We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Splendid!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Taj Malabar for 2 nights and it was one of the most amazing holiday experience. The hotel staff makes you feel special right from the time your enter check-in through check-out. I've attempted to over all aspects of our stay at this fine property -

Check-in : As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a traditional welcome. The absolutely efficient front desk staff made us feel comfortable after the long 45 drive from the airport, with a cold towel, some refreshing mint and cucumber drink and an ice- cream for my daughter along with a soft toy. The check-in process was quick and prompt. The front desk staff then showed us round the hotel.

Room: We stayed at the Heritage Wing which was spacious and overlooked the sea. The rooms are tastefully done with classy interiors.

Food: The breakfast and dinner were part of the package we had taken and hence meals were served at the 'Pepper' restaurant. The spread was extensive and had good healthy options as well. Being in Kerala, I expected more seafood to be part of the menu, however they had some amazing pork dishes which is generally rare to find in Indian restaurants. The taste and quality were top-notch.

High tea and boat cruise: The hotel serves high tea in the garden area followed by a 1 hour boat cruise which is complimentary. The boat ride offers stunning views of the neighbouring islands and is really enjoyable and relaxing. We were lucky to see dolphins as we were nearing the hotel on our return from the boat cruise.

Staff: I would especially like to call out the pool attendant. He was an elderly gentleman who was so passionate about swimming that he even entered the pool to teach my daughter who learnt swimming only a week back. We were really touched by his thoughtful gesture. All the hotel staff are prompt and efficient and ensure they make your stay a memorable one.

Check-out: The check-out was again quick. The one thing that stood out and made our stay at Taj Malabar so special was the lobby staff who came out and waved goodbye as we left this beautiful property. It's truly an experience we'll remember and hope to return soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy_Feet_Trotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Warm Regards,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    480
    100
    21
    16
See reviews for
585
655
108
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Vivanta in late February.
All in all, it was clean and comfortable without being terribly memorable.
We were in a Superior category room, which is essentially their standard accommodation. The room was simple, clean, and unfortunately had zero view.
But the location is quite nice and situated on a large lake. We enjoyed the pool and gym one afternoon (although the gym attendants were overly attendant, popping in a number of times to ask if we needed anything during our workouts, and then cleaning all of the mirrors while we were there).
The food was fine but nothing special. There is a cozy bar in the lobby where we had a couple of really great martinis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Warm Regards,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Malabar Hotel has the same cachet in Kochi,the commercial and tourist hub of Kerala,that the Raffles Hotel in Singapore and Galle Face in Colombo. Undoubtedly pricey,there is the paradox that it's kitchens can create the same repast enjoyed by traditional families in the state,albeit with a steeper price tag.Try the Kerala dishes.Go veggie,try the ulli theeyal with tapioca,or kalan or olan.And don't ever pass up the brown unhusked Kerala rice in favour of the factory-milled substitute. Afterwards,laze in your room and in the evening,rent a houseboat and spend the night on the lake,with silence as your companion (along with other,equally delectable,alternatives).Go native,you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk,they know the hotel better than you do,especially the multitude of choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhav n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta Malabar Cochin!!!

We at Vivanta by Taj Malabar were really honored to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel once again.

It was a delight to have your feedback and this helps us to measure ourselves for the standards we have set for our company. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

Kindest Reagrds,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent location, excellent view, excellent ambience and service that treats you like royalty and great food to top it up. One of my favourite hotels. Just love this place and cant have enough of it. Have been regularly coming here over the past 7-8 years.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms or The sunset view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aamer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar!!!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Kindest Regards,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Kochi is infact known as the queen of the Arabian sea, and this hotel is truly the Gem on the Queen's crown. The views of the backwaters and the sea are truly mesmerizing.... the view of the harbour in the morning is truly captivating.. the sunset view from the garden coffee shop is breathtaking....!
The staff are very friendly and rooms are truly taj quality pure luxury and bliss.
Food is excellent, the breakfast is on the house. There are restaurants serving authentic kerala sea food and also chinese.
A very unique offering is the Evening High tea which is complimentary where tea and an array of snacks are served in the garden cafe.
There is also a complimentary sunset cruise every evening, which takes you closer to the harbor, chinese fishing nets...
The pool is very clean and seems like it almost touches the vembanad lake.
The Jiva spa undoubtedly the best, and hence our stay was really fun.
There is also an awesome kids activity centre that has different activities for kids the whole day, and my daughter really enjoyed a lot.
So if in Kochi a stay in the place is really worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shilparajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar!!!

We at Vivanta by Taj- Malabar were honored to have you stay with us in the recent past.

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

I am glad to note that the overall quality of service and facilities at the hotel measured up to your expectation. I have taken the liberty to communicate your feedback to my entire team at the hotel. I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us in achieving higher standards of excellence. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is hotel is perfectly located on the shores of the backwaters of Kochi. A good place to enjoy the boat ride for the sunset and experience the true Kerala Hospitality. Wonderful breakfast and dining options.
The place is close to the shopping area of Ernakulam.

Room Tip: Choose the Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar!!!

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your recent stay at Cochin. It was a delight to have your valuable feedback and we greatly appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

Kindest Regards,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

It is a beautiful, small, friendly and warm hotel.
On two separate occasions we have had the privilege of enjoying true taj hospitality.

Location- away from the city and almost 40 minutes from the airport. Yet the town is just a 5 minute private boat ride away.

Service- impeccable. Friendly.

Spa- outstanding. Was about to miss out on it on the second trip as was 6 months pregnant. But the staff made a special non-intrusive one hour pampering possible. Truly relaxing.

Swimming pool- beautiful is an understatement.

Food- as good as it gets. Nice scrumptious buffet with a variety of continental, north and South Indian food. A special mention for 'the rice boat' restaurant for their outstanding and truly delicious food.

Heart warming moment was receiving a teddy bear from the staff as a farewell gift.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SumanDSharma, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kindest Regards,

Suman Dutta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
833 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
689 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing