We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Shravanam Greens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shravanam Greens
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We probably went there with very high expectation considering the many reviews we'd read or the places we'd stayed earlier (Windermere & Gingerhill Nest) were so great that it was difficult to meet up to them. Anyways, cos of all this we'd actually rate this place as Good, but since it was definitely better than average, we stuck to very good.

The boating inside the homestay in the country boat and later paddle boat was a great experience, esp. since it was my son's first time in a country boat and it took him a while to get his comfort zone.

The design of the place is really good. The house overlooks a the shrimp pond (??) which sort of forms a connection with the back water. However, the landing wood was in bad condition, one of the planks broke when my hubby stood on it and another was shaky scaring my, already not so confident, child for a bit.

The veranda of our room had an excellent view of the back water on one side and of somebody's backyard on the other. The room when we were in it had a lot of disturbance from the neighborhood sounds, which was not the most pleasant experience - well we face enough of it in regular life and magically hope not to during vacations i guess, even if we stay in homestays! The AC conked off sometime in the night leading to a not so great sleep till we opened the windows and realized the air outside was much cooler & pleasant :-) (big duh moment while half asleep)

The food, was just about ok for us.. Last two words are more impt, I'm mallu and am blessed with an excellent cook for a mother, hence am very clear about how each dish is to taste, it didnt meet up. Though Indu did say that it was because it was made mainly to suit the western palate.

In summation, despite all the lacks, I'd still rate the place good, because of the people factor. Indu and her staff, unfortunately forgot their names are GREAT people. One of the guys took us out on the country boat and (with great daring) handed over the paddle to my husband and got on to the island in the middle. Poor guy stood there smiling patiently while we were trying to get back to the island to pick him up again, giving instructions on how and where to paddle. Indu also decided to deduct some amount from the bill cos of the AC trouble - voluntarily without our asking for it.

Room Tip: 1st floor - right from the steps, i woudn't recommend, due to reasons given in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veena-Kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shravanam_Greens, Owner at Shravanam Greens, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you Veena for the review. Hope it will definitely help the Mallus :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the Shravanam Greens villa in Cochin, Kerala. It has been a beautiful two weeks stay there. We were fortunate enough to experience mouth watering authentic local cuisine, prepared by two talented chefs at the villa. One memorable experience was fishing at the resort, and having the fish cooked as a meal which was a unique experience for me, and one of the highlights of my stay here. The scenery was absolutely inspiring. Highly recommended to anyone who hasn't visited this part of India. Definitely should give it a go, you won't be disappointed. Many some wonderful friends, which will keep for forever. Please do check it out if you haven't done it yet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shravanam_Greens, Owner at Shravanam Greens, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much Didi :)

Is the second chef indu? :) Really happy to see that you enjoyed the stay here, our Traditional Kerala dishes. Thanks for recommending as South india & Kerala are still unknown to most people outside India. Please tell your friends too...

See you next year :)

Loving regards
Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

we stayed there for about a week and occupied two suites with 5 people. indu and her staff have been very helpful with all wishes we had, beginning with the search for a tailor, organizing auto rickshaws, and even a place were our daughters could fulfill their wishes like getting a nose piercing safely and driving with rahseeh on the motorbike.
there is a nice badminton court in the middle of the house, which was a fantastic playground especially for arthur and me. indu showed us how to wear saree and we were allowed to join her preparing those wonderful kerala dishes. all in all, an experience not to be toped!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shravanam_Greens, Owner at Shravanam Greens, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much Karin :)

You have mentioned everything, not a single event missed:)

You were such a lovely family that we wish you were with us a few more days:) Giving cooking lessons to you & Andreas was a pleasure, Andreas being a quick learner :) We still remember little Arthur having his lessons here :)

Piercing nose of Zorah & Luisa in traditional way helped us to give the service to more guests here this season, thanks :)

Hope to meet you all on your next visit too...

Loving regards
Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We experienced a unique and completely awesome stay at the Shravanam Greens. Comfortable and welcoming, the staff is accommodating and the rooms clean and private. Located on the backwaters; the views from the rooms are sublime.
It is located near the beach and the all the Fort Kochi attractions but is secluded and private so you get the best of all worlds. We took day trips and really felt we were seeing the real Kerala.
We worried about the bathrooms and food and need not worried about either. The bathrooms were clean and well functioning so each morning we could take a refreshing shower. Food was outstanding with a variety of South Indian staples served with a very personal touch. Could not have asked for no better.
Indu and Ragesh worked with us and set us up with a driver and comfortable car/van to take us wherever we wanted and we enjoyed visiting the falls and all the historical temples, churches and mosques in the area. It was really great, the way they worked with us and made sure we saw what we were interested in but also was very forthcoming with suggestions and recommendations.
It is a quiet, comfortable resort that permitted us to see Kerala in an intimate way and enjoy ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: There really is not a bad room in this resort, but we took the rooms facing the back waters and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edvard28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was a beautiful way to end a lovely but hectic holiday. The property is about 30 minutes away from Cochin airport and close to Cherai beach. It's very well maintained and with spectacular views. Indu designed the house with great thought . It has lovely backyard with a huge pond that backs into the backwaters,lovely terraces where you can gently sway In a swing. Indu made every attempt to make it very comfortable and enjoyable. We were asked in advance for our food choices. Indus's fried fish ,prawn curry,fresh from her own farm,was a great hit. Although our stay was short , we enjoyed a beautiful sunrise with our morning coffee and watched a spectacular sunset with a large beer! Indu and Ragesh were most knowledgeable and gave us every assistance to make our stay comfortable. Ragesh personally accompanied us to town as our shopping guide and also helped us getting a booking for some oil massages at Cherai Beach! Our overall experience was so very positive and we highly recommend Shravana Greens. We would love to come back for a more longer stay.

Room Tip: If you choose first floor, there is a huge badminton court to play! But if you choose the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ananth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shravanam_Greens, Owner at Shravanam Greens, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you Ananth & Hema for the beautiful depiction of Shravanam Greens :)

Hope next time you stay for long & have oil massage here itself :) For cooking, the credit goes to my great cook Rajamma Chechi too.

Please come again...

Thanks
Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I thank Almighty, Ed Reilly and Parjit for extending this great opportunity so I could come to Cochin and stay with you in this wonderful little haven called Shravanam Greens. You have proved yourself as an excellent hostess in that everything that we expected has been taken care of. Thanks for bringing us close to Mother Nature in your own unique style and venture. Shravanam Greens is more like describing a (beautiful) human being with a beautiful body and soul. The Black Waters fortified with a complete canopy of coconut trees - the herbs and medicinal plants growing anywhere and everywhere as if breathing healthy life into it. Thanks for providing this wonderful experience- we will remember you and miss you and this fabulous place. Interacting with you and your team - Ragesh, Chechi- has been simply great and greatly knowledgeable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Damanjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shravanam_Greens, Owner at Shravanam Greens, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you Didi for your Woderful Review :) Hope this will help the travellers looking for such a place & us too!

Please come again with family...

Thanks once again...

Regards
Indu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Indu, Ragesh and Chechi are the heart of this wonderful place. It is the most well kept home stays with a reflection of the traditional culture in the building architecture and décor. Indu and Chechi pour their heart and soul into the home cooked food and create the most sumptuous keralite meal, they'll even go out of their way all times at your request. Ragesh is well acquainted about tourist places around the corner and is no doubt one of the best guides. The badminton court is awesome and we couldn't stop playing the game untill late night. Enjoy this location lazing around, relaxing or reading and you will make a memory for a life time just like us...! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vibhavari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.8 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
96 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 33 in Ernakulam
444 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
18 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
6.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shravanam Greens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shravanam Greens

Address: Kedamangalam, Near Cherai | North Paravur, Kochi (Cochin) 683513, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 489 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $50 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shravanam Greens is a Waterfront Homestay, 50min drive (25kms) from Cochin International Airport, set in a picturesque location in the midst of a coconut grove with its own pond for fishing/ boating. It is designed as a "Nalukettu" in Traditional Kerala style with a Center court (Badminton court here) rooms around & with lots of Wood, Terracotta and Brass. Lord Ganesha is everywhere in different styles, different forms & materials. Traditional Kerala food is served here - rice, lot of vegetables with coconut n fresh fish cooked in traditional ways. Cherai beach, one of Kerala's longest n cleanest beaches is only 6kms from here. We suggest "Start your Indian tour from South India from Shravanam Greens! You may leave your winter clothing here and get them back at the end of your journey on your way back home". We arrange package tours & one day trips to Fort Kochi, Athirappally Waterfalls, Munnar, Water theme Park & House boat at Alleppey. Also Country boat ride in local Backwaters... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shravanam Greens Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing