We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness Is a Package Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #8 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My children and I had had a tough time emotionally because of a family tragedy. One day I decided we needed a holiday and I remembered a lovely one I'd had with friends in Cochin. So I picked up the phone and dialed the Taj Malabar. I'd say that if you want the accessories of a 5 star combined with the intimacy of an Indian home that delights both sense and spirit - the comfort, the elegance, the richness of cuisine, choose the Malabar. The interiors are cosy, the staff were courteous and immensely helpful, and the generous breakfasts and Kerala specialties like appam and stew and authentic fish curries, were unforgettable. Though it is far from Kochi, its just a boat ride away to the delectable tourist quarter with its Chinese fishing nets, European cafes and the famed Jew Town. It is in my opinion the queen of boutique hotels, and definitely a star in the Taj's considerably wide crown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,473 - 1,479 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

A modern well run property with spectacular harbour views. Excellent management, generally. Superb dining facilities with service to match, particulalrly the Rice Boat reestaurant. Downside is an excellently appointed spa where a spectacularly incompetent Manager presides. Avoid it at all costs.

Room Tip: Go for a Sea View in Heritage Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonandshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice place in best value, they know the there service @ excellent way. Location is the best part of this property . Rooms are Super luxurious . Service and cleanliness is superb . Food and drinks is top of the world .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravronit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a four night stay at this hotel. Lovely atmosphere at the hotel though we were bit surprised the manager did not introduce himself to us as we asked him a couple of questions.

We noticed he did spend time talking to other regular guests, but it would have been nice if he had introduced himself to us. In fact, I quite felt he 'looked through us' to the more 'important' guests.

Other members of staff were utterly charming, including some of the restaurant and pool staff who were unbelivably polite and interesting to talk to, particularly the pool manager who is a delightful gentleman.

We dont think this hotel is up to the standard of the Falaknuma Palace Hyderabad or Taj West End in Bangalore or the Leelas in Delhi and Udaipur and needs some smartening up.

The chair covers on the main terrace are stained and would be quite economical to clean.

The business centre smells musty and looks tired.

The main lobby toilets are very ordinary for a hotel of this calibre and the cushions, bedding and decor in the bedrooms in the old wing, are just that - they felt old and tired.

We had a rotten meal in the chinese restaurant, but were credited for this.

The food in the main restaurant was absolutely delicious.

There seemed to be some sort of system where lots of staff would come out and wave goodbye to certain guests - again this did not happen to us, so the hotel did feel a little bit 'cliquey' where a few guests are favoured over others.

We travel often and have never experienced this in other hotels where all guests seemed to be treated equally.

Would maybe return, but didn't leave with a warm glow.

Room Tip: Heritage wing rooms very tired, but did not see the tower wing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The Malabar is probably my favourite Taj hotel. A lot of that is due to the stunning harbor front location , where you can actually sit 5 feet from the sea watching the ships go by and have a coffee. A lot of sea front hotels have great views, but in this one the sound of the sea and the passing boats are constantly part of the experience. The service is very warm without being intrusive. The food is spectacular. The Rice Boat is one of the great seafood experiences not just in Kerala but in all of India. The other restaurants are very competent as well .

I would recommend a heritage wing sea facing view.
This is the kind of place I could spend a couple of months and still be sad to leave . There are many fancier hotels in more trendy locations in the Taj group ... But this I the one I always want to return to.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doitwhileyoucan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice place, the Taj hotels is always a pleasure. The food, service, pool area, gym and spa were exellent. We enjoyed the New years party, and had a very good stay. A sea view room at a descent standard was not too expensive. I recommend this hotel if you are staying in kochi area.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Amazing property. The view from the garden and rooms is amazing. 100 years of history. Great food. Exceptional service. Chef rasheed can work magic given the space. Rice boat is a great sea food restaurant with a simple menu you can try all of Kerala food styles.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razin786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $139 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing