We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay - hugely surpassed our expectations. Thank you!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delight - Fort Kochi
Ranked #37 of 436 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay - hugely surpassed our expectations. Thank you!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. The rooms are very well furnished and super clean. Ours had a decent AC system and the shower was hot and powerful. Breakfast is lovely, not least for the thoroughly well preserved colonial dining room in which it is served. Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    56
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
100
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our recent trip to Kochi. The location was perfect, right in the centre of Fort Cochin, and David was super helpful. He helped organise our houseboat trip and was happy to store our bags and accommodate us at short notice. Rooms were clean and spacious and the house was beautiful. Would highly recommend, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKSG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at delight for 6 nights in November, this is a great place to stay, the owners David and Flowery are very helpful, the room was clean, large and beds comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate in lovely surroundings. The place was very conveniently situated and quite with a very pleasant garden courtyard. Very good values and friendly people, what more can I say. Oh yes you can get your laundry done and it is cheap and comes back beautifully ironed.

Room Tip: Excellent location, very good value,David recommended some very good restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skrebelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

David and his wife are fantastic hosts in their beautifully restored Portuguese colonial home. This place is a great find.

Rooms are well kept both in terms of maintenance and cleanliness. In terms of location, it's on the parade grounds right by the touristy area of Fort Kochi, but not in the thick of it. For us, that was a bonus. The grounds are immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
351 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've already had two nights at Delight and return again tomorrow. David and his wife are wonderful hosts, making you feel extremely welcome and with a genuine interest in you as their guest. The rooms are spacious and practical. There is plenty of hot water, air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. I love the verandah with its view over the beautifully kept garden and the large 'green' where young men play cricket in the morning. Breakfast, around the huge dining table, is a treat because it gives you an opportunity to enjoy this beautifully restored Portuguese home. And its central. You can wander from here to see many of the key sites in Fort Cochin. You will also get good advice on places to eat. A real delight!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

3 of us stayed at the Delight in November 2013 for four nights. They arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport which at a very reasonable price about £11 for an hour and a half ride. The room was spacious and very clean, the breakfast was amazing served in there dining room which was a very remarkable space. The grounds are beautifully kept and the standard is very high/ It cost us £10 each per night which included breakfast. The location is also very good about a five minute walk to the port which is an amazing place
The only let down was the housekeeping we did not get a change of towels or beds made in the four days we were there, which was a let down considering the standards they have set. Perhaps we were over looked, on the whole a worth while stay would recommend to anyone staying for a few days in Kerala. The owners were very nice

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

"Delight Home Stay" was one of many "home stays" that we stayed in but the only one that came even close to being a "home stay". We were served a delicious breakfast by the very attentive owners in their lovely well appropriated dining room. Their home has been in the family for generations. The orchid strewn gardens off the main streets provide a quiet oasis but is close enough to walk nearly everywhere. There is 24 hour security, across from a park where you can cheer on soccer and cricket matches. You can walk to the water and observe the ancient Chinese fishing nets in use. David is the owner and while his brother owns "Waltons" Delight Home Stay is the oasis we desired.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#51 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#87 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#24 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#14 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Abode
Fort Abode
#5 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delight - Fort Kochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delight - Fort Kochi

Property: Delight - Fort Kochi
Address: Ridsdale Road | Parade Ground Post Office, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Delight - Fort Kochi Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Delight - Fort Kochi Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing