We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2006

Nice hotel - no complaints. Decent location, friendly and helpful staff. Nice aesthetic.

However, we did use the group who owns this hotel to book our kerala rice barge trip, which has been one of my favorite travel experiences to date. If you are in southern India, I highly recommend sleeping on the barges at least two nights to get the most out of the trip. The areas you see are downright pristine and peaceful, and the people are so friendly and kind. Staff is great, food is amazing. Can not recommend enough!!!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sara2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 773 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2005

We stayed for one night prior to returning to UK. Super location, very nice rooms, good restaurant and excellent service. Provided very substantial early breakfast to allow early departure to airport. But...well it's a bit impersonal and cold, nothing wrong with the hotel, we just didn't feel we fitted in. Nevertheless you cannot fault the location, where else can you almost reach out and touch a 400 yard tanker! Super view!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DoctorGEcosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2005

We were there only 3wks ago. Although we did not stay in the hotel, we went for a lunch and the food, ambience and location of the hotel were excellent. It is good value for money too. If you have a chance atleast go and have a lunch or dinner there.

12  Thank Krishnarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2004

This property is excellent, with cool, clean room and great views of the Cochin harbor.

Be sure you inquire with the desk staff about what activities are available for free. They offer a free cooking class with the chef, but since we were the only ones taking advantage of it, I suspect that not all the guests knew about it. They also offer a free sunset cruise and free bicycles.

With all the free extras, it makes the Brunton Boatyard an even better deal.

My only complaint is that the desk staff did not have any information about backwater cruises other than the ones the hotel company runs.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2004

The Brunton Boatyard was certainly a good hotel located in an interesting position overlooking the busy estuary near Cochin. Good character rooms with 4 poster beds and excellent facilites. Overall the hotel lacks a little "soul". The restaurant is good and offers a wide selection of choice. The breakfast is limited and there is no buffet which seemed surprising. Overall good - but needs to "spice up" the atmposphere

11  Thank MaxBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3aag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Giuskar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#9 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#24 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
695 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $133 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing