/tea, gelato and pastries. As an eight room property, we try to make the guests'experience more personalized with staff always ready to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Kochi
Kochi Courtyard
The Old Courtyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing