We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost in the Harbour”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The view is brilliant looking straight out into the harbour with everything from canoes to container ships passing by. It can at times of course be noisy and I think a room at the end where the ferry docks could be intrusively so. But our room looking out over the swimiming pool on the harbour edge was great. Earplugs were provided on the bedside table in case we found noise intruding but weren't needed. The room was small but delightful with old-fashioned solid wood furniture and a marvellous high off the ground bedstead. There was a small balcony with cane chairs. The hotel complex is designed in a graceful open-air colonial style around an inner garden with large trees. It has a great deal of charm.
The location is good for sight seeing and just a quick stroll to some of the intriguing fishingnets and fish market stalls. There's a free evening harbour cruise offered by the hotel and we found it worthwhile.
The hotel bar was small but excellent with good staff.. The restaurant meals were very good. Breakfast was a little irksome -- this was a la carte and I've become accustomed to a buffet breakfast and much prefer being able to make a self-service choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for Brunton Boatyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 715 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cool location. there is an outside seating near the lake or the a/c dining hall. well done interiors. a old palace converted to a really nice hotel. the history of that place is also shown on the lobby.
try the fish curry and rice. its out of the world, liquor menu is also extensive and pretty vast. costly but overall a really nice experience. must try. cheers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank manaksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A great place to start our trip to Kerala. Arrived early at the hotel and the room was ready overlooking the waterway. We were every close to the area that the ferries dock but it was not intrusive at all. In fact it was great for people watching! We had two nights and loved it. The food was excellent,the staff excellent and the general ambience and accessibility of the hotel is wonderful. Unfortunately because of our schedule and the weather we didn't get to ride in the sunset cruise which I am sure we would have enjoyed. One minor gripe is that the swimming pool doesn't look very clean or inviting. Overall well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed good
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malden04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay at Brunton Boatyard, Fort Cochin on our way to board a boat on the Backwaters of Kerala. We had an enormous room with loads of character overlooking the fantastically busy water.

The main thing we wanted to comment on was the excellent cuisine - it was, for some reason, quite unexpected and absolutely delicious.

Also, the next morning we were in a real hurry and can highly recommend their express breakfast which was beautifully fresh and extremely fast - which was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Try to request not to be right on the corner of the hotel as there is a very busy ferry going back a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were recommended this hotel restaurant by a fellow traveler. We took them up on their recommendation and were not disappointed it was fabulous. Summer salad, prawns, and a variety of vegetable curries were very well presented and tasted great. Let me pass on the recommendation, when in Cochin try the restaurant at Brunton Boatyard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Brunton Boatyard will take you back to the languid days of the Raj. Bang on the waterfront, the building has been beautifully restored and will make you want to hang around even though there is much to see in Kochi. Rooms are tastefully done and with the balcony overlooking the water, you would want to maximise the hotel experience.
The History restaurant is a place you must have a meal in, purely for the colonial grandeur of the place.
Its location is also super with a lot of sightseeing in the Fort Kochi area in walking distance.
And do go for the sunset cruise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedgefund007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Brunton Boat Yard for two nights on a trip to Kerala April 2012. The welcoming was really good, and the staff were most helpful and pleasant through the stay. Although we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, the breakfast menu was extensive with a lovely atmosphere in the breakfast room, The hotel room was spacious and well equipped, the view from the balcony over the bay was wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
902 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#16 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $134 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing