We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit to Fort Cochin”
Review of Fort House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort House
Ranked #26 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived at the Kochi airport and caught the bus just in front and about an hour later, we were in Fort Cochin. The Fort House was a short (about 1K) walk from the bus stop and we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The room was spacious enough and clean. We enjoyed a complimentary 20 minute foot massage. Nisha provided excellent recommendations and arranged for a reasonably priced taxi the next morning when we left for Kumarakum. The hotel is close enough to the the center of Fort Cochin that we were able to walk back to see the fishing, do some wonderful shopping and have a nice dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 653 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just as good as it looks on the site photos (not always the case!) Plus a lovely kind welcome - Thanks Nisha! We were a group of 12, delayed a day (!), which must have been a bit of a headache but they reorganized everything and made our stay as easy and as relaxing as possible.
The on-site Ayurvedic massage centre is absolutely brilliant : heaven... Not to be missed...
The travel agency working from the hotel gave us our best driver in India yet - many thanks Ramu !

Room Tip: All the rooms are calm, simple and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilly-hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Located just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Fort Kochi, walking through the gates of the Fort House is something that retains that special feeling every time you do it. The service is the hotel is first class and the rooms are well sized and comfortable. The restaurant is open all day and is located on a pier which overlooks passing boats in the bay, impressive either day or night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zjStack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I spent a week here and had a splendid experience.

Walking through the front gates the first time felt like stumbling upon an oasis. And my first impressions with the staff, couldn't have been better, as they offered me a complimentary pancake and complimentary massages for the following days!

The air conditioned room was very comfortable and kept to a high level of cleanliness.

The restaurant has it's own small pier with jetty, great for evening meals and also a nice view for the complimentary breakfast.

The staff were very helpful in arranging excursions.

The hotel is also just a short walk away from the Fort Kochi beach with Chinese fishing nets.

The only downsides I can think of is the that the shipping works on the opposite bank from the restaurant slightly mar the view, and there's a lot of rubbish that collects in the water, and also that the regular muslim calls to prayer can be annoying. But all of which apply to any hotels in the area, and are minor compared to the positives.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevReece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

When I read about this place in the Guardian I knew I made the right choice. Lovely setting with an open reception area and great old colonial buildings for the bedrooms. Our rooms was nicely decorated with traditional furniture and had a very spacious bathroom with lots of toiletries, a rare thing in India. The minibar and kettle were nice little touches. The room did get very warm during the day and the A/C only works at night, there is a fan though. I loved the complementary foot massage and booked another full body massage with the same lady (unfortunately I forgot her name). The restaurant is of course the highlight of this place, one part of it situated on the jetty. Great place to watch the sun set and the food is delicious. We even got complementary pancakes on arrival as we couldn't take breakfast as we had to check out very early and couldn't take breakfast. The Chinese fishing nets are about 5 min walk away and the best way to get to the Jew town and other sights is a rickshaw. I would definitely stay here again, after travelling for two weeks and staying in more budget places, this was a lovely treat and adequately priced. Very friendly staff too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We would like to fully commend Fort Ayurveda for the superb foundation program in Ayurveda that we attanded recently.
Auria Kiem and her team headed by Dr Jobin John delivered a comprehensive and professional course that was both intensive and rewarding. In fact, we were completely taken aback by the quality of the content and the standard, proficiency and enthusiasm of the staff that supported us in our studies.
The 40 hour program delivered across a week included the following:
1. An insight into the basic principals of Ayurveda and its therapeutic approach
2. Ayurvedic teachings on health, food and wellness
3. Lessons on Indian vegetarian cooking and the use of spices
4. Practical classes on Ayurvedic massage techniques and its benefits
5. Yoga postures, asanas and meditation

The way the course was structured kept us fully engaged and progressively built up our knowledge, confidence and practical skills.
The staff members were fully committed to our learning and were always willing to answer questions and discuss points of clarification.
The practical sessions in the massage room and kitchen took into account our learning needs and were focused on ensuring that we would be able to retain and apply what we had learned once the training had concluded.

Each day began with an excellent class in Hatha Yoga that strengthened our bodies and minds for the studying to follow. Furthermore, it also built up our understanding of the many aspects of this discipline.
We were provided with really useful and thoughtfully collated course materials that helped us to effectively record what we were being taught.
Fort Ayurveda is also a wonderful environment in which to study, located in charming and historic Fort Kochi. It is both homely and elegant with a beautiful lush green garden and calm, relaxing atmosphere. The design, layout and decor of the centre added further to our experience.
Unforgettable also was the quality of the food available in the restaurant, and the smiles, humour and warmth of everybody working here.

Thank you once more Fort Ayurveda and when is the next level program please!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Situated almost at the tip of Mattancherry island, Cochin, this place has the charms of the old world. During our very short stay, we found the place to be ideally suited for relaxation- away from the din and bustle of city life but with all the modern facilities like free wifi in the room and at the reception, with a complimentary foot message thrown in. The rooms are clean and large enough for two - but somewhat spartan. The bath with granite slabs was quite comfortable. Unfortunately, there is no room service - the hotel being more of a home stay. The lady at the reception was very helpful and so were the staff at the dining. The focal point of the place is the dining place at the waterfront - specially in the evening. Food was quite good with varieties. Wish we had the time to stay longer.

Som

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SomG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#168 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#14 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort House

Address: | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $71 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Hotel Kochi
Fort House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing