We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“experience of complete bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The moment , I entered this hotel , I was really pleased with the tremendous hospitality this hotel has to offer. Truly TAJ HOSPITALITY. Excellent location ,exactly at the brink of water. Evening cruise was fantastic . Urge SUPARI to get a bit more audible while describing the landscapes. MUDIT MATHUR , restaurant manager -Pepper was truly friendly and a person from whom hospitality should be learnt. I would surely recommend everyone to take speed boat ride for 2 hours at the minimum . excellent trip and not to be misd even at a mere charge. Outside evening stroll was truly amazing . Only 1 recommendation-i.e to introduce buffet lunch & dinner at Pepper everyday and introduction of a little more north indian cuisine for northeners.. But this hotel is a true amalgamation of a business hotel with beautiful location and view of a resort.

Room Tip: choose sea view room to have a wonderful view of backwaters and kochi port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanatictourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,534 - 1,540 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had been on a family trip to south india in month of July 2012. It was the period of onset mansoon and amazing climate. We enjoyed 2 nights stay at Malabar in cochin and had amazing sea view at fort cochi.

We enjoyed amazing costal food...Kerla Meals specially ti is called Sapad. The srea is very good...there are parks close by and back waters around....!! too good..Taj is always considered to be amazing when it comes to hospitality. We enjoyed every thing aboutt his hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Comfortable and elegant business hotel with great facilities. Keen service as always in deluxehotels in India, nice rooms and great restaurant. I only tried the multi-cuisine restaurant with extensive lunchbuffet, which offered value for money! Nice but adequate pool area, the Jiva Spa equipped with modern machines and nice treatment rooms and lovely massages.

The only downside is the location; a bit off unless you are in Cochin for business, but nothing of interest in the immediate surroundings. 20 min. taxiride to Fort Cochi unless you take the local small ferry from jetty some 8 minutes by foot away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Making a reservation at Vivanta turned out to be the best decision we made on our recent trip to Cochin. My wife and I were considering other hotels like the Le Meridien and Intercontinental, but having seen the others (including some in Fort Cochin area) on our trip, this was absolutely the best choice.

First up- the location of the hotel is amazing - with a clear view of the Cochin Harbor, this is where Lake Vembanad (backwaters) starts off from the sea. Just sitting by the lakeside is so relaxing - you can spend hours looking at the boats and large ships alike. Mind you, there's nothing you can do within walking distance of the hotel (except perhaps, take a ferry to Fort Cochin area) - and yet, this is one property that Vivanta/Taj have to be extremely proud of.

The welcome at the hotel was extremely warm and personal and the Premium Indulgence Sunset View room was great, albeit a bit smallish considering the premium we paid for the room. Room amenities were right up there in terms of quality. The property has been maintained very well indeed.

Food - well, if you're here, stick to a la carté rather than their buffet spreads, which I found rather pedestrian. The a la carté dishes were amazing - The service is impeccable and the standards you come to expect from the Taj hotels are met in full. The in-house gift-shoppe isn't expensive at all, and the people are friendly.

And if you're here, take a speedboat cruise (instead of the complimentary boat cruise at sunset) - costs about $100/hr - we were glad we did. If you're in a larger group, you can even rent out their yacht for around $200/ hr. The Travel Desk guys were helpful and the front-office staff come across as well-trained, humble and extremely professional, without being stiff about their jobs :)

This was one amazing stay and you can opt for Vivanta Cochin without any hesitation!

Room Tip: Try their Premium Indulgence Sunset View rooms - these are the ones that have windows on two sides a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

its on the willingdon Island - you are well looked after as usual of TAJ all over India - right from the entrance to Lobby, to the room - always a welcoming smiles, garlands, drinks and accompyning up to your room - its all around the Sea facing the Cochin Port , the sun was about to set and the sky line was wonderful. The team at the property is very professional and they really look after their gusts very well from the Thai restaurant to the coffee shop to the garden and every evening you have a visit to the Harbour by the hotel ( Complimentary ) by a Motor Boat with refreshments.
The food at the restaurant is very authentic with full of South Indian fresh spices, aroma and the staff is very very gentle. We stayed for four days it was a wonderful stay. The doctors and staff at the Spa, health club are also very cooperative and are ready to assist you without a hitch on their face. It was worth staying at this property and we hope to be at the property again very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea - harbour side is really worth staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and was very impressed indeed. Everything about this hotel is excellent - rooms, fittings, staff, service, food, grounds, facilities etc. We ate twice in the main restaurant where the service was outstanding and the food great, and once in the Thai restaurant which was very good indeed. Breakfast was excellent, again with oustanding service and a huge choice. Great quality in all the food for every meal. Tea in the afternoon outside is a wonderful experience, with lovely snacks and drinks, and the sunset boat trip afterwards well worth going (both included). Our room had a side view but this was full of interest and the shipping is fascinating to watch - as indeed it is when sitting in the grounds, both day and night. Nice pool and bar. Cannot think of a single problem, and the staff were so good - one saw us looking at a map print in a hallway and simply stopped to chat about it for at least 10 minutes. Management were friendly, helpful and all that you would hope. The only slight drawback is that the location is rather isolated by road, but you can use ferries to get across to Cochin Town fairly easily instead - and that is worth the effort. This hotel is a rare case where one is able to recommend it and its staff without reservation - I can now see why the Taj chain has such a high reputation if most of its hotels are like this one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Greetings from God's own country.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was my first time at the location and boy was it gorgeous!! Right on the harbor, which magnificent personal lookout/lounge spots all across the edge. The everyday options of complimentary boat cruise, high tea and Jacuzzi does justice to the impeccable beauty around this mini resort. The rooms (stayed at Heritage room 118) was super considering the panoramic views of the harbor. Awesome staff and their hospitality combined with great food (do not miss dining at the BOAT, surprisingly inexpensive for Taj standards) leaves you craving for more. Oh and how could I forget the beautiful pool surrounded by coconut trees, looking over the water. It was hard to swim more than a lap or two without leaning at the edge to enjoy the water front.

I am sure this is not the last of my visits, will be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnshulSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.0 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
874 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
732 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $136 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing