We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunton's nice”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is located five minutes from the center of kochi. is a very big place with a beautiful garden. The staff is very friendly and the rooms clean and supplied. the food is delicious, spicy but not too much. We ate mostly fish and the flavors are very similar to Indonesian dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GossipinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 751 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

An unusual building, with high celings, lots of wood, wide corridors, and a central courtyard. The quiet bedrooms and en suite bathrooms are generously sized and well appointed, facing the busy harbour and the swimming pool with lovely well-kept grounds. Wi fi available. The food was good and the staff efficient. |The complimentary harbour tour at twilight was spectacular. This is a great place to stay in Cochin. We travelled as a family of six, aged 77 to 11, and this hotel was fine for all of us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here Dec 28 for 3 nights and were not disappointed . Staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the History restaurant not as good as other restaurants in Cochin like the Harbour Restaurant , service very slow even for India! Well placed for walking around the sights . Pool area quite small but pleasant . We enjoyed the complimentary sunset cruise which gave a good view of the town and the Chinese fishing nets . We didn't find the noise from the boats a problem at all , and our terrace a great place to watch the action on the water

Room Tip: Get a room at the top as views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandJaneHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the Brunton Boatyard for the second New Years Eve in Decmber 2012 and were very dissapointed with the enforced New Years Eve Gala. When booking it is compulsory to pay for this gala event and this year the food was stone cold as the waiters were disorganised and the heavens opened during the meal and everyone scurried inside, maybe a little forethought of checking the weather forecast would have been wise ? The rooms are very good and the staff are excellent, the breakfast is not to the standard you would expect. The sunset cruise offered free of charge to guests is very good for getting close up views of the chinese fishing nets away from the tourist crush, New Years Day is a massive carnival in Cochin well worth visiting as it is a feww hundred metres from the hotel. We hired a local tuk tuk for 50 rupees ( under £1) and the driver took us all around Cochin and showed us sights the guides do not take you to plus it is a fun way to get around.

Room Tip: The left hand corner of the hotel is next to a car ferry jetty which runs from 06.00 until 24.00 so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hotel is actually only 14 years old but made up to look as though it was much older. Our room had a massive lounge, guest cloakroom and kitchen and had wonderful views over the river.

The hotel has a full size snooker table, small pool with a dozen beds, a boat which offers a complimentary harbour cruise every evening and a number of restaurant.

The biggest draw back was the noise. Despite the free ear plugs we were awoken at 5.30 every morning by the local call to prayer and by the time the ferry starts at 6am we had given up trying to sleep on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a gorgeous hotel right on the mouth of the river and with the best views in Town. It's a fake, only build in1998, but you would never know it, even down to the bakerlite light switches. It has the end of the Raj feel. We had a suite overlooking the river, it was fabulous, airy and bright, and felt a million miles away from London. The staff where very attentive and chatty. I can highly recommend the History and the Terrace Seafood restaurants, both great places to try true Indian food, some with a modern twist. Stay here, it's the best place in town.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelMaxxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in four different hotels, two of them the Taj group, on a visit to India in December 2012. Without hesitation I would say that the Brunton Boatyard was the best of the lot. While the Taj provides professional and friendly service, the Casino Group's individualized vision is not easily imitated: contemporary comfort and convenience in the rooms, an excellent cuisine served by friendly and helpful staff, freebies that included daily yoga, a sunset cruise, and cooking demos are possible in other up-scale hotels. What this hotel provided I have not seen elsewhere. It was a distinctive ambiance born of the clever and original adoption of colonial artifacts and customs: the huge urns, the punkahs in the reception area that took me back to pre-Independence days, the Christmas Trees made from local materials (who ever heard of evergreens in the tropics, anyway?) and the intellectual stimulation provided by copies of antiquarian maps that go back to the days of early exploration and colonization. The view of the container harbor and the various boats that plied the water ways was interesting too, but the main attraction of this hotel was its authentic (not fake!) colonial ambiance and deliberately laid-back atmosphere.

We aim at staying in this kind of hotel when we return to India.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
676 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
904 reviews
6 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $109 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing