We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most stylish place in town”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #29 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were blown away by our stay at Malabar House. The stay started well when the charming desk staff upgraded us to a suite because of a mix up with our booking. The suite was staggeringly well designed with gorgeous decor, classic furniture and TWO outside terraces, one with a beautiful swing. The bathroom was immense and tastefully done with beautiful cotton victorian towels.

We found it very hard to leave the pretty courtyard and ended up spending most of the evening sampling the extensive wine list and delicious indian-spanish tapas (trust me it worked) in the bar. There was live Indian classical music in the garden, by the floodlight pool.

My only gripe was breakfast which could have been better - the buffet looked a bit sad. But you could order eggs and dosa off a cute chalk board. Great coffee.

This place can't be beaten for location, style, decor, service, facilities and cuisine. Lovely exotic fruit basket in the room...Cute walking tour guide given to us on check in...excellent massage treatments...the list goes on

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieLucyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 649 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Location was excellent on southern side of the Parade Ground, easy to wlk back to from the main tourist areas. Courtyard pleasant and relaxing. Staff friendly and attentive and general ambiance felt very much like a refuge from the hustle and bustle outside. Evening meal was very good and served with individuality however the Indian wine at £20/bottle was awful. The room was a big disappointment, we had been given an upgrade to a garden suite room, but there was no suite or garden about it, unless three scraggy plants in pots on a small balcony counts as a garden. The extra room that should have made it a suite was quite small and consisted a wardrobe, desk and chair.
For the price and reputation we had expected the room to be of a higher standard than it was. For example only people under 5' tall could stand under the shower comfortably, the bathrobes and slippers would only fit a small woman. One of the bedside lights made a hissing sound as if there was a faulty connection in it, so we avoided touching it. The bed was difficult to get into and more uncomfortable than any other hotel we stayed in Kerala.

Room Tip: garden suite rooms not worth paying extra for, could hardly be called a suite as extra room was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALandE94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This si a very old bulding in Fort Kochi which has been updated to a modern Hotel; The Architecher is old traditional with a courtyard in the middle which was a tradition of good old days in India. It has the pool now over ther. The resturant has very good food. Only thing missing was it is not airconditioned and for lunch it can be somwhat hot. Moreover it has no bar only wine and beer. But overall a very plesent experiance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshokJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This boutique hotel is everything you could wish for.
Situated in the old fort part of Cochin, it is a wonderful oasis.
The rooms, terraces, restaurant & food (with a contemporary twist), small spa, pool, service & style is all exceptional.
Without doubt the very best place to stay in Cochin for genuine peace, calm & tranquility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitybreakWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We started our trip in Kerala in Cochin staying here. The courtyard is lovely and looks lovely lit up at night. We didn't eat here in the evening but it looked impressive. Our room was slightly different, probably in need of some refurbishment. Comfortable enough. For lunch the light menu was great. Well positioned to walk into Fort Cochin. Staff were very pleasant.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lacortanelaLimoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I would recommend to friends that this the place to stay in old cochin. We had a spacious roof suite #17 with 2 private balconies. We went to Brunton boatyards for dinner and the Taj Malabar for a drink which made us even more pleased with our choice. The Malabar House is much more cheerful, unique and in a great location with many of the main sites in walking distance. The hotel is 15 years old and could use a few tweaks (replace bath tub, chalk bathroom, upgrade air conditioner) but really it was the nicest we saw. The food was also the best we had in Cochin but not as good as other places we visited in India. Dining outside in the courtyard was very pleasant with local live music. We also liked the bar. I agree the service is not like other Relais properties but one is in India. You'll need to bring mosquito repellent. Go for a suite if its in your budget.

Room Tip: Go for a roof suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Malabar House was recommended by our son, who had worked on a Merchant/Ivory film in Fort Cochin some years ago. Because we made a rather late decision to go to India, we made all the bookings ourselves, and took the Malabar House seven night package, staying at their various properties, including a night on their lovely houseboat, Discovery. This package is tremendous value, including half board, transportation between the different stops, a half day tour around Fort Cochin, a tasting of Indian wines, even an elephant ride. The hotel in Fort Cochin has been beautifully and sensitively restored and extended, and has a first-rate restaurant, with a mix of local and international cuisine. We had a ground floor room the first two nights, with an enormous bathroom and an outside terrace. On our last, extra, night we were upgraded to a suite on the first floor, even more beautiful and enormous, with a wrap-around terrace. The restaurant is mainly outdoors in a tropical garden, near the swimming pool. The staff were delightful to deal with and endlessly helpful. We left determined to return: this is a life of luxury we could easily get used to.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms, for those who cannot deal with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100traveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#53 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#54 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $216 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing