We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cool location. there is an outside seating near the lake or the a/c dining hall. well done interiors. a old palace converted to a really nice hotel. the history of that place is also shown on the lobby.
try the fish curry and rice. its out of the world, liquor menu is also extensive and pretty vast. costly but overall a really nice experience. must try. cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manaksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    157
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
107
295
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A great place to start our trip to Kerala. Arrived early at the hotel and the room was ready overlooking the waterway. We were every close to the area that the ferries dock but it was not intrusive at all. In fact it was great for people watching! We had two nights and loved it. The food was excellent,the staff excellent and the general ambience and accessibility of the hotel is wonderful. Unfortunately because of our schedule and the weather we didn't get to ride in the sunset cruise which I am sure we would have enjoyed. One minor gripe is that the swimming pool doesn't look very clean or inviting. Overall well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malden04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay at Brunton Boatyard, Fort Cochin on our way to board a boat on the Backwaters of Kerala. We had an enormous room with loads of character overlooking the fantastically busy water.

The main thing we wanted to comment on was the excellent cuisine - it was, for some reason, quite unexpected and absolutely delicious.

Also, the next morning we were in a real hurry and can highly recommend their express breakfast which was beautifully fresh and extremely fast - which was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Try to request not to be right on the corner of the hotel as there is a very busy ferry going back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joblythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were recommended this hotel restaurant by a fellow traveler. We took them up on their recommendation and were not disappointed it was fabulous. Summer salad, prawns, and a variety of vegetable curries were very well presented and tasted great. Let me pass on the recommendation, when in Cochin try the restaurant at Brunton Boatyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Brunton Boatyard will take you back to the languid days of the Raj. Bang on the waterfront, the building has been beautifully restored and will make you want to hang around even though there is much to see in Kochi. Rooms are tastefully done and with the balcony overlooking the water, you would want to maximise the hotel experience.
The History restaurant is a place you must have a meal in, purely for the colonial grandeur of the place.
Its location is also super with a lot of sightseeing in the Fort Kochi area in walking distance.
And do go for the sunset cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgefund007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Brunton Boat Yard for two nights on a trip to Kerala April 2012. The welcoming was really good, and the staff were most helpful and pleasant through the stay. Although we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, the breakfast menu was extensive with a lovely atmosphere in the breakfast room, The hotel room was spacious and well equipped, the view from the balcony over the bay was wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on arrival in Cochin and 3 nights before we left. Inititally we found it a little noisy (because of the ferries) but you get used to it. The building is very colonial with lots of red polished floors - the rooms are lovely and decorated in blue and white which is very refreshing. The service was excellent. However, we did find the food a little disappointing - they really should 'celebrate' their seafood but we had to ask for the catch of the day or tiger prawns - this wasn't offered as an option on the menu. Once they understood that we wanted fresh local fish on a daily basis, this was fine. Cookery classes on a daily basis were excellent and the sunset cruise was also a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynnethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 192 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 192 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#31 of 192 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 28 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ramada Resort,Cochin
Ramada Resort,Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#2 of 192 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brunton Boatyard 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing