We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful palace, away from Fort Cochin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Ranked #98 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Kanpur, INDIA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful palace, away from Fort Cochin”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The palace dates back to 1744 and though you may not actually stay in it, a walk through its wood panelled corridors and spiral wooden staircase is enough to tranport you to the days of the scheming Dutchmen and colluding kings. The palace has been restored beautifully.
The resort is a great place to unwind if you donot miss the bustle of Ernakulum or the quaintness of Fort Cochin.
The property is spread over a large area with soecracular views of the international container terminal and the marina. The swimming pool is clean and well kept.
The rooms are large with an attached verandah and a large, modern bathroom. The food is good though I would have liked the menu to contain more local dishes. A large breakfast is served every morning.
Travelling to Fort Cochin is not as easy as the hotel website suggests. There are no direct public ferrires to Fort Cochin. You will need to take a ferry from the small jetty just outside the property to Erbakulum high court, walk 15 mins to the main jetty and then take a ferry to Fort Cochin. Coming back may be trickier as there are no ferries after 5.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit_Basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
45
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we cameacorss this place by chance and booked it. we were given a cottage built atop the sea. we could hear the water lashing the cottage at night. the food was good and the palce clean. however it is a little desrted and can scrae you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayuri_Srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The place displays such a heritage and royalty in every piece in it. Service was terrible right from the enquiry of rooms or for negotiation, management should make sure to give the staff proper training and to show the right attitude. We had to book ourselves at ABAD only because of the above

Room Tip: Ask for the managers and inquire for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strizhanov a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had a night stay at this hotel.. The property is good with clean rooms and all but the service is really bad.. Since the employees are government staff they feel that they are the king of that palace... They are very lazy and you will get a no for all your questions first... Then after a fight they will come and do whatever you want... They feel very lazy to deliver the food ordered to your room.... The food is not up to the mark for what we pay.. the rooms are very small... WIFI is chargeable...

I thought the issue was only for myself and my friends but in the morning I saw a North Indian family fighting at the restaurant for serving South Indian food, and the comment from the staff was since it is complimentary food they wont mention the menu...

Room Tip: My experience was very bad so no comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SankPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice old property (built in 1744), maintained it very well. Lovely old age charm maintained. Situated in Bolgatty Island, you can enjoy Backwater from the property, actually 3 side of the property is surrounded by water.

We have stayed in the palace Suite. Nothing can be better and bigger than this. I have stayed in lot of good hotels, but nothing comparable to the size of the Palace Suite, it should be around approx. 2000 sq. ft of Suite, consist of Veranda, Drawing room (Huge in size), luggage room and Bedroom. The Bathroom was big enough to make a 1 BHK flat in Mumbai standards (not exaggerating). A must stay in the Palace Suite.

The Resort have Spa, mini Golf course, Swimming pool, Beer and Wine Bar.....

F&B is pathetic, breakfast spread consist of 3 items....its a Management fault...you need extra effort to mismanage this type of property. As this is managed by KTDC (owned and managed by Government) so no body is there to take care of the hospitality side of the stay. They don't bother to give a good hospitality experience to the Guests. Other wise how much it costs to include extra 3-4 items in the Breakfast buffet menu.

A must visit place for a life time experience.

Room Tip: Palace Suite (even if you have to cut short a day in your trip to save overall money), it will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sougata12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It has spectacular location on the tip of Bolgatty Island which adds to the ambience of this hotel. It is a lovingly restored eighteenth century Dutch Palace, which was later the British Residency. Facilities like golf, spa, bar, swimming pool and much more are available here.
The rates are bit high, but the service satisfies you. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A must stay if you can afford it.! I was lucky to get on of the cottages overlooking the backwaters and the experience was stunning. Waking up to the view that made you feel you were surrounded by water, the courteous staff, the good wine cellar, and the view makes Bolgatty a stunning place. A Dutch palace rebuilt into an hotel, it has a superb pool and staff who were kind enough to arrange an early morning boat ride to pull off a surprise that I intended. A brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: Cottages.! Def the cottages..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
7.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
641 reviews
3.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#18 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
833 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,996 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort

Property: Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Address: | Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bolgatty Palace is the oldest Dutch Mansion existing outside Holland. The picturesque Bolgatty Island is surrounded by the quaint Chinese fishing nets that take you back in time.The Palace has 4 Palace Suites with the dutch charm in architecture. The Palace dates back to 1744. All suite rooms named after famous painters, the private balcony in Each suite offers a panoramic view to the river.The property has Bolgatty Palace, Bolgatty Island Resort and Marina House situated in the same Island, it is ideal for conducting residential conferences, In house wedding Functions large banquets etc.With the capacity to park more than 500 cars, lush green lawns on both the sides Bolgatty is an excellent host to both tourists as well as banquet functions. Our Banquet Facilities include: A/c Lake Front Hall with Panthal : Capacity: 250 pax theatre style (inside the Hall). Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1500 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 paxOther facilities in the property includes swimming pool, health club, ayuvedic spa, golf course, Boat cruise, airport pick up and drop, Multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, internet, Kathakali program me, beer parlor etc to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Bolgatty Palace Kochi
Bolgatty Palace And Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing