We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We loved this hotel. The location is peaceful but an easy walk to most of the sights of Fort Cochi. The rooms are tasteful, huge and spotlessly clean, and bed was the most comfortable we had in our whole trip. The bathroom was unique with gorgeous natural toiletries in terracotta pots - a lovely touch. Breakfast was very nice with good coffee and homemade bread. All the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous.

Our only negative was that the welcome when we arrived very early (5am) left a lot to be desired. We fully expected that we wouldn't be able to check in, but we weren't offered a seat or drink, or any alternative other than heading out into Fort Kochi to wander after having travelled for nearly 24hrs. We had informed them of our expected arrival time, but they seemed unprepared. Thankfully when we reappeared at 9am the welcome was far more warm, and a room was ready for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger_charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Sir,

We are happy to read your review of your wonderful stay at Eighth Bastion.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your early check- in at our hotel. It is unfortunate that your early check- in was not as relaxed as we would have liked it to be, and we have made a note of your feedback.The matter has been taken up with the concerned personnel and we assure you a very warm welcome on your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback and compliments of the hotel.

Warm regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 366 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

What can you say,food, location, room, comfort, staff everything first class. One of the best hotels we stayed in on our recent trip to India. Food breakfast and dinner were both first class along with the friendly service. You felt that you were really being looked after. The rooms are furnished tastefully and the beds are very comfortable. Great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletch010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your nice experience at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the stay, food, service, location and staff.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in our hotel for another memorable holiday.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

had lunch with family by the lawns. outstanding food with every food item coming fresh from chef. the dutch connection of the property has painstakingly been enhanced by the developer. also had a walk around through some of the tastefully done rooms. the greatest surprise was that my 80 year old father, with fairly rigid tastes when it comes to food, had a whale of a time sampling various dishes. that was probably the must he has eaten in a long time. a memorable afternoon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floydisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and the lunch experience with family at East Indies Restaurant.

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for. It is very much rewarding for the team at Eighth Bastion to realize that their warm, professional and friendly service very much contributed towards your stay and food experience.

Am happy to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a very convenient hotel if you want to walk to see the Chinese fishing nets or local shops etc. I enjoyed the pool. My husband didn't like the fact that it had no licence. The bathroom was the most amazing hotel bathroom- floor to ceiling clear windows overlooking a private courtyard garden, a sunken bath and just about every toileterie you can imagine as well as the usual shower gel & shampoo there was a spare toothbrush & toothpaste, comb,etc etc the only thing missing was a plug for the washbasin!

Room Tip: Perhaps not one near reception as we were woken early one morning by a group of French guests leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest, We are pleased to read about your nice experience at Eighth Bastion. Thank you for your appreciation about the hotel and bathroom.

We will shortly be receiving the government approval for the alcohol license.

Warm regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is one of the newest in the CGH Earth Group, and it was my first time staying at this group's properties. I was thoroughly impressed with the level of detail this boutique hotel had compared to others I have stayed at. It is conveniently located in Fort Kochi with the shops and beach a short walk away. The hotel even has quite a few bicycles that you can take out if you are not comfortable walking. The food at the hotel restaurant is worth a try too. During our stay, the chef even prepared special meals for us since we had a few dietary restrictions.

Room Tip: Request a room with pool view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting this informative review on our hotel. We are most thankful for the valuable feedback on your experience during "kochi biennale". I am happy to note that the special meals and services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience
johnypeter@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

12 months ago I stayed in this hotel and gave it a glowing review, however on a recent visit things had changed, firstly the continually promised license has not arrived, but whereas before they were happy to send out for beer this was no longer possible. Also friends staying in a lower price hotel where not allowed to visit. This hotel is ok, but far to expensive for the level of facilities and service offered

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank southwestUKRedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear guest,

I think there has been a misunderstanding with regard to visitors meeting our guests at the hotel. As a security measure ,we permit visitors to meet our guests in the lobby, restaurant and lounge. However, if they are to meet guests in their rooms, they have to provide an ID proof. We have undertaken these measures to ensure the safety of our guests.



We apologise for not serving liquor at the hotel, however , this matter is beyond our control. There are strict government regulations in place , and we can serve alcohol only after receiving a permit from them. We assure you that we are working towards it and are in the process of getting the permit at the earliest possible.



Thank you for your feedback and I am glad I got this opportunity to clarify the issues raised by you

Regards,

Johny peter
General Manager
Eighth Bastion Hotel A CGH EARTH Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

we were enchanted with the hotel. Our room was spacious and bathroom luxurious. Meals were exceptional and staff was well trained and helpful. HOWEVER! I was attacked by small stinging ants in our room. I asked the staff to thoroughly clean our room, change all bedding and remove an infested chair. It didn't work. The bed was still crawling with them. I was constantly pulling ants off of me and occasionally they would sting me. One stung me twice next to my right eye. At the airport and on the plane to our next destination of Udaipur, I pulled off over twelve ants from my neck and arms. I don't have a phobia about bugs, but this was RIDICULOUS!

Room Tip: check out room for bugs before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank holly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnypeter, General Manager at Eighth Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Ma’am,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay at our hotel. I looked into the matter and our housekeeping staff reports that there was a piece of chocolate in between the cushion which attracted ants into the room and on the bed. Though the room was cleaned, elimination of the ants required a thorough pest control, and hence had offered to change your room. This offer was declined by your partner as you probably preferred not to change rooms.

It is unfortunate that your stay was not as comfortable as we would have liked it to be, and we assure you a very comfortable stay on your next visit.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.



Johnny Peter

General Manager

Eighth Bastion, A CGH Earth Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,095 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighth Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighth Bastion Hotel

Address: 259 Princess Street | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $196 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eighth Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighth Bastion is a brand new luxury boutique hotel managed by the CGH Earth Group in Fort Cochin, Kerala. The hotel has 19 comfortable rooms all designed in a Dutch Nautical theme including replicas of ancient Dutch war Boats and Canons. The restaurant is creole fusion with local flavors. The hotel also has a swimming pool, bar and a tea lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Eighth Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eighth Bastion Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing