We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise in Fort Cochin”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had read a lot about the hotel but the food exceeded all expectations. Fantastic presentation and offered a great combination of traditional and modern cuisine. The rooms offer amazing space and found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. A very unique property with some very interesting contemporary art. A very pleasant surprise in Cochin.
Will be back!!

Room Tip: The larger rooms were called Roof Garden Suite. Amazing decor
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welcomash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad that your expectations were exceeded and that you enjoyed our food and accommodation. We hope to see you back at Malabar House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Malabar House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 629 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were very impressed by this boutique hotel, the location is excellent, and our room on the ground floor was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant food was very good - it deserved its award. We stayed two nights, and on both occasions we ate in the open courtyard, entertained by live musicians. The hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful feed back. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are extremely pleased to know you enjoyed the food and Beverages at the hotel too. We hope to welcome you back to Malabar House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We recently had a two night stay at the Malabar house and found it not up to the standards of other boutique hotels. Our room was quiet, but very small, and the bathroom was in need of refurbishment. The staff at reception were polite and helpful. The food at the restaurant was very average and the service poor. There were not enough waiters to cover all the tables. The staff at the bar seemed disinterested. All the tables for two were all squashed together, with hardly any room to move. The staff took ages to clear away the dirty plates, which several guests complained about. We had coffee, an evening drink and meal at the Brunston Boatyard and wished our travel agent had recommended this to us. We did however enjoy our stay in Cochin as the people are fantastic.

Room Tip: We had room 6 that wasn't noisy, but was very small. Not the hotels fault, but our travel agent...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitziHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feed back. I am extremely disappointing to know that you were not happy with the services provided and would like to apologize for the same. We at Malabar House believe in best quality service and product. It is important to us that every guest leaves happy. The food in Malabar House is usually extremely praised. I will definitely have an enquiry into what happened with the food and service during your stay with us.
However I am glad to know that the team members were helpful and polite. We would love to have you back in Malabar House in the future to make up for the inconvenience that was caused and to ensure that what you experienced is not the regular quality offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a very cool hotel with an impressive entrance, lobby, swimming pool area, and outdoor restaurant. You know you have arrived somewhere of quality the moment you walk in. The front desk staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

The rooms are what you would expect of a boutique hotel but are somewhat let down by the lack of finesse, and by the bathrooms which are not top quality. There was also some damp/cracking in the ceiling and it just wasnt all as slick as the entrance etc areas. We had an enourmous terrace which was very pleasantly designed.

Breakfast was good although slightly lacking in choice.

Definitely a top pick when in Cochin but over-priced at E320 and certainly not Relais & Chateaux quality. The Brunton Boatyard is way ahead of this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJINTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting the very positive comments. I am glad that the reception and rest of the team were courteous and helpful. I apologize for the lac of 100 percent satisfaction in regards to rooms. We are undergoing renovation work with all the rooms at the minute and they are back to spic and span condition. I am sorry about any inconvenience caused. We at Malabar house strive to maintain excellence and take Relais & Chateaux standards very seriously. I hope you will return in future and give us the opportunity to prove that we are indeed Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was the last stop of our 7 day Malabar Escapes tour. The service was friendly and unfussy so it was very easy to feel relaxed and enjoy the ambience. Reception were very helpful in offering to help us do our web flight check-in before departure. A towel was put out for me un-asked when I took an early morning swim. The courtyard evening entertainment was rained off a couple of times which was a shame but the torrential downpour was entertaining after we had retreated to the shelter of the restaurant. The tuktuk tour was my first experience and was enjoyable and informative. There are however good shops like Fab India just around the corner which doesn't have the usual tourist mark-up. I recommend the hotel bikes for a self guided tour of the back streets and Chinese fishing nets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comment. We hope to welcome you back to Malabar House some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and it is in a good location and close to the water, markets and many other restaurants and loads of interesting local points of interest.
The service on our stay was very hit and miss.front desk and reservation staff very good.,the chef
Went out of his way to make you feel welcome and explain his food and the options available..
But the service in the restaurant and bar was at times chaotic and communication lacking.
Rooms are nice with very comfortable beds and good wi if access .the bathrooms are in need
Of a update in our opinion..highlight was the service in the spa,all the staff are wonderful..it's a very basic spa but the massage and the staff that provide the treatment were great..
Not sure about the photos of ingredients for cooking around the pool area? They looked like they
belonged in the local supermarket,as they foyer has such lovely traditional art pieces..
Would I return,not so sure..as this is a member of a prestigious hotel group I did expect more..usually the properties have very exact standards..relais and chateaux usually set such high standards ..

Room Tip: Upstairs away from main foyer
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amf227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for yous comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Malabar House. I apologise for the delay in service that you faced in the restaurant and bar. This is not our usual standards. All staff are undergoing constant training on Relais & Chateaux Standards of service and I hope you visit us again without hesitation to see the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A fantastic start to our first holiday in Kerala. The accommodation was first class, well preserved property with excellent facilities. All the staff were very polite, efficient and very much cared for their guests. The evening meals were far in excess of our expectations with an imaginative combination of East and West dishes.
Live music in the open air restaurant added to the overall ambiance. Would certainly return again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the wonderful comments. Its feed backs like yours that keep us motivated to strive to be the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#46 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#185 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#79 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#17 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $142 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing