We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tibetan Experience @ Fort Kochi”

Tibetan Chefs Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 950 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Tibetan
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kerala
Level Contributor
169 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“A Tibetan Experience @ Fort Kochi”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had been hearing a lot about this place from my friends, but never knew where the place was. Recently I went for a massage in Fort Kochi and the spa therapist showed me the way to the restaurant.

Unlike the expectations of a RESTAURANT, the place is similar to a HOMESTAY EATERY. You feel the homely environment. No hi-fi things around. The entire family participates in cooking and serving and God bless them, the food is delicious.

I had Chicken Momos in Soup and Chicken Thupka. Both very reasonably priced and very very tasty. Quantity rocks as these two dishes were enough for two of us. We had ordered a steam dumplings too but withdrew the order with the advice from the lady who took the order. That was true. Quantity was very good.

Thupka soup rocks...

A talking parrot keeps the kids busy. The restaurant is frequented by International Tourists than keralites.

The place is near KATHAKALI centre Fort Kochi.

Recommended for all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor-indyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    134
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The food here was so good that, of the 3 nights we spent in Fort Cochin, we ate here twice. Delicious Tibetan food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent! gorgeous kitchen!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Really tasty! Very like of Tibetan food and was not disappointed after visiting here. Momo - mmmmmm ..... delicious .... Masala tea - excellent! Very pleasant service and atmosphere. Prices perfectly adequate. Ate here every day of his stay in Cochin. Thank you for this piece of Tibet in South India!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evpavlicheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A delicious, authentic, alternative to Indian cuisine.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

After two visits and two portions of beef momo soup I can safely say I'm a big fan of this diminutive eatery. Tucked out if the way near the Basilica the decor is nondescript but the low roof and Tibetan music give it a charming atmosphere nonetheless.

The wide range of cheap dishes make this a great place to come with friends and share meals.

No beer available.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kwality_Control
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only place in Kochi W have returned to!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We have generally been pretty disappointed with the food in Kochi, but the Tibetan Chef is a great place with great food and really friendly staff. I would stick to veggie food (apart from the fantastic momos which I prefer with meat) as the beef is tough but apart from that it's great. We went several times. The kids also loved the food as a change to the Indian curries and our youngest enjoyed her conversations with the parrot:-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank louthulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetan Chefs Restaurant also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
 
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Tibetan Chefs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing