We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Peacefull stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Ranked #95 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and Peacefull stay”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bolghatty is an island connected to the main land by a bridge. We got into the resort at 1:00. They allowed to late check-in.
We got a cottage by the water boady. At was clean but quite old.
We wanted some peacefull stay with some good breeze. The evenings and nights were good. Nothing much to do in the morning. Food is okay. There was a a golf course nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
45
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is at good location and view is nice. But, staff was not very efficient and service was poor. Food was disappointing, there was no variety and quality was poor. We got a medium size room, decently maintained, not great. Overall experience was not very good.

Room Tip: Take this hotel only if you are getting good discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recommend this hotel due to over eight stays over several years.
We are welcomed like family.
Choices of foods are prepared at our request if the buffet choice is not preferred.
The pool and pool boy are fantastic, friendly and with excellent English.

The hotel is in a gorgeous setting,if you wish peace and quiet and a low key relaxing holiday come here.
Get the hotel small boat to the shops, pizza hut off MG road or if you wnat western type food try The OVEN for lovely fresh pizza, cakes and sandwiches, diet coke, mango , milkshakes, 8 years of visits here and never sick.

Give it a go.

I recommend it highly, general manager a very nice man, reception staff helpful, restaurant staff very good especially managers.

Jacqui from Tunbridge Wells

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to Palace suite, what an experience or at least ask to look at it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haywardgant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

KTDC is not providing good service in Kochi, nothing to see there. No customers available so whatever package is listed, nothing is available. Expensive package and not at all exciting experience. Located in very nice environment but hotel cannot handle more customers at a time. Service is very poor, less people can handle customer request. They are struggling to provide good service. They could have provide Kerala traditional food instead of trying to provide North Indian food. Food was really not good especially Roti. Hot water was not available and Kochi nothing more than a city where riksha guys are ready to take you for a ride as you do not understand the language.

Not so good experience of this travel and waste of money to journey.

Room Tip: Rooms are of good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
thank you very much for your critical review. It was quite unfortunate that you had some unpleasant experience at the hotel. here at Bolgatty we arrange sight seeing trips in and around Kochi, Boat Cruises health club etc are available. we are extremely sorry that there was some issue with the hot water inlet connection which is rectified now. still we understand the inconvenience caused to you can not be undone. and we heartily apologize for the same. from your review we understand that the availability of staff to meet your requirements were limited and we will take every possible step to ensure that the same do not happen with any of our guests any more.

we take your comment on food positively and would include more of Kerala delicacies to add to the pallet. we do have a travel desk whereby we arrange trips to various places and the drivers being engaged are bilingual. we are extremely sorry that you had unpleasant experience with the auto drivers in the city.

it is our humble request that in your next visit to Cochin kindly consider Bolgatty tou feel the positive change that has come to effect because of your comments. we are sure that you will have a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Spent 4 enjoyable days at this lovely hotel in a peaceful and beautiful setting. Rooms were large and well maintained, balcony to the lagoon - serene.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for those kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Here at Bolgatty we are striving hard to meet the guests' expectations and to deliver to the maximum of our ability.

We are happy that you liked the spacious rooms and balcony with the panoramic view to the river.

look forward to have you here again with us. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is a transformed old governor's palace, we had a really huge and comfortable room in the old main biuilding. The hotel is on a green island with beautiful trees and sights on old Kochin. The restaurant we found to be rather modest, the dinner buffet was below Indian standards by choice and taste. The site is quite far away from the city center....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfgang s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for the comments. Bolgatty Palace is our prestigious property where we have 4 suite rooms and a board room. built in 1744, Place still emits its charm.

we are thankful for the comments you made on our premises and facilities. we take your comments on food positively and would definitely improve on the food standards as you have mentioned.

thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel for only 1 night before leaving to allepy next morning.
The Hotel property is Good & well maintained .
Rooms are spacious & food is good
Views from the resort is good also the pool is good
Staff were courtious & helpfull , had no problem arranging my transfers to Allepy on a short notice

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for the time you have spared for us. We really appreciate the fact that even though you had only a single night stay at Bolgatty before proceeding to Alleppey, you have offered your views on us.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you appreciate our property,rooms and the service.

Please do visit us with a more prolonged holidays, which will help us to offer you more of our care and attention and for you to explore the wonderful city of Cochin with all its charm.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
2.9 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#45 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.4 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#179 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Aquatic Floating Resort
Aquatic Floating Resort
#70 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel PGS Vedanta
Hotel PGS Vedanta
#44 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#34 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort

Property: Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort
Address: | Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace and Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bolgatty Palace is the oldest Dutch Mansion existing outside Holland. The picturesque Bolgatty Island is surrounded by the quaint Chinese fishing nets that take you back in time.The Palace has 4 Palace Suites with the dutch charm in architecture. The Palace dates back to 1744. All suite rooms named after famous painters, the private balcony in Each suite offers a panoramic view to the river.The property has Bolgatty Palace, Bolgatty Island Resort and Marina House situated in the same Island, it is ideal for conducting residential conferences, In house wedding Functions large banquets etc.With the capacity to park more than 500 cars, lush green lawns on both the sides Bolgatty is an excellent host to both tourists as well as banquet functions. Our Banquet Facilities include: A/c Lake Front Hall with Panthal : Capacity: 250 pax theatre style (inside the Hall). Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1500 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 paxOther facilities in the property includes swimming pool, health club, ayuvedic spa, golf course, Boat cruise, airport pick up and drop, Multi cuisine restaurant, coffee shop, internet, Kathakali program me, beer parlor etc to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Bolgatty Palace Kochi
Bolgatty Palace And Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing