We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
kerala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the 8th Bastion for 3 nights in the beginning of May with our 2 children. Well, right from our check in we were very well looked after. The ambience of the hotel is great, the hospitality and service of the well trained staff were immaculate.Our room (103, if i remember right) was large,tastefully done with a large balcony. The location is peaceful with a short walk to the beach. The breakfast spread was good and the à la carte was also sumptous. They make a killer sea food soup- one to die for. Our family would like to thank you- Johnny, Eldho, Joseph, Babu and all the rest of the staff for the wonderful time we experienced. Love to return sometime....

Room Tip: 103, the best for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    98
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
56
178
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The rooms are clean & spacious.. The hotel is very close to chinese fishing nets. The swimming pool is clean & well maintained. The breakfast served on table was good.The food was very good. The rooms are simple yet stylish. The staff is helpful. They don't serve liquor though. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanjanaVijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your nice experience at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the stay, food, service, location and staff.

We will shortly be receiving the government approval for the alcohol license.

Warm regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the 8th Bastion recently for two nights and truly enjoyed the experience. Being managed by the CGH group, we received what we expected...immaculate service. The location is perfect....very close to the sea yet away from the crowd. So ideally located that we spent a lot of time walking around the old town of Fort Kochi. The rooms were perfect, very comfortable and luxurious and we also had a sea view. There was a slight problem with the cab pick-up service but everything else more than made up for it. The in-house restaurant serves great food and I shall review that separately. Would love to go back and stay for a longer duration.

Room Tip: Any front facing room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyoti-and-Kakoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Great location, few minutes walk to the fishing nets and all the restaurants. The rooms are big, clean and we had a nice big bathroom with one of those fancy showers. The staff was very friendly, helpful and proffessional. The only downfall was that the breakfast was slightly disappointing. My pancake was undercooked and the croissants deep fried.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are pleased to read about your nice experience at Eighth Bastion.

We have made a note of your feedback on break fast. This matter has been taken up with our Chef and you have my assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future. .

Thank you for your valuable feedback.


Regards,

Johny Peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion, A CGH Earth Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Eighth Bastion bears the same level of quality of other CGH hotels. That means the place is clean, the staff is helpful and well trained, the food is very good and the rooms are decorated in a manner that's at the same time simple and stylish. What I liked about Eighth Bastion was the relaxed and unpretentious design, as well as the central, easy to find location. Would definitely repeat the experience.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in one of the second floor rooms - they tend to be more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaía P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the stay, food, service, location and staff.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in our hotel for another memorable holiday.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was just great - centrally situated, quiet, beautifully appointed - unique bathroom - very obliging staff, but best of all, on a package tour this hotel offered a la carte meals beautifully presented, attentively served and a wonderful unique fusion of French and Indian. The young chef and waiting staff deserve extra pay, great tips and promotions!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are happy to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the hotel.

Am happy to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

i am really sad that i got to spend only 1 night in this wonderful hotel despite my reservation for 2 days. me and my wife with our infant checked into this hotel on 16th march and were due to return again for 20th march, but had to cancel because of some reasons. Anyways... as for the hotel.. it is in fort kochi, an excellent old portugese town, preserved the way it should be. The hotel is equipped with all modern facilities yet retains the boutique charm in its interiors. Got a very warm welcome, with an excellent juice as an welcome drink, extreamly comfortable bed, a nice sit out.. and the best part the bathroom.. very nice... hats off to the person who has done the interiors. The staff was very polite and courteous. The only reason it misses out on being excellent is because of the food, which i would say didnt suit my palate, had lunch there which was not satisfactory...but again.. wouldn't say its food is bad as the restaurant East Indies is ranked 11 out of 400 restaurants in kochi... my guess is the food is made to suit the foreign palate.. as they are the max residents of the hotel...also the second point is that a tv should be there in the room as the town shuts at 10... and one needs some extra recreation on a holiday....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the welcome, stay and service at the hotel. We have made a note of your feedback on food and TV in the room.This matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and you have my assurance that you will have no cause for such a comment in the future. .

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in our hotel for another memorable holiday.

Regards,
Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion A CGH EARTH Experience Hotels
johnypeter@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighth Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighth Bastion Hotel

Property: Eighth Bastion Hotel
Address: 259 Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eighth Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth Bastion is a brand new luxury boutique hotel managed by the CGH Earth Group in Fort Cochin, Kerala. The hotel has 19 comfortable rooms all designed in a Dutch Nautical theme including replicas of ancient Dutch war Boats and Canons. The restaurant is creole fusion with local flavors. The hotel also has a swimming pool, bar and a tea lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eighth Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eighth Bastion Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing