We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Welcoming Homestay :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aroma Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aroma Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Warm & Welcoming Homestay :)”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Such a lovely welcoming family, Joseph and Elizabeth are such genuine caring people who are interested in their visitors and enjoy sharing stories and information about Fort Kochi and the Kerala area. The Homestay itself was very clean and tidy, I stayed in a front room with a balcony which had air-con, ceiling fan and an en-suite and was very comfortable. The homestay is situated in a very convenient spot, walking distance to most of the main sites.
As a solo traveller I felt very at home and safe at Aroma and in Fort Kochi. Joseph and Elizabeth went out of there way to provide exceptional service with daily home cooked local meals (delicious) and organised a yoga lesson for me with a great local instructor and escorted me all the way to the door so I wouldn't get lost! :) There is also a very good and affordable Ayurveda massage place straight across the road.
I had a fantastic stay here and would highly recommend Aroma Homestay to anyone travelling to Kochi who is looking for that authentic warm and welcoming family homestay.

Room Tip: Front room with balcony as very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
43
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was so lucky to come across Aroma Homestay. After a long night bus trip from Pondichery Joseph and Elisabeth were there to welcome me.

As a solo traveler It was just what I needed at the biginning of my trip in India a place where I felt home and secure. In additions Joseph and Elisabeth were very helpful regarding places to visit Munnar, Allepey, the backwaters... The traditional Kerala breakfast was delicious ! and it was nice to share it with oher guests.. Genuine, hospitality conviviality and kindness... I have really appreciate. my stay in this Homestay and I recomand it to everyone.

Joseph and Elizabeth were kind enough to keep one of my heavy luggage so I could carry on my journey through India with more lightness and freedom.. So many thanks to you I feel so grateful !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromahomestay, Manager at Aroma Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Jacqueline and we appreciate you for sparing your precious time to give us your review.
Elizabeth and Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We went for short trip to Cochi and stayed for two nights. The rooms are fine and very clean! Breakfast with local specialities offered by the owners them self. Du to some personal issues we had to visit hospital. The host family including grandmother and the son offered great support! We enjoyed the stay and would definitely choose Aroma again!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeorgSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromahomestay, Manager at Aroma Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Georg and we appreciate you for sparing your precious time to give us your review.
Elizabeth and Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudiksvall, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in Aroma Homstay for a week february 2014. It was perfect situated for exploring Cochin,, easy to take the ferry to Ernakulam. Every morning we were served a localstyle breakfast, different every day. The hostes also told us a lot about India and Kerala during breakfast, interesting talks.. Joseph and Elisabeth helpt us to plan and book our continius journey. On their recomendation we went to Munnar in the mountains, it was unforgettable. We felt realy cared for and the room were wery clean and confortable..We strongly recommende this place!

Jerker and Elisabet

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromahomestay, Manager at Aroma Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Jerker and Elisabet we appreciate you for sparing your precious time to give us your review.
Elizabeth and Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I am writing this review as a comment to the new visitors to Keral.
I was visiting Keral for first time in late March. I found Aroma home stay with its best reviews online. Stayed there for 2 days, its near INS Dronacharya.
Newly constructed clean rooms, AC available, free wifi, hot water, no parasites,home made keral breakfast complementary, Beach near by, safety at most and the host Joseph and Elizabeth are wonderful. First this couple booked room only on a call commitment, secondly they dint make any of us feel like visitors there, third I came late to Aroma home stay after dinner then too host Joseph was awake and came to help us parking our vehicle, each single time they made sure to comfort us, help us suggest ways, roads, auto bargaining, and keral recepies.
I was amazed that they sleep late, guard property, and wake up early and serve breakfast by 8am. I loved Elizabeth the way she served an expecting lady at breakfast.
its a great idea for any couple or family or irresponsible friends you can stay at Aroma Home Stay, so that if you skip anything the host Joseph and Elizabeth are there, you can count on them.

Room Tip: Check local connections of your host. Take a few views for places, but don't worry much keral l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigyasa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromahomestay, Manager at Aroma Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Jigyasa and we appreciate you for sparing your precious time to give us your review.
Elizabeth and Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights, a fornight ago, Joseph arranged a pick up from the airport for us.
Our airliner lost our luggage and Joseph was very helpful when we arrived phoning the airline to arrange delivery. Joseph and Elisabeth couldnt do enouph to help, I couldnt have asked for better hoasts, they made us feel so welcome. The rooms are clean and the beds comfertable.
Joseph did everything he could to make our stay pleasant, arranging transportation (including a Royal Enfield bike). Elisabeths cooking was excellent, a differnet local dish each morning, and sitting round their large breakfast table swapping stories with other travellers and Joseph was good fun.
The location is perfect, a few minutes walk from most places in Fort Kochi. A very nice friendly place- a perfect place to start our trip from

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromahomestay, Manager at Aroma Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Katherine and we appreciate you for sparing your precious time to give us your review.
Elizabeth and Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toelloese, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a place! The perfect HOME stay. The whole family is taking care of every single guest as if it was close familly. A very speciel atmosphere because it means that all the guests get to know each other and a lot of interesthing talks and discussions take place around the table during the common breakfast - cooked by the grandmother.
We had breakfast for hours - so thank you to the other guests - Patrick, the canadiens, the couple at honeymoon and certainly to Elisabeth and Joseph - our hosts - and the grandparents.
If you dont want to to talk to other guests or if you dont want to be greeted with interest - dont go! This is a place of mutual interest.
We hope to get back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aromahomestay, Manager at Aroma Homestay, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Lise and we appreciate you for sparing your precious time to give us your review.
Elizabeth and Joseph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#18 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroma Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroma Homestay

Property: Aroma Homestay
Address: 1/1469(1) | Opp. St. Antony's Chappel, Near Pattalam Market, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aroma Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kochi is the commercial capital of Kerala and is also crowned as "Queen of Arabian Sea" because of its stunning beauty and charm which will take any tourist by surprise.Kochi is not only famous for its hospitality but also for the finest natural harbour in the world.Aroma Home Stay is located in the charming residential area of Fort Kochi with walking distance to the key attractions. We have 4 European style bath attached double rooms with a/c and non a/c, a spacious living room and dining area. 2 rooms have individual front faced balcony on the first floor and also a lovely open terrace, suitable for your yoga practice, meditation and watching the beautiful sky at night.An ideal accommodation for tourists,vacation families and individuals,Aroma home stay is easily accessible from Kochi International airport,Central Railway station,and Bus station .With transport facilities by auto rickshaw right in front of the house and tourist taxi at 24 hours on call ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aroma Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aroma Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing