We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great campus ok rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“great campus ok rooms”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The reception, punkah and central courtyard wow you. Rooms are clean, neat, though a little small.Large corridors, colonial style building with warm red floor, makes you want to stay longer.
Excellent restaurant with good quality service.
The location is unbeatable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    184
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
129
351
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is located five minutes from the center of kochi. is a very big place with a beautiful garden. The staff is very friendly and the rooms clean and supplied. the food is delicious, spicy but not too much. We ate mostly fish and the flavors are very similar to Indonesian dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GossipinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

An unusual building, with high celings, lots of wood, wide corridors, and a central courtyard. The quiet bedrooms and en suite bathrooms are generously sized and well appointed, facing the busy harbour and the swimming pool with lovely well-kept grounds. Wi fi available. The food was good and the staff efficient. |The complimentary harbour tour at twilight was spectacular. This is a great place to stay in Cochin. We travelled as a family of six, aged 77 to 11, and this hotel was fine for all of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here Dec 28 for 3 nights and were not disappointed . Staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the History restaurant not as good as other restaurants in Cochin like the Harbour Restaurant , service very slow even for India! Well placed for walking around the sights . Pool area quite small but pleasant . We enjoyed the complimentary sunset cruise which gave a good view of the town and the Chinese fishing nets . We didn't find the noise from the boats a problem at all , and our terrace a great place to watch the action on the water

Room Tip: Get a room at the top as views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandJaneHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the Brunton Boatyard for the second New Years Eve in Decmber 2012 and were very dissapointed with the enforced New Years Eve Gala. When booking it is compulsory to pay for this gala event and this year the food was stone cold as the waiters were disorganised and the heavens opened during the meal and everyone scurried inside, maybe a little forethought of checking the weather forecast would have been wise ? The rooms are very good and the staff are excellent, the breakfast is not to the standard you would expect. The sunset cruise offered free of charge to guests is very good for getting close up views of the chinese fishing nets away from the tourist crush, New Years Day is a massive carnival in Cochin well worth visiting as it is a feww hundred metres from the hotel. We hired a local tuk tuk for 50 rupees ( under £1) and the driver took us all around Cochin and showed us sights the guides do not take you to plus it is a fun way to get around.

Room Tip: The left hand corner of the hotel is next to a car ferry jetty which runs from 06.00 until 24.00 so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hotel is actually only 14 years old but made up to look as though it was much older. Our room had a massive lounge, guest cloakroom and kitchen and had wonderful views over the river.

The hotel has a full size snooker table, small pool with a dozen beds, a boat which offers a complimentary harbour cruise every evening and a number of restaurant.

The biggest draw back was the noise. Despite the free ear plugs we were awoken at 5.30 every morning by the local call to prayer and by the time the ferry starts at 6am we had given up trying to sleep on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

What a gorgeous hotel right on the mouth of the river and with the best views in Town. It's a fake, only build in1998, but you would never know it, even down to the bakerlite light switches. It has the end of the Raj feel. We had a suite overlooking the river, it was fabulous, airy and bright, and felt a million miles away from London. The staff where very attentive and chatty. I can highly recommend the History and the Terrace Seafood restaurants, both great places to try true Indian food, some with a modern twist. Stay here, it's the best place in town.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaxxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
759 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing