We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Masala Fort

Masala Fort
Ranked #61 of 935 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Straight off a tour of the Kochi harbour and sights.
Chose our crabs and prawns straight off the cooler.
Perfectly hot Kerala curries.
Delicious local cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank KumiThiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    61
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

There were many reasons for me to go to Masala Fort. Wifi works perfectly. There is electricity. You can sit there as long as you like without the waiters getting nervous. Tea and coffee are ok, paneer dishes excellent. The personnel are sincerely friendly. Also the place has a good atmosphere and it's nice to watch the streets as you sit by the window. I recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISASTER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food is really bad especially the pasta is pathetic.
if you don't know how to make pasta don't put it in the menu.
i ll never ever suggest any one to come.
i ordered and took more than 45 min to be served.
and the manager was hiding and not coming out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLORIDA1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Kochi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went there numerous times during our stay in Kochi. First we did it because they have very good free wi-fi (and even power outlets!), then we also noticed that a dish my friend kept always ordering - kadai paneer - just got better and better every time! Not just any bowl of sauce, but with grilled vegetables, fresh herbs and entire chilis on top - nice little extras. The food is always top fresh and there's a lot of it. Unfortunately the dosas were rather dry, they could do with some chutney on the side. The waiter is a smart and friendly guy, really nice to talk to. The restaurant is located above street level so it's very calm and good to sit by the window. Oh, they have Lavazza, and you get a standard European-style cappuccino there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaijaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Came to our rescue for a late lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Pros:
1. Conveniently located
2. Nice , clean, well designed and quiet
3. Food was okay, not bad, not great.
4. Must try their Affogato -- espresso ice cream.

Cons
1. They didnt have a few things mentioned in the menu such as pizzas
2. Portions were relatively smaller for the prices they charged

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwatiPandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Fort also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Masala Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing