We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brunton Boatyard
Nearby Hotels
$87
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
$86
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malabar House(Kochi (Cochin))
$147
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PJ Princess Regency(Vypin Island)
$39
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aiswarya Hotel(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
$30
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
517
216
45
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
517
216
45
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistory restaurantsunset cruisebusy waterwayrailway mutton currythe chinese fishing netscgh earthcolonial stylecooking demonstrationcontainer shipsfishing boatsoverlooking the waterfort cochincgh groupfish restaurantmain restaurantfour posterarabian sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 796 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited the Brunton Boatyard for the second New Years Eve in Decmber 2012 and were very dissapointed with the enforced New Years Eve Gala. When booking it is compulsory to pay for this gala event and this year the food was stone cold as the waiters were disorganised and the heavens opened during the meal and everyone scurried inside, maybe a little forethought of checking the weather forecast would have been wise ? The rooms are very good and the staff are excellent, the breakfast is not to the standard you would expect. The sunset cruise offered free of charge to guests is very good for getting close up views of the chinese fishing nets away from the tourist crush, New Years Day is a massive carnival in Cochin well worth visiting as it is a feww hundred metres from the hotel. We hired a local tuk tuk for 50 rupees ( under £1) and the driver took us all around Cochin and showed us sights the guides do not take you to plus it is a fun way to get around.

Room Tip: The left hand corner of the hotel is next to a car ferry jetty which runs from 06.00 until 24.00 so if you are a light sleeper stick to the other side of the hotel, get rooms above the ground floor as people wander past your room to the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hotel is actually only 14 years old but made up to look as though it was much older. Our room had a massive lounge, guest cloakroom and kitchen and had wonderful views over the river.

The hotel has a full size snooker table, small pool with a dozen beds, a boat which offers a complimentary harbour cruise every evening and a number of restaurant.

The biggest draw back was the noise. Despite the free ear plugs we were awoken at 5.30 every morning by the local call to prayer and by the time the ferry starts at 6am we had given up trying to sleep on.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a gorgeous hotel right on the mouth of the river and with the best views in Town. It's a fake, only build in1998, but you would never know it, even down to the bakerlite light switches. It has the end of the Raj feel. We had a suite overlooking the river, it was fabulous, airy and bright, and felt a million miles away from London. The staff where very attentive and chatty. I can highly recommend the History and the Terrace Seafood restaurants, both great places to try true Indian food, some with a modern twist. Stay here, it's the best place in town.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravelMaxxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in four different hotels, two of them the Taj group, on a visit to India in December 2012. Without hesitation I would say that the Brunton Boatyard was the best of the lot. While the Taj provides professional and friendly service, the Casino Group's individualized vision is not easily imitated: contemporary comfort and convenience in the rooms, an excellent cuisine served by friendly and helpful staff, freebies that included daily yoga, a sunset cruise, and cooking demos are possible in other up-scale hotels. What this hotel provided I have not seen elsewhere. It was a distinctive ambiance born of the clever and original adoption of colonial artifacts and customs: the huge urns, the punkahs in the reception area that took me back to pre-Independence days, the Christmas Trees made from local materials (who ever heard of evergreens in the tropics, anyway?) and the intellectual stimulation provided by copies of antiquarian maps that go back to the days of early exploration and colonization. The view of the container harbor and the various boats that plied the water ways was interesting too, but the main attraction of this hotel was its authentic (not fake!) colonial ambiance and deliberately laid-back atmosphere.

We aim at staying in this kind of hotel when we return to India.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here from 21-22 December 2012 and loved it. The room was large with a comfortable bed, a couple of chairs and a desk and a lovely view of the Arabian sea. The bathroom was also large with plenty of hot water. The staff was friendly, smiling and helpful, and the laundry service good. There's a beautiful rain tree in the patio where you can catch a glimpse of a kingfisher or woodpecker as you sip a cup of tea or wait in the lobby. The food was good and our only complaint was that they don't really understand cold beer and cold white wine -both were served almost room temperature and had to be cooled. It can be a little noisy in the morning when the boats and the local ferry use the waterways. Despite this we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zortean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews