We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal start to our visit to Kerala”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #25 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a quiet corner of Kochi, arranged around a central courtyard. Despite our early arrival, our room was ready so we were able to settle in before lunch and then relax after a long flight.

Room a good size, well and comfortably furnished. The food was excellent, so good we ate there both nights rather than venturing further afield, breakfast also to be recommended. The staff in all areas - reception, restaurants, kitchen, housekeeping, etc - most helpful and attentive.

Definitely to be recommended for a stay in Kochi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 676 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was an excellent place to start our tour of india.staff really helpfull in all ways location great and it was such a quaint style of origonal british raj breakfast was all you needed,eg fresh fruit omlete etc

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I would happily recommend the Malabar House to anyone looking for a place to stay in Fort Cochin. I stayed in this little piece of paradise for 5 nights. The staff were always very helpful, friendly and curtious, the food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and most importantly my bed was divinely comfortable. Malabar house was within close walking distance to all historic attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rokeby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Malabar House has had some rave reviews, which is why we booked to stay there recently while celebrating a significant birthday. We'd reserved a standard downstairs room but, after seeing it (No. 15) we asked if any other larger rooms were available. John Isac, the ever-smiling assistant manager, showed us to a room upstairs (No. 11). It was a lot larger than the downstairs rooms, and had access to both the front verandah (shared with one other upstairs room) and a large private rear terrace. Very kindly John waived the upgrade fee and we settled in to enjoy our stay. The hotel staff were all lovely — smiling, friendly and interested in the guests. At night the central courtyard was beautifully lit and tables were set up under the trees. Lunch and evening meals were fabulous — only breakfasts were a little disappointing (a new source of bakery items would be an improvement). There are bicycles available for guests, which is a better way to see the city than walking as you cover more ground and can avoid being nagged by persistent tuk-tuk drivers. Despite what we'd read about Kerala being different, we found it and Fort Cochin, to be typically Indian — with chaotic traffic, potholed roads and beaches covered in rubbish, stray dogs and beggars. India is a fascinating place, but visiting it can be a emotional rollercoaster ride. We found Malabar House to be a colourful, art-filled oasis from the madding crowds outside.

Room Tip: If you are there for a few nights, it's worth upgrading to a larger upstairs room. Double-glazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyFlight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it. Its small and intimate ,catering for all your needs. We had dinner at the hotel on the two nights that we were there and they were equally good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahreid-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A nice oasis in the middle of Kochi. The heat / humidity in the area were insufferable, but it was easy to escape those in the courtyard pool. Easy walking distance to everything you want to see in Kochi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyHighYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel but the building was impressive - I visited the wine bar and it was a real oasis of class in Fort Cochin. The manager, Boby Abraham, was a great host and very informative.
Wine was around £4 a glass, which by Indian standards is a bit costly but the environment was definitely worth it. Based on the great reception we received from Boby we would stay at the hotel if visiting again.
The building itself had a small but very nice looking pool in the central courtyard and was really central in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
751 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#168 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#53 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#12 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#21 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $197 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing