We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace at its best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Ranked #96 of 207 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peace at its best”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The time we planned this trip, i was expecting some city life in Cochin, as rest i knew would be the hill station and beach properties, but to my surprise this was a property very secluded from everything. huge property, was suppose to be a palace but not a very palace palace kind of property , nycly made up hotel, huge gardens all over, and yes waters every where.

We went to this small place just opposite to the entrance (not the gate- entrance leading to reception) there was a small jetty made to anchor small boats and we just sat on the ledge and it was just amazing and serene in front was the peaceful waters and ahead of it was the famous Marine drive road and bridge which we could admire.

Its basically an palace constructed on an island so there is water surrounding everywhere.

There is even a neat pool that people can enjoy, food served was really nice and the buffet was best among all KTDC properties.

IT was a really relaxing stay and trust me peaceful....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemayur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
45
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We walked with expectations of good service and property, but to our astonishment had issue with Air-conditioning not working, hot water supply.
The response from maintenance and reception was very poor.
The property is really good.
Kids enjoyed the stay as we had good time at swimming pool and boat ride.

Room Tip: Plan to stay but be prepared for surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-tip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is housed in a sprawling property and the location is excellent.But in "God's Own Country", devils seem to have been at work to steal this magnificent property of its charm and elegance.The property is not well maintained and the water front adjacent to the cottages was very unclean. Room service and support staff were scarce. However, to my pleasant surprise , the front office staff were found exceptionally courteous, a welcome departure from KTDC's tradition.

Room tariffs were reasonable, may be I got a better deal.

How I wish KTDC to wake from apathy and realise the full potential of this 'gem of a property"

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phalgun_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had a good stay at this place, it is just behind the backwaters and palatial. You need to choose the hotel room wisely though, we had booked a cottage by the water which to my surprise really didn't look as exciting as it sounded. So, we decided to change the rooms to normal deluxe rooms.
The mornings are nice here and very quite, I did not like the buffet spread for lunch though. I mean there were only south indian dishes and we as outsiders would like to have a bit of other stuff as well. Apart from this, everything was quite good, the hotel has a old cottage look and rooms are spacious. I visited the spa as well for a kerala massage which did justice to the money spent. It was one of the best massages I have had in times.
Thats about it ... average but good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeshaTewary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Beautiful location but what a nightmare of a place. I suspect this is run and owned by the state as the gorgeous location and very historic buildings are put to very poor use. I requested a cottage by the water and it turned out to be dirty unkept and had mold. The view is terrible ....some oil refineries but this is not the hotel's fault. But bad and uncaring management is.

Please do not go here except for a day trip just to look around.

Room Tip: Please do not ask for the cottage near the water as it has mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Kerala doesn't have many heavy duty resources of commercial significance outside its well-educated population so it comes as no surprise that tourism should be an attractive card to play in this part of India where human impact would still seem to be 'manageable'.
Kerala Tourism knows the would-be perils of leaving heritage and patrimony in the hands of the private sector and so its KTDC arm is entrusted with looking after the more sensitive fragile properties and corners of the state.
One such property is the oldest Dutch structure outside Holland, the Bolgatti Palace. I felt it might benefit from a label other than 'palace' especially given the more ornate structure to be found over in Fort Cochin known as Dutch Palace.
The approach to the grounds is low key. You will notice more than a few jetties radiating from the 'High Court Jetty' 'marina' for pleasure craft. It is likely you will need to ask several people to establish which of these accommodates the small craft which does the short journey. Should you miss the half hourly service, the hotel is happy to put on its own boat. The princely sum of 4 INR (be sure to have this in coins) will be asked from you for the 4 minute voyage and it won't be obvious how to enter the grounds once you've alighted. You'll soon discover that a security man is stationed at this point of entry and you may even need to get his attention.
Air conditioning will be welcome in the lobby as you are checked in. You have the choice of the relatively new wing just outside the lobby, one of a handful of 'overwater bungalows' or you may want to celebrate in one of the four suites in the actual estate, each named after a Dutch painter and sumptuously furnished.
I chose the duplex bungalows facing the sunset with one of the more difficult holes of the 9 hole course the resort boasts right outside. Sunsets are great in this part of Cochin even if large container crains punctuate the skyline. Another source of amusement will be the many pleasure craft which make a point of the estate turning you also into something of a spectacle. This will be balanced however by more rustic scenes of dugouts gliding by with occupants casting nets. Furnishings are great and you'll appreciate the company of geckos as is de rigeur in the tropics. Definitely ask to be shown the suites over in the estate if you're not already resident there.
Seasonality is a big thing in tourism in Kerala and the month of March sees families with children hunker down with exam preparation. The Europeans have all but gone home and the mercury begins to rise approaching the monsoon in June. By this time it is almost unbearable.
The government is the big benefactor in Kerala and there is plenty of manpower at the resort. You'll come into contact with old-timers such as Bernard, 34 years in service there and the other chambermaids. The restaurant is efficient with well-trained staff equipped to please.

Altogether a great respite from the hustle and bustle of Ernakulum and if you find yourself with a decent week in the Cochin area, you will definitely want to savour the history here. Getting over to Fort Cochin in fact can be done two ways with minimum effort.

You'll appreciate the government as custodian of such precious resources and will find yourself - as I did - quizzing the KTDC on other such properties scattered throughout Kerala.

Room Tip: If at all possible, go for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedi1gree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hotel stays up to reputation and its adjective PALACE.
The rooms are spacious and clean.

Options in food are not many but service is very prompt and polite.

Was surprises to see they were charging for Wi Fi from hotel guests!

Area around the hotel is clean and quiet scenic. Its near to Marine Drive and you can skip the Kochi City traffic if you are heading to airport.

Overall a good option to try within middle of the road budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinaydeshmukh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.2 mi away
Markz Inn - Luxury Business Hotel
7.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
634 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#20 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.5 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort

Property: Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Address: | Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bolgatty Palace is the oldest Dutch Mansion existing outside Holland. The picturesque Bolgatty Island is surrounded by the quaint Chinese fishing nets that take you back in time.The Palace has 4 Palace Suites with the dutch charm in architecture. The Palace dates back to 1744. All suite rooms named after famous painters, the private balcony in Each suite offers a panoramic view to the river.The property has Bolgatty Palace, Bolgatty Island Resort and Marina House situated in the same Island, it is ideal for conducting residential conferences, In house wedding Functions large banquets etc.With the capacity to park more than 500 cars, lush green lawns on both the sides Bolgatty is an excellent host to both tourists as well as banquet functions. Our Banquet Facilities include: A/c Lake Front Hall with Panthal : Capacity: 250 pax theatre style (inside the Hall). Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1500 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 paxOther facilities in the property includes swimming pool, health club, ayuvedic spa, golf course, Boat cruise, airport pick up and drop, Multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, internet, Kathakali program me, beer parlor etc to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Bolgatty Palace Kochi
Bolgatty Palace And Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing