We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, can't wait to go back”
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #31 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2011

A late post following our trip in Sep 2010. Our first nights stay in Kerala and this was a great start to the holiday. Beautiful boutique hotel with friendly staff, superb food, central location and spacious rooms. The pool although small and in the centre of the courtyard as others have mentioned, is not what we would usually choose, but I have to say worked perfectly well for this hotel and the two days we used it, it was only us and there was no one else even in the courtyard. The staff arranged for us to have a massage. Hubby's face a picture as he had 2 men for his! good value and very relaxing. Our room was downstairs, of a good size and beautiful decor. Food as I said was great and the oppurtunity to sample some true Keralan breakfasts. We stayed 2 nights and it was the start of our amazing Keralan experience organised by No News No shoes. Trying to find the time in hectic lives to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n80aty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 639 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Malabar House for one night then onto Purity for two - the whole experience was fantastic, service excellent, the properties themselves were just beautiful, decore fantastic and comfortable beds OMG! Will be going back for sure. Location in Kochi is perfect for wandering and seeing everything you need to see, and the links with their other properties dotted around are brilliantly organised and flexible according to times you want to go.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Situated overlooking the parade ground in Fort Cochin, the Malabar House is relatively quiet but provides easy access to the main points of tourist interest. The house, formerly belonging to Standard Chartered, has been fitted out to reflect its colonial origins but includes a very welcome plunge pool in the central courtyard. The (main) restaurant offers a relatively limited menu with an emphasis on seafood and Keralan cooking all beatufully prepared and presented.
Rooms are presented in colonial style, with, for example, long-armed planter's chairs. The more expensive (first floor) rooms are probably worth paying the extra for as the poolside rooms appeared to be quite small in comparison with little space for sitting outside. Some elements of the decor could be improved though - for example sealings around the shower had failed.
Staff were uniformly welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

A stylish, elegant and charming hotel in Fort Kochi. Not swanky or over-lavish roos, but spacious and comfortable. The courtyard with a reasonable -sized pool has a few too few loungers and towels not always readily provided. The restaurant while pricey serves sophisticated fusion cuisine of the highest order. A real opportunity for degustation of the growing number of quality Indian wines - as everywhere in India these are expensive because of local taxes. Lots to do within walking or tuk-tuk distance and plenty of choices to eat well outside the hotel. A real haven and value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

A very comfortable hotel in good location with excellent but pricey food. Fully agree with downsides listed in previous review by Balisand. Extremely poor management when we were given an upgraded room on arrival, and then told one hour later that it was a mistake . We had unpacked and were fast asleep with jet lag and had series of calls from reception asking when were we moving. I got extremely annoyed.
Visit Dal Roti restaurant 200 metres away around the corner in Lily St for excellent local cuisine.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabarhouse, General Manager at Malabar House, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

To The trip advisor

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Malabar House. I am pleased to note that you were happy on the location of the Hotel.

I liked to express my sincere apology for the unfortunate experience on your check-in and for all the discomfort & inconvenience you have gone through.

We have shared your feed back with concern departments and it will not be a cause of concern in future.
The particular incident happened due to the oversight on the part of our front-desk. The particular day we had another guest with similar name for check-in, the staff mistook his name and given a instant check-in allotted for the other guest, he realized the mistake while entering the passport details,and then requested the guest for changing the room, this was really unfortunate and which should not have happened, we have taken this incident very seriously and taken every step to ensure this will not happen in future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel and services. I do hope you will give my team and I another chance to showcase the difference your feedback has made.

I look forward to hearing from you and sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Malabar House in future

With warm Regards
Mervin Isaac
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Recently had a two-night stay. Agree with most other reviewers that the hotel is beautiful, the rooms delightful, the service great and the food delicious. However visitors need to be warned that EVERYTHING centres on the relatively small courtyard in the middle of the hotel. The pool is right behind reception, and the area around the pool is crowded with restaurant tables where people were having late afternoon drinks - and a close view of this older traveller- and others - negotiating the steep little ladder into the pool. After the swim, little space to relax, the courtyard only has room for 4 pool lounges, again with restaurant tables all around them. Dinner was delicious, but the courtyard was hot, there is no cross-breeze, and the music, while Indian classical, was so loud it was intrusive. The following night we ate elsewhere, and weren't too happy to return to find the music very audible in out bedroom, admittedly only till 10pm. This hotel clearly suits some travellers, but sorry to say, not this one.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Malabar. The hotel staff offer a very warm welcome and were seriously efficient throughout my stay. Sophia the receptionist deserves a special mention for her friendliness and time spent chatting.
Though a small hotel the facilities provided were excellent including the massage room and external yoga teacher. The food is modern style Indian and very good indeed. I would definitely return to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#50 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#79 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $220 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing