We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would need”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you would need”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was travelling with a book club that reads then travel to the places where the books take place. We spent 3 nights at the Brunton Boatyard. It was a lovely experience. Mornings on our balcony watching the activity on the water, breakfast on the patio , afternoon strolls in Cochin , swimming, even sunset cruise, they have it all and know how to make you feel at home. I will go back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground level close to the dining room, looking out on the water. Prefect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Madam

Thank you for staying at Brunton and for the review. I am glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed the hotel as well as the destination and that too in the most relaxing way. I welcome you back in advance and hope to see you soon.

Regards


Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    188
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
133
362
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay here but had lunch with my family. The menu for a Sunday lunch is extremely limited and certainly doesn't provide much in the way of seafood options bearing in mind the surrounding market stalls and other hotels sell it by the bucket. Also, customer service is non existent. We had simple request to move one tiny table from an empty inside restaurant to the terrace that had plenty of space for one extra table that would help accommodate our party of six. The refusal was on the basis that "management don't normally do this" with no other rationale. Brunton Boatyard needs to learn that the customer is king, not some unwritten management policy. We finally got a table when someone else vacated but it's not the point. When we did eat, food was average at best and service just reasonable. We won't be going back nor recommending to people.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sir

It is unfortunate that we could not connect with you. While our team tries in the best possible way to accommodate all requests there may be some that we cannot.

Regards


Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights at the beginning of November 2013.It is a beautiful hotel built in a colonial style.It has a strong Ecological footprint which is the theme for the CGH Earth (Good Clean Hotel ) chain.
All the staff were very friendly but one stood out.This was Vandanna ;the Front of House Manager.She asked us if we had booked a Houseboat.We hadn't at this point and felt that we probably would not be able to as we had booked a full 6 nights at the hotel.Without bothering us,she arranged to transfer one of our nights booking to an overnight stay on the Houseboat so that there was no extra charge.She arranged the taxi to take us and bring us back to the hotel the following day in order to continue our stay there.We had an idyllic time on the Houseboat,thanks to her.We have travelled extensively and we have never seen this level of service and initiative by a member of staff.CGI Earth you have a brilliant member of staff.You really need to treasure her.
Thank you one and all for a great trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for being with us. For the guest who book to stay with us, we consider them to be Alert Independent Travellers and we ensure that their holiday remains experiential as well Responsible. I am happy that Vandana was able to engage with you and offered you an experience beyond CGH. It is the people experience that brings life into the hotel. Once again I thank you for staying with us and for this feedback. Looking forward to seeing you the next time you are here.

Regards


Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasant, relaxing spot with comfortable rooms, good restaurants, and good service. Built on the site of an old boatyard, it has good design & lovely furnishings. The rooftop terrace restaurant has excellent seafood cooked to order and a beautiful view of the harbor. The complimentary sunset harbor cruise is an added plus.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for being with us and also to share this experience. I am happy to know that you have enjoyed the Brunton experience especially the terrace grill. It is a great location with the view of the ferry and it makes you feel you are in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Fort Kochi. All this while you enjoy the delicious seafood with some Indian wine. Thank you again for staying at Brunton and hope to see you on your next visit.

Regards


Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience.
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

As the title said an odd visit.... Arrived and decided to have a couple of drinks in the Armoury bar/cafe. Quite good once the bar man finally returned from the external terrace... a good selection of drinks.

We moved up to the History restaurant and our meal started off well. A welcome 'ginger wine', good starters (mulligatawny soup & chicken starters).. Then it became clear the staff had forgotten to set a table for 12 and started moving tables around the restaurant to suit. a cuffefle all around.

Tables still moving, the mains arrived: the First Class Railway Mutton Curry was exactly that; first class. If anything, too big but the flavour was stunning. The Mrs' fish however lacked, both volume and flavour; a distinct lack of seasoning in cooking not helping.

Mean while the 'table dancing' continued until the group arrived (actually it continues as they realised they had mis-counted) as we finished our meal. We asked the bill just before they sat down, received it quite quickly but it took over 15 minutes just to be noticed again to pay the bill.

Normally it wouldn't bother me but given the service at other local places with as good food (actually better with one dish) charging a quarter of the price, it is the service that is meant to stand out and it didn't.

Sorry, we're contemplating heading back to try the Fish Terrace but just can't justify it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Sir

I am thankful that you decided to be with us to enjoy the cuisine. I am sorry that your experience was not fulfilling. The group booking that you mentioned did come at the last moment and so there was a bit of dancing around with the tables. I also regret that the fish did not come our as we had expected it to. Once again apologise to have disappointed you.


Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My business colleague and I travelled to Kerala for 10 day business trip Kerala experience- hand picked holidays for the gourmet traveller- this was our first stop Brunton.
If your looking for hussle and bustle don't stay here, if your looking for entertainment don't stay here- if on the other hand your looking for a tranquil, peaceful, opulent, colonial type of hotel then this is the hotel for you. From the moment we stepped out of our vehicle after a long journey from the UK we were looked after and totally spoilt.
Tea on arrival and beautiful sea facing rooms- with a beautiful bed and bathroom with a bath over looking the river- leave your windows open and catch a glimpse of every day life as you bathe!

We had dinner and introduced ourselves to head chef Ajith whom is a charismatic character in every sense, he is a master of his chosen profession. We sat chatted and he produced a delicious dinner fit for kings and queens. Ajith shared our tv screens with Rick Stein on his last culinary programme. Thank you Ajith it's going to be a pleasure working with you !
The staff at Brunton are a team of dedicated, passionate, warm and welcoming people you will find any where in India. CGH congratulations on staff training first class especially front of house manager Vandana, she is soon helpful and goes beyond her duties every time. We had a wonderful time with you and we will be back again in January, we feel part of your family and a very big thank you and congratulations , running a hotel of this calibre is hard work. Please visit it's worth every single rupee and more.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing personally I would take a room on the first floor re the views- awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Suzanne

At Brunton we offer for you to experience - the space with its character, the food with all its uniqueness and the people with their warmth. I am glad that you have connected well with all these elements and enjoyed your time here.
Chef Ajeeth is a super stat and he has been responsible for transforming the cuisine at Brunton. The food that he serves is drawn up from the community and we offer an experience very unique and that you will not find at any other restaurant. we all are happy to hear from you and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our stay at BB was magical. We had been there earlier, soon after it opened and were happy to see the property beautifully maintained even now. The staff in the front office, housekeeping, the restaurants were efficient, courteous and eager to please. Vandana, Chef Sarin and others were so delightful. They went out of the way to build bonds that make one want to come back again and again as do so many visitors ! Kudos CGH Earth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3691Hema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for coming back to be with us. I am happy to hear that you find the hotel to be the same even after so many years. All credit to the team members for their energy and efforts to make this a lively place. Looking forward to your next visit to Brunton.

Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
radhakrishnashenoi@cghearth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing