We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, one of which was my birthday. This had somehow been noted and I was met with collective greetings at breakfast and, at dinner, presented with a cake and wine. Quite a moving experience, since it was unexpected.
Our suite, on two floors and with a rooftop 'sit-out', was very well furnished and equipped and gave us a real sense of luxury.
The young staff were very charming and keen to please and if the service was somewhat laid-back (as, indeed, it was) this was in keeping with the context of relaxed outdoor eating in a delightful courtyard garden listening to local musicians.
Much of the food was outstanding (the tiger prawns in tempura absolutely unbelievable!) with a good Indian wine list to match.
Cochi itself is well worth time spent to absorb something of its colonial history and significance as the gateway to Europe's marine trade with the Orient.

Room Tip: If your budget will stand it, opt for a suite.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Malabar House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 629 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Malabar is a very pretty building with a colonial feel to it and in a central location in Fort Cochin. Our room (11) was on the first floor at the front of the building. It was cool, clean and spacious. The bathroom had a corner bath with a hand held shower which was not the most comfortable way to shower. The bigger problem for us was that the bathroom overlooked the courtyard and was separated only by a bamboo blind. This meant that noise from the courtyard restaurant - including musicians that perform in the evening, noise of air-con and the sound of traffic make the room noisy at night. We were pleased when the musicians stopped playing at 10pm. Also this set up gives mosquito’s free reign of your bathroom and room, if you don’t keep the bathroom door shut at all times.
We enjoyed a very good dinner in the courtyard restaurant. Breakfast was ok with a more continental approach with juices, cereals, (dried) fruit, various breads and a small a la cart menu. Our banana pancakes were undercooked and the egg and bacon dosa did not quite do it for us.
With boutique hotels I always wonder if style was chosen over function. While initially one is impressed and boutique hotels can look wonderfully pretty, they then present practical problems when staying for any length of time. I’m afraid this was the case for us at Malabar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our room was right next to the patio with swimming pool (quite small but very decorative setting). The restaurant at this hotel is absolutely amazing. We had truly gourmet Indian cooking here and I also enjoyed the evening dinner entertainment (sitars) by the candle-lit pool. It's very easy to walk from Malabar House to the beach or to the old colonial town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplemuse61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked this hotel after receiving a recommendation from a friend. Our stay was the highlight of our trip to Kerala. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If they didn't know something, they would find out for you. Rooms were tastefully decorated in earthy colours and with antique furniture. They were of moderate size and contained just enough storage for 2 people. They were clean and contained nice toiletries. Air conditioning was a little erratic, but maintenance appeared within half an hour to fix it. The food was wonderful, and surprisingly cheaply priced in comparison to room costs. Seafood platter was more expensive, but definitely worth trying-they best meal we ate on our holiday. Portion was large and we shared it between 2 of us. The courtyard was very pretty with a small swimming pool (just big enough to swim lengths). There were different musicians playing every evening during dinner. Hotel is conveniently located- a short walk from the sea front and looking out over a recreation area where local people played cricket and football. We would give special mention to Sona in reservations, who was very patient when our booking agent created problems with the booking over a 10 day period. To compensate (even though it was not the hotel's fault!) we were offered complimentary dinners, which was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I was expecting great things of this boutique hotel but it didn't really deliver. The receptionist was rather haughty and not at all warm. Our room was fun, decorated in bright colours but wasn't really what I was expecting for a 'garden suite'. But the worst part was the restaurant service, both at dinner and breakfast. Very slack and uninterested waiters. And this was our least favourite of our holiday for breakfast choice and quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceCristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 1 night in suite #18 which was comfortable , spacious & beautifully furnished & decorated. we had 2 large balconies high above the attractive courtyard & the small swimming pool.The staff here were superb & went out of their way to fill our needs. Dinner was excellent. This hotel is a lovely peaceful sanctuary from the hustle & bustle of Fort Kochins attractions which are just on its doorstep.

Room Tip: Get a suite !
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were blown away by our stay at Malabar House. The stay started well when the charming desk staff upgraded us to a suite because of a mix up with our booking. The suite was staggeringly well designed with gorgeous decor, classic furniture and TWO outside terraces, one with a beautiful swing. The bathroom was immense and tastefully done with beautiful cotton victorian towels.

We found it very hard to leave the pretty courtyard and ended up spending most of the evening sampling the extensive wine list and delicious indian-spanish tapas (trust me it worked) in the bar. There was live Indian classical music in the garden, by the floodlight pool.

My only gripe was breakfast which could have been better - the buffet looked a bit sad. But you could order eggs and dosa off a cute chalk board. Great coffee.

This place can't be beaten for location, style, decor, service, facilities and cuisine. Lovely exotic fruit basket in the room...Cute walking tour guide given to us on check in...excellent massage treatments...the list goes on

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieLucyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#47 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#184 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#80 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#17 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $143 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing