We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service Nice Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Ranked #8 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I used my AMEX voucher to stay here. They gave me first floor room. Big spacious room with Big Bed enough for kids to sleep together
Gave good option for Dinner & provided best Jain food
Sunset Cruise is nice & complementary
Gym is small however having all modern equipment
Enjoyed a lot

Room Tip: Go for Leisure for 2nights atleast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We thank you for sparing your valuable time and providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,228 - 1,234 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

After noisy Mumbai this was the perfect retreat and the service was outstanding!!!
The hotel has a lot of complimentary offers like yoga classes in the morning, after noon tea on the terrace, 1-hour boattrip in the early evening, cooking classes in the afternoon, indian dances in the evening.... And everything was worth attending or seeing it!

Next to the hotel (less than 5 minutes to walk) leaves the ferry boat to the old part of Cochin (4 INR per way per person = approx. 0,05€).

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview. It is fantastic way of waking up in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatharinaVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We at Vivanta by Taj Malabar are really honored to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back to our lovely hotel once again.

It was a delight to have your feedback as this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for ourselves. I am happy to note that you had an excellent stay with us.

We trust the Vivanta charm will attract you again soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at Taj Malabar for 2 nights. Check in was quick and easy. Welcomed by the staff and luggage was sent to the room very quickly. It is far from the airport and the city but then you get peace and quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the staff went to great lengths to please you. Dined both nights at the hotel because it was too far to any other restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay and felt relaxed at the end of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We at Vivanta by Taj- Malabar are honored to have you stay with us.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was excellent. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate your time you spent, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were greeted with a welcome drink at our arrival. The checkin was a breeze and Ms. Michelle was very courteous and showed us to our rooms. We had been upgraded to rooms with backwaters view.

There are plenty of complimentary services available to the inhouse guests. We attended the high tea in evening followed by a 1 hour boat ride showing around the islands close to the hotel. The breakfast can a little better.

Our special thanks goes out to Mr. Anthony (head - housekeeping) and his team for making our stay very special. The flower arrangements on the bed and in the bathroom were superb and made our night.

We ate at the pavilion (chinese cuisine). Food was excellent and chef and his team looked after us. However, my wife had ordered a virgin mojito which seemed to have a presence of a single strand of human hair in it. We examined it, the team examined it, but we never asked for any replacement drinks or any other favors. Considering overall service was very nice, we decided to let it go. Even the in room dining was excellent and food was delicious.

The closest ferry point is 10 mins by walk even though the hotel offers dropoffs if required.

The pool and jacuzzi were closed but hope to use it next time. The hotel did have arrangements at trident hotel (close by) if guests wanted to use the pool.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with the backwaters view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhruv84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel.

We are very grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

We profusely thank you for your valuable feedback which encourages and motivates us in creating a beyond expectation experience each time.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Assuring you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in Taj Malabar in March 2014. The property is not very new but is still quite nicely maintained. When booking make sure you notice the distance from Fort Cochin, which is quite easily reached by two ferries, both jetties are relatively close though but there is nothing close to the hotel. Avoid taking a taxi to Fort Coching in the afternoon, as you may be stuck in traggic for ages as we where coming from the airport.

We had a stunning view from our room, it relly paid off to pay little extra for the sea view.

The pool area was lovely at sunset, but the fumes from the ships going past may bother some.

We checked out the two other classical hotels in Forth Cochin Malabar House and Brunton Boatyard, and at least seing these two hotels from the restaurant and lobby, I was convinced that we made the best choice booking Taj Malabar.

The only disadvantage was that we didn't feel like going back to Fort Cochin for dinner when also spent the day in town, so we ended up eating at the hotel all our three night, which was ok but a bit boaring. The grill restaurant by the way was totally overpriced and we quite struck when we saw the bill. The food wasn't that special and we didn't feel lile eating from the buffet where the food stands in the warm outside.

Maby not as stunning as some of the other Taj hotels, but defenetly one of the most convenient hotels in town.

Room Tip: I recommend a sea view room, there was not a big difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KataA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj-Malabar, Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and providing us with your feedback. It is the feedback from our esteemed and valued guests which gives us an opportunity to further enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight.

We have made a note of your feedback. Your feedback has been shared with the concerned teams and we shall certainly explore all the possibilities of addressing the same at the earliest.

My team and I look forward to your continued support and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Excellent sea facing view... spacious and well maintained rooms ... and of course the best Kerala food. Not to mention the staff who are very courteous and helpful in every aspect. The hotel is a bit far from the airport but an easy drive from the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your compliments of the hotel.

It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly services.

We trust the Vivanta charm will attract you again soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality in the true Taj tradition, always.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Perfect place to stay if you have the money for that. Restaurants in the hotel are unbelievable!
Breakfast almost the best in the world. Its on island but with ferry you get to the center in 10 minutes and 4 rupy

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzahilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. Our endeavor is to ensure each guest is given a seamless experience.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,
Suman Dutta Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 36 in Ernakulam
1,087 reviews
1 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
773 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India (Formerly Vivanta by Taj - Malabar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $131 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Taj - Malabar Resort & Spa is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing