We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start to a trip to Kerala”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #33 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great start to a trip to Kerala”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Malabar House was our first stop in India and set a very high standard. Lovely room, shady patio with a small pool for cooling off and eating, and very helpful staff. very well located to walk into Fort Kochi and to watch the sunset from the beach promenade. Food was excellent and seemed very good value at the time (but we had not worked out quite how well you could eat in India for how little money). the only downside was the couple in the next room who chainsmoked at the table outside their and our room - which made the verandah unuseable. Live music at night creates an even more special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside which made it more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pansymclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    169
    70
    19
    21
See reviews for
85
351
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Signs around the property tell of the 15 year effort to refurbish the hotel.
The work has managed to make for a modern hotel, but it has kept enough old charm to make it pleasant mix.
The open air dining is pleasant, overlooking the pool, under the frangipani trees.
Malabar House is conveniently located close to the waterfront at Fort Cochin, with its Chinese fishing nets and fish markets.
There are lots of eating houses within an easy walk of the hotel too.
Rooms are roomy and comfortable. Ours had a small courtyard as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived to a very warm welcome and were soon shown to our room or rather suite!. A large living room on one level then up a short flight of stairs to our bedroom, bathroom and doors that opened out on to a large balcony over looking the courtyard and swimming pool below. Everywhere was very clean and the staff always friendly and helpful. The highlight of our visit was the restaurant. The food was excellent. We had seafood on both evenings we were there and it was delicious. Beautifully served and just bursting with flavour. An excellent hotel within easy walking distance of the Chinese fishing nets and many of the other sights of Cochin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is a gentle five minutes stroll away from the beach with its chinese fishing nets and stalls and most other sights/attractions in Fort Cochin.

The rooms have high ceilings and are individually decorated to a high standard.

The bar serves good tapas style snacks, only the lack of a/c during my stay letting it down. Dinners in the restaurant were superb. The fish in banana leaf was delicately spiced and is, perhaps, the best dish I have had in India. The hotel promotes Indian wine and the Shiraz, if a little expensive, is worth a taste.

Breakfasts are fine but there isn't a huge choice of fruit or juices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicureorxfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived in Cochi at the Malabar early in the morning and were delighted to find our large beautifully decorated room in this elegant hotel ready. The courtyard with its pool is charming and the restaurant excellent. The staff were all attentive and couldn't have been nicer. The hotel itself looks over the old drill square and by evening there were at least 4 games of impromptu cricket going on. A short walk takes you either to the beach with several Chinese fishing nets in action or into the narrow streets of the old fort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very central, boutique hotel. Every detail was beautiful, lovely big room full of antiques, quiet and peaceful, and delicious food. Would recommend any of the Malabar hotels for a trip around Kerala.

Room Tip: I had the corner suite downstairs which, apparently, was much quieter than the upstairs suite. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The restored courtyard is the enchanting and tranquil centrepiece of the Malabar House and the backdrop to the restaurant which serves some of the best food in Fort Cochin - the seafood platter is magnificent. The service here and in the well-stocked first floor bar - again, among the best in town - is friendly and effificent. It is a good place to sample a number of ever-improving Indian wines with the Sula Vineyards showing up particularly well. Beware, all the drinks are expensive here. The nightly entertainment, especially the music of Kerala, was interesting and enjoyable.
There is a small pool in the courtyard but is not really for swimming, especially as the pigeon and raven droppings scarred the surface for much of the day during our visit.
The hotel has been beautifully restored and is ideally placed to explore the many attractions that are a short walk or rickshaw ride away. There are several good restaurants (mostly in hotels), a couple of bars and many shops close-by. Killians Hotel served great seafood curries and the coldest Kingfishers in town while the cakes, snacks and cold drinks make the Kashi, an art house cafe, the ideal spot to relax beneath the fans in the late afternoon.
The major disappointment of a four day stay was the ground floor room which was dark, hot and not very welcoming. While a great deal is made of local furnishings being used, the bed - reached via a step because it was so high - was not particularly comfortable. One day the 'fresh' bed sheets were threadbare and torn.
The bathroom was adequate but nothing more and not what you would expect when paying top rates. There was a small covered courtyard at the back and another at the front. Both had fans but the facilities and comfort were a disappointment. Other guests on the ground floor echoed this view.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms, if possible. Try the Seafood Platter in the evening and Masala Dosa f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#73 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Property: Malabar House
Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing