We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and great cooking demonstrations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and great cooking demonstrations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel itself was charming, very comfortable, and stylish. But what made our visit memorable was the friendliness of the staff. We stayed 5 nights and ate in the dining room on 3 nights, The live music was fantastic, the service great and the food fabulous!!! Lovely breakfasts- European or Indian- included a fantastic fresh fruit platter, and were served in the delightful Armoury restaurant.
Complimentary extras like the sunset cruise and the daily cooking demonstration make us heartily recommend this lovely hotel in Fort Kochin!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for being with us and I am happy to know that you enjoyed your 5 nights here. The town of Fort Cochin is alluring with a lot of activities to do and is a place that will keep you engaged. For the staff it is like a family here and the family is thankful for your gracious comments. For a lot of travellers Kerala is a place that seems to beckon. I hope that you have left with the same feeling. See you soon at Brunton Boatyard.

Regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH Earth experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    184
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
129
351
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This property is good, with a great location next to the backwaters, and a great building which though modern is built to generous proportions from a century ago! With deep verandahs and wide stairs, even period electrical fittings! Great look!

What makes the stay even more special is the people. Every single person we met was pleasant and efficient, and went out of their way to keep guests happy. Special mention to Vandana who took care of all the little details that made our stay perfect. And kudos in general to whoever hires and trains the staff :))

Food in general was good and imaginatively presented, I would stick to the local food rather than the fusion, though! Desserts were less impressive than the rest of the meal, for some reason...

Room Tip: There are only 20 odd rooms, most of them seem to have the same outlook. We had a non-delux room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShubhaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest

I thank you for being with us. I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Brunton Boatyard. Our biggest asset here is the people and the only brief that we give them is to be themselves, be passionate and do it from your heart.
Thank you for the kind words and hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, a CGH Earth Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Brunton Boatyard was the first of four CGH hotels we stayed in during a monsoon tour of Kerala. I cannot praise the staff and management enough for providing a superlative experience. While the hotel is not as old as it looks it has been sensitively and tastefully decorated and designed and the overall impression is of Colonial luxury, even to having working punkah fans in reception.

The hotel is perched on the side of a busy waterway and each room has a sit out which gives an excellent view of the coming and going of ferries, fishing boats and cargo boats. Thoughtfully earplugs are provided but really not necessary as the sounds of the river were a lovely way to wake in the morning.

It's all about details, from the selection of teas and coffees provided along with a real teapot and strainer to the choice of food offered. Especially memorable was the mutton rib soup and a clear broth made from the red seeds of bitter gourd but all the food we had was delicious.

Every member of staff we met was friendly and welcoming and did so much to make us wish we were staying at Brunton Boatyard for longer. Thank you for providing an excellent experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high quality with similar outlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest

It brings us great happiness to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed the Brunton experience. Thank you for being a part of us while you were here.

on behalf of all members of team Brunton
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, CGH Earth Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhahran
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am presently staying in this hotel in two of the rooms with family. The hotel is nice with friendly stuff. But the restaurants sucks. They have six to seven dishes. Tonight i went there and asked for their special railway mutton curry. I reached at about 9:30 in the evening and was told that it is finished. Outside restaurants suck. You cannot have a fivestar restaurant with food running out of stock. I requested my agent to cancell all my cgh earth hotels in this trip - coconut lagoon and marari beach resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paonpaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir

We are upset over the fact that we couldn’t offer our signature dish. In our menu we keep a small selection of dishes that we believe should be cooked right and taste best. Our mutton curry is cooked fresh every day and the process consumes a few hours for it to get that taste. A lot of effort goes in to ensure that the food that is served is authentic and the experience is unique. It is unfortunate that we could not offer the experience for dinner because the mutton curry got sold out.
I thank you for your kind comments on the staff and the property. Please enjoy Kerala and the rest of your trip.

regards

Radhakrishna Shenoi
General Manager
Brunton Boatyard, a CGH Earth Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our stay was very comfortable and memorable at this hotel. The rooms are well kept and decorated. The subtle interiors are soothing for the eyes. The greenry and the lawns are too good. staff is very courteous and helpful. A nice place for the family to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ashish

Thank you for the review. Happy that you have enjoyed the Brunton Boatyard experience. You have Come at a time when Monsoon is at its peak and kerala is fresh and green. One of the best sights at Brunton during this time is when you sit on the balcony and see the rain as it comes. It will first hit Vypeen the island that you see on the other side and gradully come towards you.

Thank you for staying and hope to see you soon.

regards
Radhakrishna Shenoi
General manager
Brunton Boatyard, A CGH earth Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely home-from-home nestled in the heart of Fort Cochin.
An ‘infinity’ swimming pool with great views and cheeky house crows, great food, cookery demos and yoga are all within the grounds. The daily sunset cruise starts from right next to the pool.
Within 5 minutes on foot are a ferry terminal (not as disturbing as that might sound) and iconic Chinese fishing nets, a choice of two venues for evening cultural shows of traditional dance and martial arts, and some Colonial buildings. A slightly longer walk, or a tuk-tuk ride, will bring the spice market of Mattancherry and the Commonwealth’s oldest synagogue, and most of the rest of the historic heart of Kochi, into scope.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDJ_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Dear All, I just enjoyed a Trip to Fort Kochin, Kerala, South India. I stayed at a very well kept Old Historical Hotel "The Brunton Boatyard Hotel", It is an amazingly clean Hotel with very comfortable room with verandah if you choose, faces toward the sea. You can watch the ferries and the boats and listen to whistles of the boats that is soothing to me while enjoying eagles and others birds flying. The Hotel was converted from a shipping dockyard built by Mr. Brunton an Englishman, at the last century. It has a very charming ambience with friendly professional service, and if you travel at the beinning of Monsoon, you will get a discounted rate through Agoda. The Hotel is a chain of 13 other similar Hotels thoroughout South India.

Fort Cochin itself is born out of Typhoon of Battles between the Portuegese, The Dutch, and The English. Vasco de Gama died in his house in Fort Kochin. Fort Kochin is amazingly Catholic with The Italian Franciscan Church. There is the Dutch Palace, it was VOC Office, and The Jewish Community.

Nowadays is a busy Small Fort Town with many small Kashmiris Shops and Seafood Restaurants. Again at the beginning of monsoon you can get good bargains of silver jewelry and other sculptures and many more. The Brunton Boatyard Hotel also has boutique that has modrn looking Dresses from Indian materials. The pedestratians, the bicyclist the tea houses and the rickshaware mostly friendly people. I also bought paintings of elephants on dry banans leaves from the art students at The Mahatma Gandhi University. Visit Fort Kochin, and enjoy the hospitality of the South Indians. I love it during moonsoon, the sea and the wind bring cool breeze that is refreshing with plenty of birds to watch and to listen. Enjoy Fort Kochin and Thanks All

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing