We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely times at the Trident”
Review of Trident, Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trident, Cochin
Ranked #16 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
London
12
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Enjoyed being there and the food was just great .The service team is really adorable and the rooms were neat and clean .the hotel is really pretty and reasonably close to the city .
Do ask the service team for recommendations on what to eat .we loved the seafood they ordered for us
Its a great place to be if you want a little peace and quietafter a hard days outing

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Trident, Cochin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 845 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2006

This hotel is beautiful. It is very clean, with a gorgeous lobby, beautiful swimming pool, and elegant dining room. Rooms are attractive and bathrooms are modern with Western-style showers and fixtures. What’s not to like? Unfortunately, the hotel also had a few fatal flaws.

First, it is located on Willingdon Island, and unless you have business at the army installation, the landfill or the port, there’s nothing nice at all about this place, except that it is quiet. Fort Cochin, Cochin, and Ernakulum are ferry rides or rickshaw rides away.

Second, although the rooms are attractive, this was the moldiest hotel I’ve ever stayed in. And I’ve stayed in some really moldy hotels. In fact, we had a hard time sleeping and experienced severe allergic headaches and wheezing because the mold was so strong. Windows don’t open and I don’t think there’s sufficient ventilation for the bathrooms. It’s also a damp, humid place. If you have no sensitivity to mold, then you will have a much better experience here.

Third, staff were poorly trained and very unknowledgeable. We requested a rollaway bed, which never made it to the room until we complained a few times. We asked how to get to the ferry (our rickshaw driver the day before took us to a ferry terminal, but told us it wasn’t operating so he could drive us to Fort Cochin), and a woman at the front desk drew on a map and highlighted the wrong location, even after I asked her twice, very politely, if that really was the correct ferry location. The hotel also doesn’t offer any special amenities for guests of HHonors members. If you assert yourself, the cardholder will get a complimentary breakfast, but your guest will not, contrary to Hilton policy.

I would not stay here again. There are some much nicer options in Fort Cochin, which is likely to be the reason you’re in this part of India, so why stay on Willingdon Island unless you have to?

7  Thank ParticularSFTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2006

Aah,it was wonwerful to check in to the cool looby of the Trident Hilton,after travelling in the taxi for an hour from the airport.The bar,was just across the lobby,a good sight for old sore eyes like my wife's and mine!

A quick check-in and we decided to enjoy a chilled beer,
before we were shown around the hotel premises.

There is a beautiful pool in the center of the hotel,next to which you have the barbeques stands,which start serving around 7p.m everyday.Fresf lobsters / crabs and
snappers of your choice. I would recommend the kerala fish,called "Pomfret" grilled (they call it tandoor)
the indian style. Trust me when the smell of that beautifully grilled fish hits your nostrils,your taste buds start salvating like crazy! There is also a neat sit out,with shade,from where you can look at the pool yet enjoy the shade and have your drink.

The place was bursting to the seams with Europeans! The food apparently is cooked to their liking, which means non-spicy! After eating Indian food, i guess the place cooks to the liking of all non indians! Including us Americans!

There is a quaint Craft shop,by the name of "Khataisons",near the poolside.It is well stocked in everything Indian and at cheap rates.Their main shop is in the main city,and it is over 115 years old!Yes they do ship worldwide and accept Visa/Master cardsThere is also a book shop, from where you can get to increase your knowledge of India,while sitting by the pool and getting that tan (which is what my wife and i were doing all morning!).The wife also visited the beauty parlour,after crossing 3 continents, i guess she needed the facial and haircut!

They had a wonderful "Ayurveda massage center" in the hotel itself that got my old bones relaxed and working
just fine.

The rooms we choose were the ones with the poolside view,you have an option of choosing the gardfen iew too.

The old city and the new city are 10 minutes drive either way,from the hotel and it is absolute bliss!

The staff are well mannered and go that extra bit to take care of your needs.

Oh..just a hint,i suggest you eityher have a visa or a mastercard on you while travelling through india,
because other than the hotels,merchant establishments
don't accept them easily.

I would suggest the monsoon period (August-January)if you like the rain.If you want good discount then try the summer period(March-July).

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank zackexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2006

Back from Kerala
We stayed at trident Hilton Cochin only for one night - Feb 5th - to catch a very early flight. It's a delightfull hotel of charme with nice rooms well furnished. The small pool in the garden is a plus for the very hot days and we did enjoy our afternoon there. Restaurant service is second to none both for attentive staff than for choise of dishes. A very early breakfast served in our room at 4.00 am is something we will not forget.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italiangirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2005

Trident hilton is truly a fantastic deal - extremely luxurious! Food has less variety, but there is a restaurant 5 mins away near Casino whic serves great kerala cuisine. There was not much to see in Fort Kochi - it si too touristy, teh beach is barely a few feet wide, Chinese fishing nets are better viewed on postcards adn the overpriced rip-off restaurants (Maria and Kashi) cater mmainly to Back packer tourists.

A better place to see is the Kodanad elephant trainign center and the peaceful and tranquil Shankaracharya birth place temple at Kalady en route.

9  Thank jabberwocky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Joaquin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,044 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
5.5 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
235 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
647 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Cochin

Address: Bristow Road | Willingdon Island, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $62 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident, Cochin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trident, Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Trident, Cochin Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Hilton Kochi
Kochi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing