We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Place”
Review of No.18 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No.18 Hotel
Ranked #77 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy Place”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, in a De Lux room, there was not that much luxury in this room. Apart from that our room was very noisy, according to the duty manager this was because of the fan of the kitchen, this one was running almost 24x7. Also our neighbours, this of course is not the fault of the hotel, were very noisy. In the two days I called about 10 times to the reception with complains. also clean bath towels were only available after 18:00hr PM. Also the staff forgot to clean up the roomservice plates, glasses, they we about 2 days infront of our room door. Last but not least... The breakfast is very limited, a 12 years old boy was serving us, he didn't understand one word of the English language. Our advice....please avoid going to this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Don't take any room above the kitchen area, this due to noise of the kitchen fan's . If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renjithjacob, General Manager at No.18 Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear,

We apologies for the inconvenience occurred during your stay. We as a family,No.18 always wants the guest to be happy during their stay with us,But we failed the same in your case.

We admit the mistake that we never suited your expectation and the complaints mentioned in has been clearly noted and is under the maintenance department. They are working on the same to rectify the problem about the noise you had mentioned.

Also we came to know that the housekeeping never supplied your requirement on time.We have checked the log and was surprised to see that your need was not taken care properly.

As a result of the inconvenience occurred to you we would like to invite you to No.18 Hotel on your next visit to fort kochi, just to make sure that the complaints you have mentioned has been rectified properly. For this we offer you a complimentary stay for a night (depanding on the availability of the room from the period 2014- till March 2015.

You can visit us any time during this by sending a mail prior in the following mail id.
gm@no18.co.in

look forward to meet you in person on your next visit to Fort Kochi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
30
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a good hotel as far as the rooms and service go. However, the lobby is not air conditioned nor the area where you go to use a computer. Most of all, the restaurant wasn't air conditioned. Otherwise, it is really nice, clean and close to everything.

The small cafe is great for snacks, ice cream, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renjithjacob, General Manager at No.18 Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear,

We thank you the review and we really regret for the inconvenience happened to you during your stay. The air condition in the lobby and Raintree Restaurant was under maintenance during your stay. We understand your concern and we request you to kindly contact us in the mail id gm@no18.co.in , We would like to offer you a reward programme for your next visit. We are doing the maintanance of the aircondition and it will be all ready by the next 15 days.


look forward to see you back here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fatehgarh, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is one of the finest dining place in india. The ambience is nice and its clean. The food is the one which runs away with the trophy. it is mouth watering as well as delicious. We were there on the 5th and 6th of Aug 2013. We tasted variety of dishes. All were extremely delicious. You can try any cuisine and i guarantee perfection. Value for money at all fronts. The staff is courteous.
one request , if you are only dining there make it a point to meet Renjith Jacob, asst. general manager. Talk to him about fort kochi. His knowledge is vast and handy for travellers. See the Rain tree shown by Renjith and be mesmerized.
THE HOTELS ASSETS ARE THEIR CHEF, RENJITH & BENGALI LADY ON RECEPTION.
This restaurant is in the NO.18 HOTEL. You cannot miss it in Fort kochi. You will cross it many times while sight seeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fgrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came here after some rough nights in Monsoon ravished southern Kerala. It was like an oasis in the rains. Beautiful clean beds, friendly and helpful staff (who upgraded us as soon as they realised we needed a third bed) and great food a plenty - even in the Monsoon times. Try the Date and Banana roll from Friends cafe...open late. No.18's location is right in the heart - see all of the main attractions in a full day, you can walk to most of them...
And if you see an LPG tuk-tuk: driver named Shahir T.S C.7317 (Obama) make sure you jump on board.
The down side is that it perhaps does not have the magic views of some, nor a pool, so maybe a little better suited to the one or two night stay.

Room Tip: Best rooms, top north west corner, but it could be a little noisey for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great Hotel, clean and tidy, staff very helpfull, conveniently positioned to town, rooms spacious, meals in both cafe and restaurant were great, WIFI should be included in the price though, that was my only complaint. Oh and the BEST pillows in India.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just one night, for new year, and it was a relaxing and rejuvenating experience.

Location is on the crossroads in town, a couple of minutes walk to main square and Chinese nets or the bustling streets with cafes. We had a great view onto everything from our large glass windows.

The staff were excellent, spoke very good English and were smartly and beautifully dressed.

Rooms were large with very comfy bed and luxury fittings, bathroom was well appointed.

There was a good breakfast selection with both western and Indian options.

Overall the feel was formal and more of a business hotel; as tourists, for the money we paid, we would probably have gone to one of the more atmospheric hotels along the harbour front, but there were no vacancies.

I feel the value for money is about right as the quality of hotel is far above average for Kerala.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavern, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Situated in the centre of Fort Kochi there' a few minutes walk to all interesting sites and restaurants. 18 is top modern hotel with all facilities and a top notch staff to help and serve. Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SvenR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#57 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#71 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#181 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#87 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.18 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.18 Hotel

Property: No.18 Hotel
Address: 18 K B Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — No.18 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style business hotel with sublime luxury, elegance and sense of majesty situated at the colonial capital of God's own country, blissfully awaiting you. Located in the heart of Fort Kochi, on a serene stretch of coastline No 18 provides a wonderful stay in its 27 deluxe rooms and one suite room. Relax yourself in the backwaters dotted with Chinese fishing nets and many more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your No.18 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.18 Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing