We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best choice!! :-)”
Review of John's Residency

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John's Residency
Ranked #83 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
1 review
“Our best choice!! :-)”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

In this hotel you get much more then you would expect for that price. We were four people in one room and stil had enough place. We had an own bathroom, clean sheets, TV, a balcony (with nice orchids all around) and our room was cleaned every day. The place is very beautiful and has a very nice lobby (with internet access)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very conveniently located, and clean place to spend the night. However, the airconditioner was particularly noisy and the owner is grumpy and unhelpful, at least with me and contrary to other experiences shared here. All in all, a place without a soul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayAar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at john's residency for just one night, and we wished we had moved there earlier. It's way cheaper than Saars Tower or Bijus which are some of the closest guesthouse/hotels. Not to mention John's English is excellent. He has plenty of advice to anyone who asks and can book trips from the hotel. Thanks John

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Hobson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The only thing this place needs is free wifi and it would be perfect!
The rooms are so clean and the location is great - between the ferry jetty and the train and bus stations.
John is helpful, though hard to track down sometimes and there is a good book swap in reception.
Just a quick heads up though, lonely planet has advertised this as 350rupees which its not, its 620 rupees. But very worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. The owner (John) was very helpful and kind. He suggested us good places and gave us useful advices about the stuff that we could find there and around Cochin. His Guest House is clean and comfortable and the better is that it's closed to many places like theater, ferry station, good restaurants, ATM, shopping center, and so for.

I read that someone posted something about the lonely planet rates vs real rates.. it happens all the time and everywhere... the lonely planet has many mistakes even with the directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glorizeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

in good location (between bus station and boat jetty) with clean, bright and freshly renovated rooms. beds were comfy, in the windows are mosquite nets, internet downstaires (30 rupees, I guess). the bathroom was not the cleaniest but it was ok and the price is excellently reasonable - 620 for double. one of the cleaniest and nicest place we have been to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swidnica, Walbrzych, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having travelled in India for two months on a very tight budget I find this guest house one of the best in India in this price. bracket .I found the information on it in Lonelyplanet guide book and when I arrived at it it offered even more than I had expected :a TV, en suite bathroom even in the cheapest room, and a menu next to the phone in case you wanted to order food and beverages ( just when you are sick or it is raining cats and dogs ), a bookcase with good reads in the foyer. I used the cheap Internet , had my laundry done and the staff and the service were perfect. .Those who complain about the lack of towels and toilet paper do not understand what is meant by a budget guest house. BUDGET means BUDGET!! If you want more , go to top luxury hotels which are plentiful nearby. Needless to say the place is super clean and cosy. In the common balcony you can socialise with other travellers or just watch cute little birds in a cage. I definitly recommend this place. ..and the owner is a very nice professional who really knows how to manage and run his guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystynap0land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#7 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abad Atrium Hotel
Abad Atrium Hotel
#48 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#13 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Boat Jetty Bunglow
The Boat Jetty Bunglow
#38 of 428 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.8 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#4 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's Residency

Property: John's Residency
Address: T.D Road, Kochi (Cochin), India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Also Known As:
John's Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing